We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Good
Check in was great. Staff was very nice. we were there during thanksgiving so breakfast was overcrowded.They have a shuttle which we used to go downtown for some shopping. The view was awesome.

The Not so Good
I hated the parking fees ($25/night) and the layout of the parking lot, you have to turn into the main street to come into the parking lot, which had an awkwardly placed ticket dispenser, and then when you are leaving you have to get the attention of the attendant who is way on the other side......to let you out....all for a fee....
The heat in the room was not consistent. It would get really hot (even when set on low and then cool off drastically. It was very hard to be comfortable. To their credit, the woman at checkout asked about our stay and when i advised her of the heat problem, she said we should have reported it and we would have been placed in another room.

Overall I would stay again. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear SandyA,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

We hope to see you again next year.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Me my wife and our three years old doughter Alya stayed in this Hotel. We liked the hotel and the room. complimentary breakfast was really very nice. Staff is very friendly. Nice view.Parking place is very good

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Necdet298006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Necde298006,

Thank you so much for staying at our Holiday Inn Express! We are so glad that you had a nice time. We appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you again next year!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Late adding my review but when my husband & I drove up from NJ for a overnight stay in September 2013 we had a wonderful time! The hotel is in a perfect spot for tourist close to nice restaurants, the big bus tour and historical locations. Okay super close if in car & walkable if your a active person. The rooms are clean & very comfortable. There was a big party going on close by so several of the guest were young drunk people but they didn't bother us much. The staff was very nice & helpful. Breakfast okay but eatable. Great spot for a quick stop by!

Room Tip: Ask to face the river. It's beautiful at night and quieter then the other side facing the highwa...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Daniel K,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and your review. We love it when we hear that we did a good job. I really makes our day!

Thank you so much again. We hope to see you next year.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Overall, the hotel was pretty nice and in an OK location. It's not far away, but it's not close either. It's a good 5-10 minute walk to get anywhere. The free breakfast was pretty good (waffles, cereal, cinnamon rolls, etc...) and the coffee was very good. The breakfast was also staffed very well and someone is always there if you have a request, which is rare for a free continental breakfast.

The room itself is pretty standard, beds were comfortable, everything worked. Parking was a bit of a pain being an additional $25.

They push this "next to Penn's Landing" thing, but in the 10 times I've been to Philly, there has never been anything going on at Penn's Landing! Pretty Funny.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again, mostly because I don't mind the longer walks to get to the main tourist areas. And you can definitely find cheap rates online if you know where to look.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Tim C,

Thank so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay!

We hope to see you again next year.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is in a kind of canyon between two major highways and the Ben Franklin Bridge. It is impossible to avoid the noise. I'm a heavy sleeper so I did OK, but light sleepers shouldn't even consider staying here. The location is several long and fairly desolate blocks from the pedestrian cross-overs from Penn's Landing to the city. Thankfully the hotel has free van service from roughly 6:30 a.m. to 11 or noon and 4 p.m. to 10 or 11 p.m. For the cost of a gratuity to the friendly driver, it sure beats taking cabs.

The room itself was excellent -- it's one of the nicely refurbished Holiday Inn Expresses. Breakfast is fine, with hot offerings (premade omelets, sausage) typical for this price range. And I had no problem with staff, unlike other reviewers. Still, next time I'll go back to Center City and pay a little more for a smaller room. As the saying goes, "location, location, location."

Room Tip: West- and south-facing rooms are closest to the noisy highways. North- and east-facing rooms face th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear JerseyJazz,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so excited that you enjoyed the hotel! Thank you again for your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The location is fine. Next to Penns Landing and really close to the Highway minutes from the airport. Breakfast was okay, cool pancake machine. FREE Fast WIFI. Room Keys are very modern, kind of complicated, but maybe its me. Rooms where very clean. No much to say. Its a Stop and Go Hotel with good amenities.

Room Tip: Good Location for a Stop and Go! Nice Chimney. Good WIFI and breakfast.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear FedericoH,

Thank you so much for your view. We are glad to here that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Purchased from Hotwire and got a great deal (Less than $100 per night) when comparing other hotels in the area. Rated 3 star on Hotwire.

Checking in on a Friday at 4 can be like being in a traffic jam. Two people checking everyone in (4 people ahead of me) resulted in about a 15 minute wait. Room was on the 9th floor and bridge view which was nice, but we could still hear the road noise. Also, we could hear the sounds from the room next door and they didn't seem to be talking too loud. My friends who were staying down the hall said they heard their neighbors talking til 4 am. I had brought a sound machine to help with the noise and it helped. Breakfast was good but crowded from 9-9:30. Parking cost $25 per day, with in and out privileges. I would stay again since it was located in Old City and we could easily walk to many of the historic sights (Sound machine is a MUST!)

Lots of good restaurants to walk to.

Shuttle was available (limited hours) within a 20 block radius (I think), which we used once only, since we were told we would have to wait 20 minutes.

They were handing welcome bags but they did not give me one despite being an IHG Rewards Club Member....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4NY2VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear p2travel,

Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express! We appreciate your review and feedback.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn's View Hotel
#12 of 87 in Philadelphia
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £101 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing