We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property, People and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 27 June 2009

This property and the staff ( Assistant General Manager Mr. Bettencourt) are the reason I'm a diamond and choose Hilton properties over any other..... This is the best location and property for central philly activities.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,746 - 1,752 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2009

Hilton Garden Inn, a downtown Philly hotel, exemplifies outstanding hospitality and personal service at affordable rates far below those in other Center City hotels and far above other chain hotels. The posted commitment to "service with heart" is evident everywhere -- from Charles and Bell staff to Angela, Sandra and Natasha at Front Desk, to Housekeeping and Restaurant staff. How nice to be recognized and greeted by name upon every entry to the lobby. A prior request for room type to accommodate my husband's post-surgery sleeping requirement was received with caring understanding and a sincere willingness to do their best based on what would be available at check-in -- and later honored with complete satisfaction and comfort. Everyone greets you with a smile and "how are you doing today?" The location is excellent, within walking distance to many historical sites, shops and eateries; and convenient to all transportation options. Philly is a very clean and truly tourist-friendly city, and this Hilton property made our stay that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseygalPrescottAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

My husband is a Hilton Honors Gold member, so it was wonderful to get upgraded to a jr. suite room with a nice sitting area... we also received free breakfast buffet which was very nice with made to order eggs, omelets, waffles, pancakes and such.... don't be cheap and tip the chef when they make those special yummy items!! We loved the breakfast buffet and it is worth the price if it is not part of your room... nice atmosphere too.
Front desk staff and housekeeping friendly and helpful. Asked for a late check out and extra coffee packets for the room, everyone happy to help. Nice fitness area and pool, although the pool is small. My husband liked the jacuzzi.
The bed was so comfortable, I checked into buying one for home... best sleep ever.
We got a map from the front deak to walk to the Kimmel Center for our son's medical school graduation...then did a pub crawl over on South St.... a little bit of walking but very doable. Reading Market Terminal is one door down when you go out the front door of the hotel, and it is full of interesting food, people and products...
We just booked another stay for 4th of July (spent a 4th here in 2002 and walked to and from the main attraction at the art museum)... we were originally very disappointed when no rooms were available and had booked elsewhere then some rooms became available and now we are happily booked at the inn!
It is nice to have the refrigerator and microwave in the room... we like to have cream in our coffee and something cold to drink in the evening... there is a small store by the front desk so you can snag something to heat up if you would like to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHGrammyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We arrived late on a Friday night and were quite nervous about the area driving in. The hotel is in Chinatown and driving in from the airport there were unsavory characters gathered on the corners, including several woman that looked, ahem, for hire. The hotel parking is a public garage next to the hotel. It was well-staffed and lit, but I think about $26/per day. When we booked we were able to pay an extra $15 on the room rate to have parking included, which saved us $11/day. Hotel lobby was very clean and the check-in staff prompt and pleasant. We asked for a recommendation for a restaurant still serving food at 11pm and were directed to walk two bocks down to Ly Michaels. It was not the direction we had driven in from, and didn't feel unsafe walking in that area.

Ly Michaels is a restaurant with bar that becomes 21+ at night, moves the tables and has a live DJ. I think they were done serving but set up a table in the corner for us to sit down and have a regular meal away from the bar guests. The food was quite good.

Our room at the Hilton Garden was on the 9th floor, had a view of the top of the parking garage I think. Room was clean. Bathroom had standard free amenities. Free wi-fi in the room. The breakfast buffet was included for us as Hilton Gold members. Service was very friendly. Food was OK but I think if we'd had to pay for it we'd have gone next door to the Reding Marking instead. There is a Wawa across the street from the hotel. 'Wawa' in PA is a convenience store and not what you call 'water' when you're talking to your pets.

From the hotel, it's about a 20 min walk though downtown to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. We reserved our spot in advance for Ind. Hall for the Saturday before Memorial Day. Our tour was at 11:30, and by then tickets were sold out for the day for walk-up visitors. The line for the Liberty Bell was outside that building the entire day, but getting in line halfway down the side of the building was only about a 5 minute wait to get through the doors.

From there it was another 10 minute walk down Market St towards Christ Chuch. There was a lot of restaurants and little shops on Market. Had cheesesteaks at Sonnys at Market & 3rd at the recommendation of one of the US Parks guide at Ind. Hall. We had cheesesteaks again the next day in the Italian Market at the (supposedly famous) Pat's, and we both thought that Sonny's was better in both taste and service. The workers at Pat's were unnecessarily rude, with the drink service guy banging on the glass and yelling at customers that weren't at the window yet.

There is a restaurant in the hotel that we did not visit. I believe there's an indoor pool as well that we also didn't see.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halfdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Stayed here one night. Check in.out was easy and the staff was nice.
Double bed room and the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Nice TV to watch. The parking was $24.00 for one day but I guess you have to expect that in the heart of the city. Overall, not a bad stay. Close to all things that interested us.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMalPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

The hotel was centrally located and easy to find from the major highways. The room was small, but the bed was very comfortable, and the refrigerator was a plus. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom which was odd. All in all, I would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanScranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

I stayed here once in March 09 on my business trip. good hotel. nice staff. Being a Hilton Gold, I was upgraded. stayed on the 7th floor. The room was good, decent size Jr. suite. Was invited to Manager's reception (Wednesdays - 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm), which is like other Hilton lounge's - free drinks and snacks. Many dining options around the hotel - I decided to pick up some food from a Chinese place just opposite to the hotel which was very cheap and delicious. The hotel is located opposite to a greyhound bus station so many other dining options, including MAGGIANO'S or the reading terminal (which closes at 8 pm) just a 5 minute walk from the Hotel, also the Liberty bell was around 10 minutes walk. They have good HOT breakfast with made to order omlets ( which was free for me as a Gold member) in the 10 floor restaurant - nice view of the downtown too. The pool is good, like any other Hilton Garden. The gym, though I did not use, looked good with several equipments and music. The staff is friendly and helpful. It takes about 30 minutes drive from PHL airport - I used the Lady liberty shuttle - about $10 each way.
I have stayed at Hampton Inn in Philadelphia city center which is just 5 minutes away from the Hilton garden. The garden inn is better than the Hampton but more expensive. I think I will do the Hampton Inn if its at least 30-40$ cheaper than garden Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PremB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Address: 1100 Arch Street, On the corner of 11th Street and Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £115 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing