We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but not spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fine but not spectacular”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night in a suite here and was not overwhelmed by much. Bellman left us with our bags at the front desk and disappeared so we brought our bags up ourselves.

Room was fine, albeit rather small for a suite, and dark as well. Decor needs updating in my opinion, starting with removal of the too busy wallpaper.

Suite configuration was strange as the bathroom was oddly close to the bed and had no fan which provided little privacy for one trying to do their business.

Bed was exceptionally comfortable, maybe the best I've ever slept in. Only thing missing was a top sheet, something that was really missed when trying to regulate temperature.

Location is great with walking distance to pretty much everything.

Overall...Meh.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandiegomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,934
    933
    215
    88
    50
See reviews for
529
1,176
197
856
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Attended a wedding in Philadelphia over the weekend and stayed at the Sofitel. The front desk staff were wonderful. They helped arrange for a wheelchair for my 90 year old mother, and even offered to help me push her around ! Such service. A private Sunday brunch had wonderfully prepared food. Again, the service was impeccable. The beds had a feather mattress pad that was so soft. The room was decorated in a very tasteful manner. The flowers throughout the hotel were beautiful . Hector and Edward were the greatest staff. It was a delight to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggydt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Sofitel has a well-known brand of French style and flair. This Sofitel is no exception. Staff are impeccably trained -- front desk, maids, waiters, door/bagmen -- all friendly, genuine, and helpful. If you have any problem with your stay, the staff are eager to fix it.

Location is perfect for walking a lively and safe part of Philadelphia. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bed is extremely comfortable. Bathroom is spacious with updated amenities.

Door or wall insulation is not as good at blocking guest noise as it could be. Suggest getting a room away from the elevator to lessen loud hallway traffic.

Room Tip: Suggest a room away from elevator to lessen loud hallway traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Sofitel Hotel was great hotel choice. We went up to Philadelphia for the weekend and visited the Rodin Museum and the Philadelphia Museum of Art (both are must sees).

The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only complaint I could have is that the coffee urns were constantly empty and I ended up going to the attached restaurant for our morning joe.

Overall though, this is a great hotel choice and the rooms are quite comfortable

For dinner, check out the Dandelion which is a block away...great gastro pub!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pblaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuck in MA
Level Contributor
305 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I only got to spend one night here and it was a treat. 3 years ago I saw this place from another nice hotel across the street so the location was familiar to me. The staff were quite a surprise - a greeting from everyone and a warm smile. The rooms are well sized for a downtown location. All the amenities were available including a Keurig machine in the closet. Free shoe shine - a seldom seen perq. Nice tub and shower combo albeit an anemic flow of water from the shower head - interestingly, the spray was better from the hand held unit in the tub.

Nice gym layout.

Meeting food was very good and the only down side was somewhat overcooked beef, saved by the fact that the cuts were high end and retained some tenderness.

I actually hope I get to come back to this location. If not, I'll bring my wife for special trip.

Room Tip: Remarkably quiet room even as low as the 9th floor. BUT the elevators are on one end of the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BixUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my 9 yr old son and we were treated with superior service from the moment we walked in the door. Everyone was gracious from the doorman to the reception staff to the housekeepers. Soon after we arrived, they brought up a kid-sized bathrobe with slippers and an activity pack for my son. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and elegant. The doormen and concierge were very helpful in helping us find the best ways to get around town. My son said, "I'm always going to stay at Sofitels when I travel!"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just gorgeous. My sister had her wedding here so we were able to take advantage of her wedding block and stayed in a suite, which was perfectly sized since we had our two young children in tow. Starting off, we appreciated all the little touches that made the suite life so sweet! Including complimentary treats and water to the slippers and robe. We even received a complimentary drink at the hotel bar, too!

We ended up using our suite for the bride and party to get ready - the concierge and customer service from the Sofitel was stellar! Not only were they super accommodating but very helpful, as well.

The king bed was amazingly comfortable as the bathroom was well set up with both a shower and tub. The facilities are beautiful and we also enjoyed the apples outside of the workout facility! As we have stayed in the Sofitel in Chicago, Paris, and San Francisco, Philadelphia Sofitel has definitely upheld the Sofitel name and standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymamoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,920 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing