We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel though a bit noisy and in a strange location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great hotel though a bit noisy and in a strange location”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed five nights while attending a convention. The rooms were large and comfortable and obviously recently renovated. For example, this is the first time that I've had a RFID door key. Noise is a bit of a problem because the hotel is in a strange location between the interstate and the Delaware River. I used my earplugs to block out the traffic noise that is loud even in the middle of the night. The free breakfast was better than average with several hot dishes and fresh fruit. This breakfast was almost a requirement for staying because very few restaurants are located within the immediate vicinity so that breakfast would have been hard to find otherwise. The hotel includes a free shuttle which I didn't use because I'm an avid walker. The Old Downtown sites (Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, etc.) are quite close though convention center is about a 30 minute walk. The staff was friendly enough. The "free high-speed Internet" was quite slow though adequate for most tasks and reliable enough during my stay.

I might like a better location and a quieter room, but I'd stay here again if the price were right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side that doesn't fact the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Robert H,

Thank you Robert for sharing your experience. We are thrilled that overall you enjoyed staying at our Holiday Inn Express.

Should you visit again please be sure to book or request a riverside room. This side is a little more quieter and the views of the Delaware River and Ben Franklin Bridge will provide a site to remember forever!

Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    299
    112
    44
    25
See reviews for
234
196
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ny
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel it pretty new so the décor is modern and it's quite clean. Even though it's right by the bridge and highway the noise isn't bad with the windows closed and the heat on (since it's winter). I did use earplugs since I'm a light sleeper, so I'm not sure how loud it would have been without them.They give you free breakfast and a shuttle that will drop you of in downtown/center city, both of which were quite unexpected. The shuttle did breakdown Sat night to Sun, but that they offer it in general is very nice. The location is close to Penn's landing and only a 10 min walk to the historic parts, but it is surrounded by roads so it's not the prettiest thing and has a slightly depressing feel. But, considering this is supposed to be a 2.5/3 star hotel they really do more than you'd expect. I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisaP491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear AlisaP,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! That really makes our day.

We hope to see you again should you return to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I had a great stay at this friendly hotel. The front desk was helpfull showing places we could visit. Rooms are confortable and clean. Parking, wifi and breakfast were a plus for free all ready included in The price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear hiedygg,

Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. They helped me receive and ship packages for my convention, made great dinner recommendations, always made sure I had what I needed. They helped with logistics of a major snowstorm.

It is out of downtown but there is a free shuttle that is great! Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. The backside rooms are close to the freeway and exit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Steph1974,

Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had to pick a hotel at the last minute and lucked up on the Holiday Inn express. What a pleasant surprise! I unexpectedly got a room with the Jacuzzi, which was a welcome surprise. The continental breakfast was above average. The view of the Delaware and the Ben Franklin bridge were AMAZING. Especially at night. Even the sound of the Lindenwald line (train) crossing the bridge was pleasant. We had no complaints at all. Parking was par for the course. The front desk ladies were VERY sweet and very helpful. The shower was - interesting - there was no door, it was made that way - and the floor got wet. It was not a bad thing, but was interesting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly-In-Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear asawaa,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you had a nice stay and liked the upgrade! We try to upgrade as much as we can.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
1,747 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

My stay at this hotel was on the week following Christmas Day through New Year's Day. I chose the location because it was right on the edge of Old Town with a great view of the Ben Franklin Bridge and the river (where the New Year's fireworks are displayed). I knew the hotel was on a major road which was convenient for the three day trips I had planned. I payed a little extra to get a room overlooking the river but it was worth it. The staff was extremely pleasant; happy to help when they could (thank you again for the conditioner). The breakfast was pretty much the same every day, but Denver was very willing to go the extra mile and was very nice. They even went the extra mile when there were some unruly/noisy people in the room next to me. Security was sent up and endured some very hateful comments/slurs without losing his cool. I commend the staff and especially that security guard for their phenomenal service/dedication

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear jehenson81,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you had a nice stay. The staff gets really excited when they read that they have done a great job. You made our day!

Thank you again. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here with a friend for 2 nights while we were in Philly for a school-related activity. The room was spotless and the beds super comfy, but the exceptional part of our stay was definitely the staff, all of whom were friendly, welcoming, and helpful! They were a happy group and their camaraderie was very evident. We were especially impressed by the gentleman who, I believe was the evening manager, and I think his name was Nick. He was friendly from the moment we got there to check in on our first evening, offering suggestions for dinner and fun places to see on our short stay there. He went above and beyond, and out of his way, to make our second night a fun girls night when we accidentally brought a bottle of wine back without a wine key and he went across the street, in the snowy, freezing, wind to have it opened for us, all with a smile on his face! This same family-like attitude was equally displayed by all we encountered while staying there. Kudos to all of you and thank you for making it a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear JessC,

Thank you so much for your review! You really made Nick's night as he stood behind me reading your comments. He gave a quick cheer then went right back up to the Front Desk. Thank you for your kind words.

We appreciate your feedback. It's so nice to hear when we are doing a good job. It really makes our day.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing