We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. We had a corner room. Rather cluttered with too much furniture, but it was nice. Don't plan on seeing any views as there are none. We were lucky to be able to see a church but that was about it. Comfortable bed. Nice bathroom. Different decor to other Sofitel's I have stayed at but nice. Good service although they did (by mistake I am quite sure) try to charge the exorbitant car parking charge to both our room and our friends for the same car! We were able to rectify that at check-out thankfully. It is only valet parking and it is stupidly expensive. There is a car park right around the corner so worth checking that out before you pay for valet. It is a long walk to the main attractions (Independence Hall, Liberty Bell etc..) but nice enough walk in good weather. If you are sight-seeing you can probably stay closer to that area but if you are not in a rush and you like walking around a city it is perfectly fine. Enjoyed our stay at the hotel but didn't use any of the facilities really so can't comment on them. Nice and comfy, reasonably priced if booked early, large rooms from what I could see.

Room Tip: I would just go high up to get away from street level. I don't think there are any views anywhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmgstephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Bonjour rmgstephenson,

I am pleased you enjoyed a "nice and comfy" stay in one of our spacious guest rooms here in center city, Philadelphia! Thank you for taking the time to share a detailed review of your stay, as our guests' feedback assists us in continuing to provide enhancements to the services we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    949
    218
    90
    51
See reviews for
549
1,189
200
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

They have excellent, polite and quick staff and cool designed lobby. rooms are huge with plush beds, full couch, desk area with convenient coffee maker, and large bathroom. Decor is nice and is a very easy location. Within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbnewman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Bonjour bbnewman44,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to our plush hotel here in downtown center city Philadelphia.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visit Philly frequently and have stayed in a variety of different hotels. Last week was our first stay at Sofitel and we both agree this is our new go-to place in the city. We had a wonderful experience from start to finish. Also, we took advantage of a great promotion that offered our room with valet service and breakfast (delicious!) in the restaurant included for under $240.00 a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Bonjour Jodi009,

We are honored to be your new "go-to Philly hotel"! Each of our ambassadors truly strives to provide a unique and specialized experience for each of our guests, and it makes my day to know that we have provided this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia!

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Perfectly located in the cultural heart of Philadelphia, with local landmarks close by as well as excellent shopping. Service is at the high standard you come to expect from Sofitel. The lobby area is very welcoming with lanterns lighting your way in the evening. Rooms are very spacious with excellent in room facilities. Great coffee machines which brew decent coffee! Very well appointed bathrooms with separate walk in shower, ample supply of towels and bath mats and Lanvin orange and ambre accessories. The bed was really comfortable and although the room has a quality, luxurious feel, it is a little over-designed for my taste with a few too many textures and colours going on, but for such a central location, a surprisingly quiet and peaceful haven! All in all a great experience I look forward to repeating!

Green Features: I didn't see a separate bin for recycling in my room although I believe this hotel does recycle.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Bonjour Anthony B,

What a delightful review! We truly love to pamper our guests, and I thank you for pointing out all of our extras and special touches we provide for our guests, from our exemplary level of service to the in-room guest amenities.

We excitedly await your future arrivals to your "home away from home luxury" and peaceful haven here in the City of Brotherly Love.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,127 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,303 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing