We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
US$238
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$265
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$232
US$213
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$290
US$255
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,113)
Filter reviews
2,113 results
Traveller rating
727
767
386
147
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
767
386
147
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reading terminal marketacross the streetgreat locationfloor restaurantparking garagecenter cityjunior suitewithin walking distanceliberty belljefferson stationrestaurant stafftop floorflower showhotel is locatedindependence hallbusiness centerfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,300 - 1,305 of 2,113 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stumbled upon this hotel after another hotel stay in the area fell through. The lobby is clean and modern looking, staff was super helpful, the room was large and comfortable. My kids loved the pool, weight room and jacuzzi. I loved the beautiful breakfast room on the 10th floor with views over the city center and delicious food. The location of the hotel is good - very centrally located in the same building as the Reading Market. It's across the street from the convention center which can be good (convenient) or bad (traffic was bad as an auto show was in full swing). Best of all, the price was right. A little shot of upscale and a really reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Katarina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello Katarina B,

We are glad you stumbled upon us and found our hotel to be clean, modern looking and the team to be super friendly. We are so glad you enjoyed our pool, fitness center and jacuzzi as well as our restaurant on the 10th floor. We hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were in town for work. The proximity to Reading Terminal Market and the Convention center may be good for some, but only created problems for us. The parking garage was under constant traffic jam (at $36 a day) and the adjacent streets were constantly full as well. Again this may be appealing to some who are strictly walking to the market and the convention center. The clientele was made up of many families, while all friendly and nice the hallways, pool and public areas were very loud. We attempted to visit and use the hot tub twice and were not able to due to the noise of families. The employees were nothing but friendly, hospitable and very knowledgeable.

If your family is in town for a fun convention I would suggest this hotel. For business, I would say no.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45Torrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hello 45Torrez,

Thanks for choosing to be our guest and for sharing your recent review. We were sorry to hear that your business trip was disrupted by our leisure guests that were staying at our hotel as it does appear this was due to the Auto Show in town. Typically our hotel is very accommodating to our business travelers. We hope that you will return again so you can experience a much better visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had an enjoyable 5 night stay in a junior suite the last week of January. Since I was in town for a convention, it was very conveniently located and a good value. The close proximity to Reading Terminal Market was perfect. The room was comfortable and clean. The fitness room was serviceable; however, it was disappointing that the pool and hot tub were out of service.

Customer service was superb. The staff was very helpful in arranging a pre-conference sightseeing tour despite the 13 1/2 inch snowfall earlier in the week. They also provided excellent dining recommendations. Willow Orr was especially helpful. Not only did she manage to get us a short notice dinner reservation on a Saturday night during Restaurant Week, but she stood outside in the frigid cold for 10 minutes hailing us a cab.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hello CamTexas,

Thank you for sharing your great experience and for being our guest for 5 nights. Our team is very glad that you had such an enjoyable visit. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and that Willow was as helpful as you mentioned as she is a wonderful team member. We are glad you found your room to comfortable and clean and extremely sorry that our pool was out of service during the time you were with us. Please let me know when your plans bring you back so we can be sure to provide you with an excellent experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Deposit against cash payment not returned for 11 days, in spite of repeated reminders. Restaurant staff hardly attentive, and too programmed in one way to bend another. Food selection good, but service so por, I'd rather go hungry!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Imtiaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hello Imtiaz,

Thank you for choosing to be our guest and share your experience and glad that you enjoyed our food selections for breakfast. Our team is truly sorry that you experienced thes concerns you mentioned with the authorization on your bank card and the restaurant service. Rest assured we only placed an approval on your card upon arrival and this was released immediately the next day when you departed the hotel. If you can provide me with your bank contact information, I will contact them immediately to see why this authorization is still on hold. Our team typically tries very hard and leaves very positive impressions so we really do appreciate your feedback as it will allow us the opportunity to review our current service standards. When your plans bring you back, please let me know directly so we can make sure everything is perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This lovely, clean hotel is right in the heart of Philly, next to the famous Reading Market and the Convention Center. The room was spacious and well-appointed with plenty of room for two adults to store and hang all our stuff for a 5 day trip. There was a refrigerator and a good coffee maker in the room. The lobby is small but very nice, and while parking is expensive ($36/day) it is connected to the hotel and staffed with helpful attendants. The guest rooms are undergoing renovations, but the workmen were not disruptive or noisy. As I am a Hilton Gold member, breakfast was included. I found the restaurant a bit chaotic in the mornings, and the service inconsistent. But I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The junior suite is perfect for two, with a small but nice sitting area, a desk and two televisions.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hello Laura B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review. Our team is glad that you found our hotel to be clean, and enjoyed our location. We are also glad that you like our new Keurig coffee makers as we have been getting rave reviews since we added them to our rooms. We will certainly discuss the breakfast concerns with the team as we always look to improve our practices. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews