We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

3,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    918
    211
    86
    49
See reviews for
522
1,145
194
840
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Sofitel Philadelphia is a wonderful hotel with spacious rooms and very comfortable beds. All of the amenities are very nice. The restaurant and bar are very enjoyable. What makes this hotel stand out so far is the staff. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful and made us feel welcomed. They really work hard to make you feel comfortable, but it all happens so seamlessly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank 1vitelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Bonjour 1vitelli,

Thank you for such positive feedback!

We genuinely do our utmost to please our guests, and I am delighted that we have achieved our aim here by providing a comfortable and welcoming experience for you.

We excitedly await your next arrival to the Sofitel Philadelphia!

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
152 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a short break and can say it is located in very convenient location in the middle of downtown which is superb for shopping and night life. The place is buzzing in the evening as lots of cafés and restaurants around, along with Macy's and may other stores. Beautiful architectural buildings and museums swarms this place.
The hotel itself is of very good standards, offers restaurant, business facilities and fitness centre.
The staff is friendly and would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Bonjour upg_uk,

Thank you for your words of praise! Our historical and "buzzing" downtown location is certainly convenient for our guests to have access to museums, attractions, restaurants, shopping and bars all just steps from our front door.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We rented 2 rooms for our group. Both rooms were large & clean. Our room was handicapped accessible & had a huge bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. Decor was modern. We had drinks in the bar downstairs--great cocktail menu selection & the bartender was very attentive & friendly. Valet parking was convenient.

I would stay here again--value for the price was very good in a city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shery211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Bonjour Shery211,

What a delightful review!! I am proud that we were able to provide you with "everything you were looking for".

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia!

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I just simply loved this hotel. The stuff was extremely nice, the room was beautiful, bathroom super spacious and very clean. The location was also splendid. I like how everything was in walking distance form the hotel. Very pleased with my experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Bonjour Ania L,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed a magnifique stay with us - from enjoying our downtown location to our beautiful, spacious rooms and friendly staff.

We excitedly await your future arrivals!

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

As former Philadelphia-area residents, we admired this hotel since it opened and looked forward to staying here on a return visit. We stayed four nights in a suite,which for the space and amenities, was at a reasonable nightly rate. Everything about the suite was very comfortable. The accommodation was handicapped accessible, which meant the bathroom was almost too big but that's better than the alternative; we liked having two sinks. We found the service friendly and drinks generous in the lobby bar, and food good in the adjacent restaurant. The location is superb, close to Rittenhouse Square and some of Philly's best restaurants, bars and retail stores.We even liked all the "bon jours!" from every staff member.

Green Features: They are the standard most hotels use. Good for them!
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Bonjour oldtraveler47,

What a stellar 5 star review!!

I am delighted that you chose to stay in one our suites and visited our Liberte Bar to enjoy some of our drinks and delicacies.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next return trip to the Philadelphia area!

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just spent three days at the Sofitel in Philadelphia, a hotel where I have stayed many times over the years. This hotel has maintained a top level of comfort and service, though occasionally I see signs of must and age. The hallway carpets, for instance. Also the towels. All could use an update. My one complaint: The coffee from room service could be delivered in a thermos that keeps it hot rather than the silver pitcher. Though lovely, the coffee loses its heat and heartiness after a quick 20 minutes. But the people at the desk, the bellmen, the concierge and others are all pleasant. The folks in the bar at night are nice and efficient and helpful. I recommend the Sofitel and consider it among the top tier hotels in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Bonjour Todd G,

Thank you for your recommendation! We are honored to see that we have achieved our aim by providing you with magnifique comfort and service at the Sofitel.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing