We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West Sussex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have just stayed a couple of nights here and would thoroughly recommend the Sofitel in Philadelphia.
It is very central and has parking as well. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean.There were very nice "up market" soaps and lotions in the very plush bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was tastefully decorated. The air conditioning was very welcome at this time of year!
The staff were all very charming and so helpful offering directions to all the local sights and attractions nearby. All in all a great experience and Sofitel certainly know how to look after their guests.

Room Tip: I would go for a room high up purely for the best views of this interesting city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Bonjour RichWestSussex,

What a delightful review! It is truly our pleasure to pamper our guests, from the amenities and design of each guest room to the helpful and charming service of each of our Sofitel ambassadors.

We excitedly await your next arrival.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,910
    925
    212
    86
    49
See reviews for
525
1,159
195
845
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here two nights when in town for a wedding. The hotel makes a good first impression, but after a while you notice that it's in need of an update. Our room had nice furnishings and finishes but everything was nicked (furniture), cracked (tile), or a bit moldy (grout) when you looked. But the things that had a larger impact on our stay were other plumbing/equipment issues (we had to call maintenance for the toilet continually running, the shower failing to drain, and the hair dryer getting stuck in the cold blast position).

It also didn't help that the fire alarm went off while my husband was taking a nap and we all had to evacuate. While I realize the hotel can't control something like a fire alarm, I was surprised to see that none of the staff seemed to know how to get guests access to the stairwells (after the alarm was off and firemen gave the all-clear but the elevators weren't back up yet) so that we could get back to our room. Other annoyances included being woken by doors slamming (none of the guest room doors have a quiet close) and the garbage truck collecting trashing at 6:30 or 7:00am (we were on the 4th floor near the alley).

The location is great and service was pretty good overall, but I would definitely try a different hotel the next time I'm in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: get a higher floor room so you're not woken up by the garbage truck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Bonjour candidtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share a detailed account of your stay with us, as your feedback is very valuable as we continuously provide enhancements to our hotel. I am disappointed that your guest room did not meet your expectations and that noise was disturbing to you during your stay.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our downtown hotel so you may enjoy the magnifique experience we have become known to provide.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is great and in a great location. Many good restaurants and shopping around. Our room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable (bed was heavenly). Bathroom was very large with two sinks and a great shower. We appreciated the separate sitting area with a TV in both the bedroom and sitting area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beata92285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Bonjour beata92285,

What a wonderful 5 star review! We strive to provide a truly unique and memorable experience for each of our guests and I see that we have achieved our aim here. We excitedly await your future arrivals!

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

While the exterior of this Center City hotel won't win any architectural awards, once you step inside you are transformed into a relaxing, sophisticated and hip environment. The lobby and adjacent bar are perfect places to linger, either to access the free wifi or to have a cocktail. The rooms are spacious, clean and very appealing. The bedding is among the best in the business.

The neighborhood as a NYC feel: agrid system for easy navigation with high end restaurants and bars and shopping nearby. Rittenhouse Square Park is a few blocks away.

And when you return to the hotel you are always greeted with a pleasant Bonjour!

If traveling from PHL airport you can take the train in 25 minutes to Suburban Station and make the 4-5 block walk in short time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Bonjour Mark A,

I am so pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy Liberte, our urban chic lounge during your visit. Indeed our central location is conveniently situated just steps from Rittenhouse Square with easy access to many forms of transportation including train service and PHL airport.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our "relaxing, sophisticated and hip" hotel.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We chanced upon this hotel as we hadn't visited Philadelphia before, and would definitely go back for another stay. The location is fantastic - near some of the great squares, shopping, restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful, even when we had to get something from our car after it had been parked. We were upgraded to a suite, so we had lots of space. Everything was in very good condition, didn't think it looked old at all. Staff offered to help in any way and showed high level of courtesy. Can't find anything about our stay that we would change. We had bottles of water at no cost and a lovely plate of small desserts upon arrival. There was a bagel place nearby, and we ran there to get muffins for a quick breakfast each morning. I liked the security practice of having to use your key card to activate the elevator. Certainly would stay there again and would look for their hotels in other cities. So glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Bonjour CTtraveler06,

What a delightful review! We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your first visit to Philadelphia.

I am pleased that you enjoyed all that we have to offer here, from our courteous and helpful staff to our downtown location and your spacious suite. We look forward to welcoming you back to the City of Brotherly Love.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The location in downtown is a perfect starting place to explore the city. Many restaurants and cafes can be found just around the corner. Friendly and fast check-in process. The lobby looks very nice. This however cannot be said about the hallways leading to the rooms. It makes you realize this is quite an old hotel. The room we had was not bad. Athough there were some new elements like modern white and comfortable chairs, a Bose docking station for MP3 players IPhones and a big flatscreen TV, we could still tell this room had seen quite a number of visitors come and go. The bed was very big and comfortable. Also, there was no noise issue at all. The gym was good for a quick workout. We got a good rate, stayed for 1 night and had nothing to complain about. The hotel is a bit run down in some places though. As such I do not explain why so many reviewers rated it excellent.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Bonjour Denneo,

Thank you for taking the time to share a detailed review of your stay with us!

I am pleased that you enjoyed the decor of our lobby, fitness center, the modern amenities offered in each guest room and our specially designed SoBed. Your feedback is truly appreciated as we are continuously providing enhancements to our hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you in future visits to Philadelphia.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near DC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, worth every penny. It is somewhat expensive, but I would never go low-budget in an unfamiliar city. Everything about the Sofitel was nice. The room was quite comfortable, the bathroom was luxurious (though no jacuzzi, which would have been icing on the cake!) Also, hotel has no pool or spa. The room was very clean and the view was a nice sample of the city.

But it is the SERVICE that puts this hotel over the top. I was helped, escorted, had doors opened, and was given immediate and pleasant attention at every turn. When I came down to get coffee in the morning I was escorted to the area with a very upscale coffee/tea bar, then they rushed to get the elevator for me. It was almost too much, but that's just me. Lots of people love this kind of attention and service! The doormen/valets were so incredible nice and helpful. they got us cabs, gave us advice, helped us with loading and unloading, and they were so friendly and courteous - I can't even describe it. Not a single bored or grumpy face ANYWHERE at this hotel. One valet, a gentleman by the name of Boubacar was so charming and helpful that we took his picture to add to our album. (Attn Manager - give that man a RAISE - he is a serious asset to your company!)

I seriously don't know how they manage to have such amazing staff there. I assume it is the corporate culture, but still - I would expect that someone, somewhere, was having a bad day... but not here! lol. Anyway,it's a fantastic place to stay in Philly. Just know upfront that it will not be a CHEAP visit (parking alone ran almost $45 per night) but you do get what you pay for.

Oh, and one really unusual note: room service prices were not outrageous! We stay at a lot of upscale hotels, and usually see "scrambled eggs and toast" for like $20. The Sofitel prices seemed to only be a few dollars more than the on-site restaurant. That could just be a Philly thing, but it was interesting.

Room Tip: We asked for and got a room on the top floor. Higher is definitely better.
See more room tips
Green Features: Sorry, but I have no idea, and I really don't care! That is not important to me at all.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Bonjour mjaz,

What a wonderful 5 star review! All of our Sofitel ambassadors here take great pride in providing a unique, memorable and luxurious experience for each of our guests, and I am proud that we have accomplished our aim. It is with pleasure that we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing