We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Crazy...”

Please Touch Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
US$56.00*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off and Philly By Night Tour Combo
More Info
US$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #13 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hands-on museum where adults and children can learn and explore together. The museum is open Monday-Saturday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. and Sundays 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. Admission is $17 for adults and children age one and over. Children under one are free.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Little Crazy...”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a fun place for kids, but...
My daughter and I took my 2 granddaughters, ages 3 and 19 months. I highly recommend taking a stroller for young children and plenty of drinks, snacks and kid AND adult supplies-diapers, wipes, hand wash, tissues. There is only one changing station in the Women's Restroom-not enough for place that is supposed to be for kids. You probably want some Clorox wipes to clean some of the exhibits-kids put everything in their mouths, especially the Rita's Water Ice and McDonald's play food. We went early, around 10:30 but it was still crowded on a Wednesday in early June. The kids don't know the rules and most parents don't pay attention to them, so even if it says "this is a safe place for children 3 and under"-it's NOT because the older kids are in there as well, and run around without regard to little ones toddling near them. Most kids don't want to take turns or share so there is a lot of maneuvering to get in the driver's seat, or get a grocery cart, etc. but the exhibits are really interactive and our little girls had a lot of fun. I would suggest that the museum have more staff available and also to raise the temperature in the train exhibit, it was freezing! The fee is high $17 per person except under age 1-I think it's excessive, but we opted to get a membership for $150.00 for a family of 4, which is a good deal. This is a good place to spend a few hours, just be prepared for some craziness. There was a lost child while we were there and it was scary, so keep an eye on your kids at all times. It can be chaotic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    260
    83
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Why isn't there a museum like this in my town?”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Imagine: a museum that encourages touching!

It's more of a dynamically imagined play space than museum, though - the themed areas encourage imagination, exploration, creativity, interaction with other kids, and manage to show science as fun.

When you have to drag your children out, it can only be counted as a complete success!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jesorrell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great place to have a birthday party”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My niece turned and had a birthday party it was a lot of fun. They put up decorations for you they play games with the kids take you to the careousel it was a lot of fun. The museum is a must do if your in philadelphia if you have children 12 and younger i would say but even as adult i enjoyed touching a playing with things. its agreat family outing you wont be sorry you did great memories. iyou can park for free on the street or pay a fee for the lot but no need there is parking on the street same distance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spicegirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun day for the family”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My 4 and 5 year olds loved it. We spent most of our time in Alice in Wonderland; the kids and adults loved this. Kids thought the train area was boring, but I liked the model of Fairmont Park. Unfortunately we hit the duck area last; another area the kids would have spent much of their time. Parking was easy and right across the street.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitely a Purell kind of destination!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

1. I'm not a complete germ-a-phobe, but I'd definitely bring hand sanitizer.
2. Don't pay $8 bucks for parking, try to grab a spot on the street, which is across from the lot.
3. We managed to go during the week and I couldn't imagine doing it on a weekend.
4. Even with low crowds, plan on spending about 2 hours.
5. Plan on finding your own way around the museum. There were no maps and the staff weren't exactly going out of their way to get off their phones to answer questions!
6. We took our 22 month old and it was fun enough, but a 4-5 year old would probably be able to interact and understand a bit more.
7. The variety of things to encounter provided a diverse enough experience to keep our little guy engaged for pretty much the duration of our visit.
8. The carousel is not part of the general admission price.

Overall, it was fun family outing but we will probably not return until our son is a couple of years older.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Please Touch Museum also viewed

 

Been to Please Touch Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing