We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The hotel was very nice, the beds were SO comfortable. The concierge were very knowledgeable and very helpful. It's about a 12 block walk to Old City, but there is a subway line (Market) and a bus that goes down Chestnut and drops you off right in front of the visitor center. Both modes of transport ($2 a ride) were quick, clean and safe.

The only downside is that the only option for bottled water/snacks is the mini-bar. However, there is a Rite-Aid half a block away and a 24-hour CVS about 2 blocks away.

I had a beer in the bar and that was reasonably priced. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning and that was expensive and tasted just OK. Would definitely recommend eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Traveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that your recent stay with us was very enjoyable. For future visits please know our hotel bar does offer bottles of water, sodas, as well as a light fare menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,922
    931
    212
    87
    49
See reviews for
527
1,167
195
851
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We chose this hotel due to TripAdvisor ratings. Got a good deal for the July 4th holiday weekend. It was a toss up between this and the Four Seasons. This offered free parking.
Well furnished and spacious rooms, and an amazing bed which gives a good night of sleep.
Downsides are all of the staff being told to try and have a fake accent. It's just laughable almost, especially when the illusion is VERY easily broken. The hotel does seem to be frequented by working ladies of the night - and this was very noticeable. From women waiting for men in the lobby to men counting out the cash to women in the bar. Oh dear!
Good cocktails, OK food, but an overpriced buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorganRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our cocktails and overall accommodations during your recent stay with us.

Being that our property is in a downtown location, we do everything we can to create a fun and safe atmosphere for our guests. I appreciate that you have brought this issue to my attention and we will work hard to prevent future occurrences.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I loved the restful sleep that I got here but there are 3 things I did not like:
1. If using a debit card your are charged an additional $100.00 dollars for each nights stay and this money will not be refuned for 5-10 business days, this should have been told to me when I booked my room.
2. There is only valet parking, and it will cost you $36.00 per day
3. There is no fridge in the room

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blbowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback. Sofitel Philadelphia is located in Center City, valet parking charges do apply. However, there are many other parking options to consider when staying with us, such as Central Parking a self parking garage located directly across the street from the hotel. Also, mini fridges are located in every guest room, upon request our housekeeping department would be pleased to empty the existing mini fridge or provide you with an additional emptied mini fridge.

We do look forward to serving you better in the future.


Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

If you are looking for an excellent hotel, close to everything, with top class rooms and great staff, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I spent one night at the Sofitel Philadelphia in early June while passing through on a road trip. The room was very nice, one of the most comfortable beds of my entire 3 week holiday. The bathroom was definitely the highlight of the room. It was massive with a seperate tub and and large glass shower. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of anything in central Philadelphia. I got an incredible rate at this property and would not hesitate to return. If you are travelling by car, valet parking is the only option, there is no self parking facilities at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Mixed impressions about this hotel.
Not easy to access by car (roadworks), the small front of the hotel is a battle with big cars and smokers. I got tired of people saying 'bonjour'. Beds were wonderful but the weekend crowd were noisy and disturbing (3am - drunken women shouting along the corridor) and then from somewhere loud music beats until gone midnight. And this was a quiet room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you for your response. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your stay was disturbed by various noises throughout the hotel and the surrounding areas. Center City Philadelphia has a lively atmosphere on the weekends and we try our best to shield our guests from annoyances.

We do hope to serve you better in the future.

Best regards,


Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

this hotel has everything: great location, lovely rooms, parking- all that you would expect in a good hotel. however, what it has that i find rare is a truly well trained, gifted, staff who each go out of their way, in what appears to be an effortless manner, to make you feel as if you are worth their undivided interest and appreciation. we came to think of the concierge and the staff at the desk as our friends. the concierge was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about her city and the staff at the desk, in the four days we were there became our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mbmeisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Bonjour,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will be certain to share your feedback with my entire team.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,


Vincent Vienne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing