We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star all the way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
near DC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Five star all the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, worth every penny. It is somewhat expensive, but I would never go low-budget in an unfamiliar city. Everything about the Sofitel was nice. The room was quite comfortable, the bathroom was luxurious (though no jacuzzi, which would have been icing on the cake!) Also, hotel has no pool or spa. The room was very clean and the view was a nice sample of the city.

But it is the SERVICE that puts this hotel over the top. I was helped, escorted, had doors opened, and was given immediate and pleasant attention at every turn. When I came down to get coffee in the morning I was escorted to the area with a very upscale coffee/tea bar, then they rushed to get the elevator for me. It was almost too much, but that's just me. Lots of people love this kind of attention and service! The doormen/valets were so incredible nice and helpful. they got us cabs, gave us advice, helped us with loading and unloading, and they were so friendly and courteous - I can't even describe it. Not a single bored or grumpy face ANYWHERE at this hotel. One valet, a gentleman by the name of Boubacar was so charming and helpful that we took his picture to add to our album. (Attn Manager - give that man a RAISE - he is a serious asset to your company!)

I seriously don't know how they manage to have such amazing staff there. I assume it is the corporate culture, but still - I would expect that someone, somewhere, was having a bad day... but not here! lol. Anyway,it's a fantastic place to stay in Philly. Just know upfront that it will not be a CHEAP visit (parking alone ran almost $45 per night) but you do get what you pay for.

Oh, and one really unusual note: room service prices were not outrageous! We stay at a lot of upscale hotels, and usually see "scrambled eggs and toast" for like $20. The Sofitel prices seemed to only be a few dollars more than the on-site restaurant. That could just be a Philly thing, but it was interesting.

Room Tip: We asked for and got a room on the top floor. Higher is definitely better.
See more room tips
Green Features: Sorry, but I have no idea, and I really don't care! That is not important to me at all.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Bonjour mjaz,

What a wonderful 5 star review! All of our Sofitel ambassadors here take great pride in providing a unique, memorable and luxurious experience for each of our guests, and I am proud that we have accomplished our aim. It is with pleasure that we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    918
    211
    86
    49
See reviews for
522
1,145
194
838
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is immaculate and modern with a lot of style. It is right in the middle of everything and within walking distance of all attractions. I stayed for a week with my husband who was on a business trip and found plenty to do on my own. I had never been to Philadelphia and made the most of my trip. The double decker bus tour was awesome - the weather was perfect. I sat on top in the open and took a lot of great pictures. You can get off and on as you please. Now back to the hotel. We were on the same floor as the fitness center and directly across the hall. It was so noisy I thought they were doing construction somewhere. I finally figured out I was hearing weights hitting the floor! It was the only inconvenience we experienced. The front desk personnel are very friendly and professional. The room service and restaurant food were fantastic. The views from the room at night were very cool - I am not used to looking out and seeing people living right there in front of you in their living rooms with the windows open! I was glad I stayed long enough to get the local vibe of the city, and the Sofitel Philadelphia was the perfect place to stay and be my "headquarters" - OH and LANVIN toiletries to top it all off!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room far away from the fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Bonjour Teresa,

We are delighted to have had the opportunity to be your headquarters while exploring downtown Philadelphia. The Hop On Hop Off bus tour is a great choice, and how wonderful that you had great weather to ride up top! Upon your next arrival, be sure to visit our concierge team to discuss some other tours and activities that fit your interests.

We excitedly await the opportunity to serve you again.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We came to Philadelphia to visit our daughter, and planned to stay just one night. It was so pleasant, we extended our stay for a second night. Our suite was lovely, with just about every amenity one could want. The entire staff was friendly and courteous, always with a smile and kind words. The concierge was most helpful in locating shops and dining.
All in all, this was one of the best hotels stays in our memory. We shall return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WarrenKitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Bonjour WarrenKitz,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review. We are "Very, very pleased" that you chose to stay with us while visiting your daughter here in Philadelphia!!

We excitedly await your return.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed a very nice one night stay in this hotel. A last minute family trip left us scrambling and we needed to bring our small dog. Hotel was very busy, seems to be a popular location for weddings, and the tastefully designed lobby and rooms are easy to see why.

Our room was very large, a little surprising for a hotel downtown in the heart of a big city. It is conveniently located to a really nice neighborhood, park, and restaurants, all walking distance. The concierge helped direct us to a few restaurants with outdoor seating that were pet friendly.

After dinner we put the dog in the room and enjoyed a nightcap in the lobby bar. The server, Christine, was super friendly and very attentive, even as the bar started to fill up with post-wedding activity.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone travelling with a pet. Though they are pet friendly, there is no evidence of pets anywhere in the rooms (very clean!). No pet fee, though they do run your card for an additional $300 which is reimbursed.


The valet area was quite hectic and busy, and quite expensive ($45 per day), we were fortunate to not need our car except upon checkout.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baylily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Bonjour baylily,

Thank you for pointing out so many of our services in such a positive way! Our large guest rooms are certainly one of our guests' favorites, as is our downtown location.

What truly makes my day is the high level of service you received from Christine and our concierge during your stay. Each member of our team here truly has a passion for delivering a magnifique experience to each of our guests (including our pet guests!) and I am delighted that we have accomplished this for you during your last minute family trip.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Location can not be beat. There is great food, bars and shopping just steps from the hotel. We enjoyed the lively lobby bar scene each weekend night after our return from dinner. Our room was on the 5th floor and we did not hear a thing. The hotel rooms were quiet without the typical noises from other rooms or hallway heard. The bed was super comfortable and the room darkening blinds made it possibly to sleep as late as you like. The hotel offers free coffee, which may be the only opportunity for improvement, however we found it just as easy to step outside and head to one of the places nearby. The bell and valet staff were helpful with directions, hailing cabs and pointing us to our next destination. If you have stayed at a Sofitel hotel before the location lives up to the brand! It was a great stay and we would return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anywherefromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Bonjour anywherefromboston,

Indeed our central location is a true asset to the hotel with restaurants, bars, shopping and historical sites just steps from our front door. Thank you for pointing out our rooms and services in such a positive way. I excitedly await your next arrival.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

After a long flight and a layover we were able to check right into our room and the young lady at the front desk upgraded us to the 10 floor... The room is nice and spacious the bathroom is also nice but with a few hiccups but over all a great stay so far. It's our anniversary and the even sent us up a few tasty desserts and a cold bottle of water.. Today is day 1, 2 more days to go... So far it's great

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MotorCityDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Bonjour MotorCityDude,

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We were delighted to have the opportunity to surprise you with some tasty treats to celebrate your anniversary. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Prestigia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing