We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Philadelphia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,462)
Filter reviews
3,462 results
Traveller rating
2,081
984
248
96
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,081
984
248
96
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrittenhouse squarechez colettejunior suiteroom serviceturn down servicevalet parkingcomfortable bedcenter cityvery nice hotelfour seasonscentral locationlobby barrooms are largefew blocksliberty bellbonjourlanvin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,571 - 1,576 of 3,462 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Enjoyed the hotel, room, bar, but the breakfast was dire. Half an hour after sitting down for breakfast I was eventually served some food. There were only about half a dozen tables with people on them so it was hardly the busiest time. That to me is unacceptable. The food was not great. Burnt sausages, undercooked eggs. I'll never eat in there again and would recommend you find somewhere else for breakfast.

Room Tip: Have breakfast anywhere but in Chez Colette at hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DazScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Bonjour DazScot,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Sofitel Philadelphia. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us from your guest room appointments to experience in Liberte, our urban chic lounge. It is disappointing that your experience in Chez Colette did not meet your expectations, as this is certainly not customary of our service. I hope that you may return to dine with us again for breakfast to enjoy the magnifique experience that is our standard.

Sincerely,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The title of the review pretty much sums up our recent weekend stay at Sofitel Philadelphia. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and forthcoming in every conceivable way, and the sumptuous bed frankly made us consider whether sleeping through the stay was in fact the best alternative.

The only downfall is the pricey room service menu, would probably suggest heading to one of the many fine restaurants nearby (Capital Grille on Chestnut Street serves some superb rib eye steaks!).

Also, a particular thank you to Jean-Christophe at the concierge's desk who made our stay even more memorable having recommended Barnes Museum.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Bonjour Mantelstone,

I am pleased that you particularly enjoyed our specially designed SoBed during your stay. Here in our downtown location there are many attractions, restauraunts and shopping just steps from our front door and it is a delight that you were able to enjoy this feature and visit the Barnes Museum.

I thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us, and we look forward to your future arrivals!

Kind regards,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I came here with my family to visit the University of Penn. Its a 30 minute walk to Penn and a 10 minute drive. We took an uber cab and its $17 from the Sofitel to Penn. A little far... but if you're going dlwntown, it's smack dab in the middle. Overall, it was a clean and relatively recently renovated hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank az0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Bonjour az0327,

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us while here in Philadelphia visiting UPenn. Thank you for taking the time to share a review! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel.

Sincerely,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The front desk was always very helpful with anything we needed with the room or holding our luggage. The valet was very quick. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The atmosphere of the lobby was quiet and calm, there weren't that many places to sit down while you wait for your room. They were able to put our two rooms next to each other.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Bonjour Ali W,

It is my pleasure that we were able to provide you with helpful, prompt service throughout your stay and that you enjoyed clean and comfortable room accommodations. We excitedly await your future arrivals to the Sofitel Philadelphia.

Kind regards,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, the location was just great for walking around the city shopping, sight-seeing and dining.
Loved the market in Rittenhouse Square on Saturday just a few blocks from the Sofitel and there were lots of great restaurants within a couple of blocks.

The bar was a welcoming place to have a cool one and some snacks after a hot day of slogging around being tourists, Elyn, our waitress would welcome us back like long lost friends and was helpful and interested in what we had been doing. The drinks and snacks were delicious especially the non alcoholic Roland Garros. ( I think it was called that, had basil and cucumber syrup...refreshing!)

Breakfast was delicious every morning and service was good.

Anthony on the front desk was welcoming and went out of his way to be helpful. An asset to the hotel. The doormen were unfailingly cheerful and helpful.

Our room was a junior suite, very comfy beds, even the pull out couch my friend slept on.
The decor is perhaps due for a freshen up but this in no way detracted from our favourable opinion of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paulalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Bonjour Paulalovestotravel,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review detailing all that we are proud to offer here at the Sofitel Philadelphia! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay from the comfort of your Junior Suite accommodations to the delicacies and exemplary service offered throughout your stay. We look forward to your future arrivals!

Sincerely,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews