We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind staff. Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very kind staff. Great location.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is a perfect location to see Philadelphia. My husband and I had a romantic two night stay here. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. We were on the 9th floor which had a great view. Higher is definitely better. There are many great restaurants just a couple blocks away. We walked to independence hall....a little bit of a walk but we enjoyed it. The only negative is the price for valet parking with tip for two nights was over 100 dollars. It was very convenient but next time I'll check the parking garages close by. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmerbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Cher simmerbri,

I am delighted that we were able to provide you and your husband with a romantic get away to Philadelphia. We are fortunate to be right in the middle of downtown, close to all major attractions, but also in a secluded quiet little pocket, great for romantic stays. We eagerly await your next trip.

Warm Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,966
    951
    218
    90
    51
See reviews for
552
1,190
200
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

you owe it to your self to stay at this hotel..absolutely gorgeous..had a wonderful one night (wedding) stay as a gift..could not have asked for more...simply beautiful decor, wonderful staff..everything was perfect !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliyah1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Bonjour Aliyah1953!

I am absolutely delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us while in Philadelphia for a wedding. We would love to welcome you back again to pamper yourself with another magnifique stay with us very soon.

Warm Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely fabulous. The staff- from the valets to the concierge to the desk clerks- could not have been any nicer. Everything about the hotel is awesome! We only stayed overnight after a concert so we didn't get to use any of the amenities. The room was perfect- very roomy and clean! Five stars. We were going to take a taxi to Lincoln Financial Field but the valet suggested the subway. For 2 reasons 1) traffic going there would have taken too long (hence driving up the fare) and 2) we would not have been able to hail a cab after the event at the stadium as thousands of others would have been do so as well. He assured us that it was convenient and safe. And he was right. Round trip fare was only $4.40 per person. And there were plenty of trains after the event so there was no waiting. We will definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Jon L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in town for your concert. I am so glad that our ambassadors were able to give you a memorable Five star experience! We are in a great location for an easy and quick subway ride to the stadiums and our valets are always able to give the best route possible for our guests. We hope to welcome you again soon to enjoy more evening events in the city.

Merci,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just stayed one night but wish it could have been more. Wonderful hotel central to everything. I had emailed the concierge before we arrived about parking and the locations of various sites. Was contacted back within the day. Very helpful and polite staff. Lobby and lounge area are a wonderful retreat from the street, quiet and relaxing. Love the extra security of having to use the room card to access the elevator. Our king bed was extremely comfortable as was our room. Love the bathroom and full length mirror. Such attention to detail. To be honest we had booked this room through expedia secret hotel, so I did not really knowing what I might get. This was our first experience in a Sofitel and would absolutely stay in one again! Made our trip amazing.

Room Tip: The rooms are very quiet so they all are good. We were close to the ice machine and fitness centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sofittel in early August. This is my second time at this hotel. Location is excellent, right in the center of Rittenhouse square area. Hotel is very nice, staff is excellent. Very nice & clean room, beautiful bathroom. The only thing is that there aren't any drawers to put your clothes in. There is a nice cabinet/closet to hang your clothes. But that's not going to stop me from staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank grover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Bonjour grover13!

It was so good to have you and your husband back again to enjoy our central, Rittenhouse square location just steps away from museums, theaters, shopping, top restaurants, and the historic district. I was disappointed to hear that our room design without drawers did not meet your expectations; however, we do have shelving in our closets which we hope you can utilize. We eagerly await your next visit to Sofitel Philadelphia.

Warmest Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have been to the Sofitel in NYC and San Francisco Bay, as well as the Novotel in NYC. We think this Sofitel is the best of the four. The lobby is spacious and quiet, the room is large and well-equipped, the service is impeccable, the restaurant is excellent, and the entire experience is what you'd hope for in an elegant, sophisticated hotel.

In particular, I would compliment Clemence, the Maître d' at the restaurant, and Sally who answers the telephone helpline and solves all problems.

Note: private car service is available through the concierge, or through Safechoice Limo--215-852-8822. Our driver was Karl Kreinberg, who was not just a driver, but more of a tour guide! Much better choice than taxi for traveling to and from the airport.

Note also that this Sofitel isn't as "French" as the Sofitel or Novotel in NYC. Maybe that's because foreign tourists head for NYC, while U.S. tourists head for Philadelphia. Whatever the reason, other than the occasional "bon appetit," this property is more like a fine U.S. hotel, rather than a fine French hotel. Whether that's good or bad depends on your point of view!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Bonjour Herman M!

It was such a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel and your experience and are honored to be your favorite of all Sofitels you have visited. Each of our Sofitels in North America tries to blend French culture with the culture of the city they are located in. I am glad that you enjoyed our mix of French and Philadelphia culture at Sofitel Philadelphia and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,151 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,308 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing