We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Afternoon”
Review of Penn Museum

Penn Museum
Ranked #36 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to find your mummy, or, for that matter, Buddha or shards of old pottery, look for this museum in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Afternoon”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

self guided tour with wide variety of history - great for independent thinkers - bring own lunch limited opportunities in building - numerous outside - great for history and art enthusiasts

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 66TomMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    104
    21
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
794 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Thank You to all the Researchers”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was overwhelmed and so excited to see relics from global digs: Armana in Egypt. I have been fascinated by that too brief area. You have art and artifacts and historical treatises and structures. Items are well lit and well labeled. I shall return again and again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little gem of a Museum”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Decided to go to this museum with my 8 year old son, purely because it a direct train ride and that it was not far from home. We got the Regional Train to University City and across the street and a few yards up South Street is Penn Museum. During the months of July/August the admission is $10 per person, which is a steal, each exhibit is of quality, with 3 floors to explore, which included, restrooms, Elevators, Dining Hall. The day we went (Wednesday) it wasnt busy, opens at 10am so you arent fighting for space on the train with daily work commuters. The staff were helpful and courteous and I really couldnt fault this establishment. The exhibits were amazing, go see the Egyptian and Mummies section, complete pillars, sphinx etc, Ive been to Egypt and these exhibits were of outstanding quality and in some cases better than those in their homeland, The Asian, North American, Greek exhibits were also great viewing. We spent a good couple of hours, which included lunch here and I would say it was well worth the effort, for a few hours during summer vacation time. The only negative thing I can say about the museum was that not all rooms were air conditioned, however they did have a few large, stand alone fans dotted about, due to the heat (hottest day of the year so far) they were giving free bottles of water at the admissions desk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
455 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very nice exhibits! My son was especially impressed with the door that was used in the Harry Potter movie.. You could spend hours in here looking at all of the exhibits

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the Nicest Museums We Have Ever Been In.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Arriving later in the afternoon, we practically had the museum to ourselves, and what a nice collection of exhibits it has. Artifacts from the Middle East, Egypt were especially good. Good explanatory information accompanied the exhibits and the timeline of recent history of Iraq was clear, concise, and helpful for me. There was also a good collection of native American artifacts. The Buddhist art from China and other countries was well displayed. They were setting up for a concert that night, which we unfortunately could not attend, but the acoustics must have made for an exciting concert. I would definitely return to this museum.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blinibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Penn Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing