We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #38 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very convenient location”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located, walking distance to many historic locations. They also offered a shuttle to the historic area, but it was an easy walk, so we didn't use it. The room was large and very comfortable. Since it's right next to the freeway, you do hear the traffic roar, but just as background noise. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a room on the top floor, and the view of the river and the George Washington bridge was beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear EileenWes,

Thank you so much for your stay at our Holiday Inn Express. We are so glad that you enjoyed our great city of Philadelphia and enjoyed staying at our hotel.

We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    288
    109
    44
    25
See reviews for
225
188
38
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Booked room for family for my first marathon run. Staff was excellent when we arrived for early check in. Front desk gave us directions and updates on Saturday and information for Sunday morning. Nice room with great view, quite night with a good nights sleep. I was up at 4:30 for the run and coffee and minimal breakfast items available but we were told this. Shared taxi to run with couple from hotel and marathon went right in front of hotel. Would stay again future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank brentb1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear brentb1166,

Thank you so much for selecting our hotel to stay during the Marathon. This is always an exciting time for us and we have several employees that run as well. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay! That makes our day!

See you next year!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I don't know why there seems to be so many complaints about the road noise. I stayed on the side of the river/bridge and it was fine! I found the room to be clean, comfortable, nice size, great bed. Nice view of the river and bridge. Short walk to D&B on the water. Had a great dinner and had a blast playing the games too. Breakfast was perfect! Plenty of options to pick from and fueled us for the whole day. 15 min ride to the airport. Staff helpful. I hate in Philly you have to pay for parking but that's at any hotel. It was $25.00, but at least there is a guy watching the cars for you. I would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indonesianprincess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear indonesianprince,

Thank you so much for your stay! We are happy to hear that you had a nice time. The staff is going to be really excited when they read your review.

Thank you again.

We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel was a Comfort Inn the last time we stayed. It gave a good value then and a good value this time. The room was clean and reasonably large and was cleaned well. The front desk was on top of things, as far as we could tell. The parking was all right (but cost $ 25/hour, which seems too high for that neighborhood)t. The breakfast room is still too small, but the staff tries hard to keep up with the consumption of food items. Breakfast selection is all right (cereal, toast, oatmeal, sausage, eggs, grits, pancakes)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear theoax,

Thank you for your recent review. We really do appreciate guest feedback. It is nice that you had stayed before and now you had the chance to see our renovations.

Thank you so much again. We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

After driving for over 5 hours, we were exhausted and relieved when we finally arrived at this Holiday Inn Express late on a Friday night. My husband went to find parking while I went into the hotel first with my young son to check in. As soon as we walked in to the lobby, we were greeted by loud country music and women in skimpy dresses. There were two check-in staff on duty - a female and male. Both were engrossed in chatting with the women in the skimpy dresses. The women in the skimpy dresses saw us waiting to check in and moved away from the counter. The female staff ignored me so I walked up to the male staff at the counter. He asked for my photo ID and credit card and then rushed through the check-in process; handing me the room keys, a bag with only one bottle of water and a small bag of chips (even though there were 3 of us staying in the room), then spoke rapidly to inform me of the breakfast hours. He did not give me directions to my room nor tell me that I had to put a tag in my car (we were charged an extra $25 parking fee). To make matters worse, he even gave me the wrong internet access code which we only found out when we went up to our room. After rushing me through the check in process, he went back to chat with the women in the skimpy dresses. The hotel is located on a busy street. Unlike the windows in the breakfast area, the windows in our room on the 9th floor are not sound proof. The walls in our room are extremely thin. We could hear traffic noises, people talking loudly and walking in the hallways all night. Needless to say, we did not have a good night's sleep. The ventilation vents in the bathroom looked like they had not been cleaned for a long time. They were caked with dust. The wallpaper and paint was also peeling in many areas. See photos. We were extremely relieved to check out the next day. We have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express hotels and have alway had good experiences. This Holiday Inn Express is just not on par with the other Holiday Inn Express hotels. Never in my life have I been to a hotel that plays loud country music in the lobby. What kind of hotel does that? Your check-in staff needs training in customer service and your rooms need major removation and cleaning. We will never stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VACATION1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Vacation1122,

Thank you for your review. We apologize that we had missed our goal with providing you an outstanding stay.

Your comments are very important to us as it gives us the opportunity to impliment other plans to ensure that our guests have a great experience.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Philly for one night that was easy to get to, clean, modern, close enough to walk to the city sites and had parking and this hotel met our needs. It was a more affordable price compared to other downtown hotels, but parking was an extra fee. It seemed like it had been remodeled recently so the lobby and rooms were well decorated and very clean and our room was very spacious, though of course it looks like a modernized hotel without any of the charm of the historic city, but that was expected. My only complaint would be that it was right next to the highway which our room look out onto, not the prettiest of views, and the traffic was definitely heard in our room, though it didn't bother us too much. We were able to walk up Race Street and have fairly quick access to Old Town and were able to walk most of the city in a day. The breakfast was alright, though crowded. All in all it was a good selection for us and would recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank maemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Amanda H,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to here that overall you had a nice stay. That is very important to our team here.

Please know that for next time make sure you book a room on the riverside. This side is quieter and the views are remarkable of the Ben Franklin Bridge and the Delaware River. It may have suited you a bit more during your last stay.

Thank you again for your review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest City, Iowa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed at this property for one night. I arrived at the hotel about 9:30pm. There was one front desk clerk working and another employee standing beside the front desk who was not checking people in. I am a Priority Club Gold member and was given a room on the 10th floor with a view of the bridge and river. The room was clean and comfy however there were no wash cloths in the room. And while a coffee maker was in the room there were no coffee cups ceramic or otherwise. The breakfast in the am was average Holiday Inn Express fare which was pretty good.

I checked out and asked about the shuttle to Wills Eye Institute. The front desk clerk said the shuttle should be back in about 30 minutes. I could not wait for it. The desk clerk at check out did not ask how my stay was nor did she thank me. I was also not recognized as a Priority Club member upon check in as other IHG properties always do.

A clean hotel and it was quiet but the employees here do not seem to be happy doing their jobs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear houstonguy2010,

Thank you for your review and for being a Gold IHG Rewards Club Member. Your feedback is very important to us. I hope that we were able to bring the wash clothes right up to you.

We apologize that you had to wait for the shuttle. Sometimes traffic, street closures, detours or the unseen does happen here in the city which effects our efforts to get back to the hotel swiftly.

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying at our Holiday Inn Express. We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Penn's View Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing