We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5-star experience in Philly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

3,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,923
    931
    212
    87
    50
See reviews for
527
1,169
195
851
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

For the price of the Sofitel’s rooms, as well as its Tripadvisor ranking, I expected much better service than what we received the weekend of 7/25-7/28/2014. Taken separately, the issues were minor; together, they constituted a nuisance I have not previously experienced at similarly-priced/-rated hotels.

We ran into problems both mornings of our stay; oddly, both involved Sofitel’s complimentary coffee. In short, housekeeping didn’t adequately stock/restock creamer, sugar, and coffee. The first morning, it took twenty minutes after we called the front desk to provide the requested items; the second, forty.

There was also an issue with the mini-fridge. I tried to check it for creamer but it was locked; this probably could have been mentioned when we checked in. After skimming over the hotel’s room ‘guide’ (in which there was no reference to the fridge being locked) I called the front desk and was told someone would soon deliver the key; this took twenty minutes. Upon opening the fridge I discovered it was completely empty; I again called the front desk and the operator was surprised, saying it should have been stocked. I explained my primary concern: I didn’t expect to find a locked, empty fridge and I didn’t want to be charged for anything I didn’t use/consume (NOTE: I was not charged). The response I received was one of slight confusion, as opposed to one of reassurance.

We spent that day at a local music festival. We returned to find that where a mostly full roll of toilet paper had been (just eight hours earlier) there was now nothing; the whole roll had been removed and there was no replacement. This was especially inconvenient for my girlfriend, who had rushed into the restroom as soon as we returned (without checking the TP situation; luckily, there was a box of tissues nearby). I called the front desk to ask for a new roll; I was asked what happened to the old one, to which I replied, “I have no idea – we left for the day and this is how it was when we came back.” Someone from housekeeping brought a new roll about twenty minutes later.

I do not complain easily; I have stayed in many hotels and had much worse experiences than this. In fact, while the Sofitel’s housekeeping service failed to meet our expectations, the overall stay was comfortable and the valet staff was among the best we’ve encountered. Still, we’ve stayed in Philly several times and never encountered these inconveniences all at once. We spent too much time waiting for housekeeping to do its job, outside the times those services should have been provided (i.e., during the day when the room was unoccupied). As a result, we spent less time enjoying the city. When staying in Philadelphia, I suggest travelers forgo the premium for the Sofitel’s lackluster service and look into the many similarly-priced/-rated options available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyRubino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Bonjour BobbyRubino,

Thank you for taking the time to share a detailed review of your stay with us here at the Sofitel Philadelphia. Our guests’ feedback assists us in continuously providing enhancements to our hotel and services.

I am pleased to see that your overall stay was comfortable and our valet team provided you with exemplary service. It is disappointing to hear of your experiences with inconvenience of service to your guest room, and I would like to assure you this is certainly not the level of service that we would want you or anyone else to come to think of a Sofitel.

I hope that you may provide us the opportunity to welcome you back for the magnifique experience which has become our custom.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times and it never disappoints. The rooms are gorgeous, the doormen are very helpful, the furnishing and décor are luxurious and the staff at the front desk are very attentive. Hotel sits at a prime location with many places to go and shop all within walking distance. Public transportation is very close by as well. This hotel is by far my number one place to when booking a hotel in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Bonjour Miriam R,

We are delighted to be your number one hotel here in center city! Thank you for pointing out our attentive and helpful staff and luxurious guest rooms and furnishings. We excitedly await your future arrivals to the Sofitel Philadelphia.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Verde Carolina PR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

From the doorman outside to the restaurant personnel they make you feel more than welcomed. Upgraded due to club membership- accordhotels progam. Great spacious suite with separate bedroom. Quite relaxing room. Great restaurant breakfast offer, good choices, delicious. Many great restaurants within walking distance, no need for a car. Must visit for great imported delicacies, DiBruno Brothers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgar5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Bonjour edgar5757,

Thank you for a wonderful 5 star review! Our team strives to create a unique and memorable experience for each of our guests, and I am pleased to see that you enjoyed exemplary service from our doormen at the entrance to our lovely staff in the restaurants. We look forward to your return to the Sofitel here in downtown Philadelphia.

Kind regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean hotel other than the fact there was mold growing behind the clear grout in the shower. There may have been more mold around the room somewhere because my asthma was really bothering me!! Otherwise very happy with our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Huckleberry87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Bonjour Huckleberry87,

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed a nice and clean stay with us. I thank you for sharing your feedback, and am disappointed to hear of your experience with your guest room bathroom. This is certainly not customary of our hotel and not the experience we would want you or anyone else to come to think of a Sofitel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia for the magnifique stay we have become known for.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

No issues, comfortable night stay. Room seemed clean and well maintained! Happy with service and location. Parking was well done by valet! It was quiet in the room, good AC control since we like a cool room for sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Bonjour IloveUpstateNY,

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay from our valet parking service to a quiet, cool guest room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia.

Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My son and I were on a two-week driving trip checking out colleges. We were a week into our trip, and this was our 5th hotel. When planning the trip, I was so excited to see a Sofitel in a city where we would be. I stayed at a Sofitel in London and couldn't imagine that the one in Philadelphia could possibly be as good. Luckily I was wrong. This was the best hotel of our trip.

It was nice to valet the car and be assisted with luggage. The lobby was open and bright. The lady who checked us in was very helpful and friendly.

Our room was rather large. The bathroom was fantastic! The bar in the lobby was comfortable, open, and bright.

The location is fantastic. Lots of shopping and restaurants were within walking distance.

I'm hooked on Sofitel hotels now. If my son goes to Drexel, I know exactly where I will be staying!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Bonjour Ttttraveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your two-week driving trip! It is a very exciting time for you and your son and it is our pleasure that we could provide you with a large room, fantastic bathroom, and exemplary service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia!

Kind regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing