We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Harleysville, United States
1 review
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have stayed at this HGI many times. It's a great location, and the staff has been very consistently helpful and friendly. It's our #1 choice when we stay near Reading Terminal Market - and Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and Constitution Center are just a 5min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for sharing your wonderful review! The team at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City hotel is extremely proud to have read that every team member you came in contact with was polite, friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you when your plans bring you back in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    713
    342
    127
    78
See reviews for
528
367
133
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairlight, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I can't complain about the location if you want see Olde City and City Hall. The issue is that the entrance is pretty dodgy being under a carpark and there are some questionable types outside. Staff are friendly. Lift is really slow. Breakfast is good value. Room was nice and large. Could be cheaper given the seedy exterior and locale.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bladdamasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Your comments will help us to better serve our guests in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at quite a few garden inns and this one isn't even close to most. The hotel is shabby, way overdue for a rehab. The bed was worn out, lumpy and uncomfortable. The tub didn't drain properly so a shower left me standing in 6 inches of dirty water. There are only two of each size towel, so if you have two people in the room you have to be conservative with the towels.
I received a call from the front desk looking for feedback on my stay and when the above information was given to them, there was no apology, no nothing except a thank you for my feedback.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rjv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family of five stayed here in July 2014. We had two beds plus a pull-out couch. The room was generally fine - it was clean and reasonably up-to-date. The beds weren't great, however. The one I slept in had enough of a depression at the center that I felt like I was sleeping on a slope all night, and getting out of bed took more than the usual amount of effort. The sofa-bed was much worse, with an extremely thin and very uncomfortable mattress. If we'd stayed for another night, I had planned to ask for a second mattress to put on top of the existing one. We tried to extend our stay by a second night, but were told all of the rooms were booked, which was a bit frustrating. I've never had a problem like that before in all my years of travel - usually, once you're in the room, you can extend with no problem.

We took advantage of the 10th-floor restaurant for their breakfast buffet, which was expensive but decent. The property is right next to the Convention Center, is on the edge of Chinatown, and is just a few minutes walking-distance from the shopping district and the historic Liberty Mall area (with the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, the US Mint, and so forth).

Lastly, note that the parking is very convenient, but EXPENSIVE, at $36/day. And if you go more than a couple of hours into day 2, it's another $36. Also, the garage is a bit confusing, and while we were there there were two different families who thought their cars had been stolen because they didn't appear to be where they'd been parked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I am sorry about your so-so time at our hotel. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve the experience in the room for our future guests. I apologize for any issues you had and hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality service and accommodations you deserve should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

From check in to the restaurant staff we were very pleased !! Brought the kids gummy snacks as we returned from dinner. Always greeted us in the lobby. Very happy !! They corked a wine bottle for me as a added bonus and gave me glasses, a disposable cork screw and ice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that our staff not only made you happy but as well as your kids.Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia we work around the clock to ensure that our guest are comfortable and leave with a great experience to pass down to friends and family. We really hope that you come back and stay with where we can provide you with another great stay or even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night to visit some family that were in Philadelphia. We did not spend much time at the actual hotel, but the location was perfect. We could walk to most of the places we wanted to go. The room itself was fine. We had a junior suite and it was large. The bathroom was clean and seemed like it was kept up well. The bed and pillows were not very comfortable though. I would recommend the hotel for the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write such a great review about our hotel we appreciate your rime and kind words. Our staff here works around the clock to ensure our guest a great stay. We apologize that you found our beds to be a bit uncomfortable but we are getting new beds throughout the month of August in all of our rooms. We thank you for recommending our hotel and we would love to have you back so that you can have another wonderful stay and best of all enjoy our new beds. Thanks once again for being a guest and giving us such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you're looking for a hotel in the heart of the major tourist sites of Philadelphia? This is the best hotel for that. You are blocks away from just about everything.

You can take the Regional Rail line for the airport right to the Market East Station. In about 30 minutes you can be at the hotel, and going back to the airport is just as easy and convenient.

The staff is happy, helpful, and always trying to do whatever they can to make your stay the best. Genuinely. It doesn't feel phony at all.

The breakfast buffet is good. I have the freshly made veggie omelet.

I also had a virgin strawberry daiquiri. Very very good.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for adjustments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnitsbyConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had with your family and friends at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We are pleased that you were happy and comfortable with your stay. Our staff here at the Hilton work around the clock to ensure that our guest leave happy and with a great impression. It was an honor having you here and as our guest of the day. We hope to see you soon again and hope your stay is just as great as this past one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing