We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 1/2 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #37 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“3 1/2 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel is located next to Reading Market, Chinatown, the Convention Center, subway lines, and the Greyhound train station. I chose this hotel for its proximity to some of the locations and b/c it had the lowest parking fee although at $36 for a 24 hour period, it is not cheap. The hotel is not huge Nd the lobby is small but the typical things such as a business center and mini convenience store are there. The front staff was very kind and friendly although there was a new trainee who was learning. The hotel is not a new property and so they have done the best they could, but it does need a bit of a facelift. Compared to other beds, the sleep quality was okay. The room was decently clean but the bathroom smelled musty and a bit moldy. I think there is a ventilation issue. For a city center hotel, it was fine. Our room was very spacious but our son slept on the most uncomfortable small sofa bed so do not think two teens could ever sleep in it. Only one person who is not heavy can fit in the sofa bed. Overall, I would probably stay there again. There is a great dim sum place right across the street from the lobby. It looks seedy and run down but the food was freshly cooked, the dim sum and soups were fantastic and the prices even better! Our room did not include breakfast, BTW.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    685
    326
    123
    69
See reviews for
503
351
125
591
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Was summoned to jury duty in Philadelphia and this hotel was in the perfect location! The hotel was wonderful and the attached parking garage, with an elevator that brings you to a foyer area just outside the main lobby, was very convenient! The check-in process was easy and efficient. I had a king room that was clean and comfy, that appeared to be recently renovated. There was a super nice gentleman named Jonathan working in the lobby that helped me with directions to the courthouse....he was even concerned that I understood the distance that I would need to walk, as it was snowing quite heavily that day. Would highly recommend this hotel for its location, cleanliness and friendly staff!

Room Tip: Tenth floor is convenient if you will be visiting the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. Check in was quick. The location is great if you want to be close to the convention center and Chinatown. My room was quiet -- and away from the elevator! Be aware you will pay a lot to park your car overnight and the elevator to get to your car is well and often used.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellinad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

My friend who lives in Philly says we picked the worst location in town, but ironically it really was the best!

Our mission was simple...the Philly flower show. We all wanted to take the show in each at our own pace, so having rooms literally across the street was perfectly convenient. The hotel was recently renovated and perfectly nice. There is a gym and swimming pool with whirlpool ..which we all took advantage of. The breakfast room is on an upper floor was spacious and had great light.
The staff was excellent, I didn't have much need to speak with anyone because everything went smoothely but if I was alone waiting for an elevator there was always a pleasant exchange.

Also just steps away was the Reading Terminal Market ...what a fabulous zoo of people and food.

If you are going to an event at the convention center, stay here.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TeresaSummer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed for 4 days on Hilton Honor points. Breakfast included. Had junior Suite
Clean room and pleasant helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent every morning with made to order breakfast.
Had problem at check in because of new staff but this was rectified very fast.
Would stay again as it is very central to ALL attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The HGI staff at this location were very helpful and friendly and pointed out things to do in the area. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the train station (blue line 30th ST stop). It was a couple of blocks from the China Town area, the indoor Redding Terminal Market (kinda like a flea market), and within walking distance to the LGBT bars and clubs. I would also make a point of having breakfast in the restaurant on the 10th floor -- everything was cooked to order and was just brilliant.

Room Tip: Use the SEPTA (local train) to get here. We took the MegaBus into Philly and it made is super acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at this Hilton over the weekend and overall the stay was good. Breakfast was very nice each morning at the Tenth Floor Grill, and Mike Hawkins who was working the omelet station was extremely nice. The staff and atmosphere at the restaurant was very lovely. This was probably the best meal we had during the entire three days we were in Philly. The location of the hotel is great, there are many restaurants within walking distance. The parking was a little tricky as it is shared with non Hilton guests, and the attendant was not pleasant at all.

The only problem we had with the hotel was the housekeeping service...when we returned to the room on Saturday at 3;30 our room had not been cleaned, so I cleaned it myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing