We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Three things I did not like” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three things I did not like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

I loved the restful sleep that I got here but there are 3 things I did not like:
1. If using a debit card your are charged an additional $100.00 dollars for each nights stay and this money will not be refuned for 5-10 business days, this should have been told to me when I booked my room.
2. There is only valet parking, and it will cost you $36.00 per day
3. There is no fridge in the room

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blbowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback. Sofitel Philadelphia is located in Center City, valet parking charges do apply. However, there are many other parking options to consider when staying with us, such as Central Parking a self parking garage located directly across the street from the hotel. Also, mini fridges are located in every guest room, upon request our housekeeping department would be pleased to empty the existing mini fridge or provide you with an additional emptied mini fridge.

We do look forward to serving you better in the future.


Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,859
    906
    201
    85
    47
See reviews for
513
1,126
192
817
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

If you are looking for an excellent hotel, close to everything, with top class rooms and great staff, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

I spent one night at the Sofitel Philadelphia in early June while passing through on a road trip. The room was very nice, one of the most comfortable beds of my entire 3 week holiday. The bathroom was definitely the highlight of the room. It was massive with a seperate tub and and large glass shower. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of anything in central Philadelphia. I got an incredible rate at this property and would not hesitate to return. If you are travelling by car, valet parking is the only option, there is no self parking facilities at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Mixed impressions about this hotel.
Not easy to access by car (roadworks), the small front of the hotel is a battle with big cars and smokers. I got tired of people saying 'bonjour'. Beds were wonderful but the weekend crowd were noisy and disturbing (3am - drunken women shouting along the corridor) and then from somewhere loud music beats until gone midnight. And this was a quiet room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you for your response. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your stay was disturbed by various noises throughout the hotel and the surrounding areas. Center City Philadelphia has a lively atmosphere on the weekends and we try our best to shield our guests from annoyances.

We do hope to serve you better in the future.

Best regards,


Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

this hotel has everything: great location, lovely rooms, parking- all that you would expect in a good hotel. however, what it has that i find rare is a truly well trained, gifted, staff who each go out of their way, in what appears to be an effortless manner, to make you feel as if you are worth their undivided interest and appreciation. we came to think of the concierge and the staff at the desk as our friends. the concierge was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about her city and the staff at the desk, in the four days we were there became our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mbmeisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will be certain to share your feedback with my entire team.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,


Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Overall I was satisfied with the Sofitel. The room was clean and nicely sized, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was great (only $21 for a breakfast buffet!). The beds were the best...so so comfy! My only complaint is no complimentary wi-fi which is a bit weird in this day and age, but considering it's complimentary almost everywhere else, it's not as if you can't wander over to your nearest Starbucks. Overall, a good value. Oh yeah, and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you so much for your glowing review! I will share your comments with my entire team.

We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Best regards,

Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
181 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Sofitel in Philadelphia at the end of April 2010. The hotel is located in the Rittenhouse Square area of the city. We caught the train from New York to 30th Street station and walked from there. It's also easy to take a taxi as we did on the way back for less than $10.
We prepaid the accommodation and got a good deal on a luxury room on the 11th floor with 2 double beds. The room was a really good size and the bathroom was excellent. There was a separate shower and bath and all the usual top quality toiletries.
The beds were very comfortable and we had no trouble enjoying our nights sleep. The room had all the amenties you would expect such as air conditioning, safe, flat screen tv, iron etc.
The breakfast was good, it was made freshly to order. But it was slow, if you are in a hurry then I would look elsewhere.
The location of the hotel is good, it is in an area where there are plenty of shops and restaurants close by. We walked everywhere from the Old City to the Philadelphia Museum of Art.
Philadelphia is well worth a visit with all the historical sights in the Old City. I would make sure you visit the Philadelphia Museum of Art, this was a quality museum with something for everyones taste. Also the steps made famous from Rocky's training.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our City as well as the accommodations at Sofitel Philadelphia. Our location makes for easy access to most of the major sites in our area.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Prestigia, HRS, Hotel.de, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing