We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good value and location.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very nice 4 star hotel. For the money it was a great value. We were able to get a suite for the same price as a standard room at the Ritz. This is a nice hotel, but the Ritz and the Four Seasons are another level. In this case value and space were more important, so it worked out well. The bed was very comfortable. Great bathroom. Nice decor, but a little worn. It was clean. There had been comments about the towels being worn, but ours were fine. The noise issue was odd. We couldn't hear noise from surrounding rooms, but always from the hall. Luckily we were at the end of the hall, so this really wasn't a big problem. The bar food, drink and service was great. Very attentive and pleasant service from start to finish. It is within walking distance to many Philadelphia attractions and great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennATl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Bonjour JennATI,

What a delight that you chose to stay with us in one of our suites! I am proud that we were able to deliver a valuable stay for you - from your guest room appointments to the attentive and pleasant service throughout your experience in Liberte.

We excitedly await your future arrivals to our downtown Philadelphia hotel!

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,937
    934
    215
    88
    50
See reviews for
531
1,176
197
858
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nice Hotel, Friendly welcome , staff friendly, clean rooms. Our only criticism as they call themselves Luxury 4 Star. It was a pity the wardrobe doors didn't fit or the bathroom ones close attention to maintenance would warrant luxury. Also pillows to soft admittedly we didn't ask for anything else but would expect it to be offered. Location excellent for us so much within walking distance, shops, restaurant's and old Philadelphia. Hop on hop off bus will arrange pick up from hotel. Would stay again if in Boston

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Bonjour Andrew L,

I am pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff, clean rooms, and exciting downtown location while visiting Philadelphia!

It is with disappointment that I read the doors and pillows in your guest room did not meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia so that we may have the opportunity to serve you again.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Sofitel for a night in the city from Dallas; decent price on hotels.com. Room was not spectacular but nice and modern, decent bed. Great shower. Lobby bar was hip, great drinks. Good service. Overall, recommend this spot for a stay in PHL

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jjs_SMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Bonjour jjs_SMU,

Thank you for your recommendation!

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us while visiting Philadelphia from Dallas. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another enjoyable stay, inclusive of a visit to Liberte bar, of course!

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Thus hotel offers outstanding service in a perfect location. Every staff member went out of their way to make us feel special & our stay a memorable experience. The rooms and facilities were first class as always with the Sofitel group but the 5 star team that looked after us from check in to check out surpassed all expectations. Book your next stay in Philadelphia here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Bonjour Michelle W,

What a wonderful 5 star review!

We certainly take great pride in our magnifique guests, and do our utmost to create a truly memorable experience. I am delighted that we were able to accomplish this for you, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Philadelphia!

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Sofitel Philadelphia is a wonderful hotel with spacious rooms and very comfortable beds. All of the amenities are very nice. The restaurant and bar are very enjoyable. What makes this hotel stand out so far is the staff. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful and made us feel welcomed. They really work hard to make you feel comfortable, but it all happens so seamlessly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank 1vitelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Bonjour 1vitelli,

Thank you for such positive feedback!

We genuinely do our utmost to please our guests, and I am delighted that we have achieved our aim here by providing a comfortable and welcoming experience for you.

We excitedly await your next arrival to the Sofitel Philadelphia!

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
175 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a short break and can say it is located in very convenient location in the middle of downtown which is superb for shopping and night life. The place is buzzing in the evening as lots of cafés and restaurants around, along with Macy's and may other stores. Beautiful architectural buildings and museums swarms this place.
The hotel itself is of very good standards, offers restaurant, business facilities and fitness centre.
The staff is friendly and would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Bonjour upg_uk,

Thank you for your words of praise! Our historical and "buzzing" downtown location is certainly convenient for our guests to have access to museums, attractions, restaurants, shopping and bars all just steps from our front door.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,924 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing