We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked this room while going to the Philadelphia Flower Show. The room had a beautiful view of the Delaware River. The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and offered good suggestions of things to do and restaurants to go to. It was an easy walk to the historical sights and when in Philly I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Milford_PaMoose,

Thank you so much for staying at our Holiday Inn Express. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments made our day!

The Flower Show next year is from March 1st - March 8th. We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

In Philly for a long weekend to attend the Flower show. The staff at this place could not of been nicer or more helpful, especially Nick and Cara! Check in was a breeze even though they were very busy, breakfast was outstanding, the shuttle service was great as was the driver, Brian and the rooms were clean and beautiful. We will be back! Thanks!
Anne

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear AnneH,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We hope that you enjoyed the Flower Show! The staff that you mentioned are going to be really excited! You have made our day!

We hope to see you when you return to Philadelphia. The Flower Show is March 1st - March 8th 2015.

Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I spent the night of Wednesday, 05 March in room 408 (river view). Upon check in, we were given very courteous service at the front desk. Overnight was very comfortable, very quiet, excellent view of the bridge and Delaware River. On Thursday morning, 06 March, I was greeted by Denver Johnson, who already had coffee ready. The breakfast buffet was well stocked, and Denver came out from time to time to ensure that they didn't run out of any eggs, sausage, biscuits, or creamed beef (my favorite!). Denver has a cheerful attitude, puts guests at ease, and is very willing to please even the most difficult people who come down for breakfast. Denver Johnson is an unsung hero, who works hard whether anyone is watching or not. He is a wonderful ambassador and a credit to your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room that is not at either end. Then you will not hear the traffic on I-95.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear RichardB,

Thank you so much for your review. Denver is going to be so excited! Thank you so much for your kind comments. Denver is a true asset to our company as well as many other staff team members that shine.

We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hotel is a little out of the centre but it's a relatively easy walk to restaurants etc. Check in was fine and staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size and we had a view of the river. A little noisy with the Ben Franklin Bridge and I95 close by but not a major problem. One of the two elevators was out of order so had a little wait time to go up and down. The water in the shower was lukewarm due to an apparent breakdown of one of the boilers. Happily the next morning it was fine. Breakfast was reasonably good and food was replenished fairly quickly but tables weren't cleared or cleaned so we had to do it ourselves. Hotel has a shuttle to and from downtown but when we tried to use it to take us back from the flower show there was no answer and the voice mailbox was full, a little disappointing. We booked the hotel about a week in advance and the cancellation policy was to cancel 24 hours in advance with no penalty. I checked the rates after the cancellation window and was surprised to see the rate was lower. I contacted Holiday Inn and was told that I could not get the lower rate as it was past the cancellation window. Now, the hotel advertises that if you find a lower rate on other sites they give you a break but apparently this does not apply to their own site, again a little disappointing. I would probably stay here again but may delay my booking to get a better rate. Finally, housekeeping did not replace coffee or condiment packs and did not discard used coffee or used plastic cups.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear WeeLuv2Travel2,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you had a nice time while visiting Philadelphia. Your comments are greatly apprecaited and those couple items you mentioned will be followed up on.

We do run specials on certain room types from time to time so please keep an eye out for them.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Located just a few metres from Penn's landing, this hotel is modern and comfortable with adjacent parking and clean rooms. The staff are very efficient at processing guests, it was particularly busy when I arrived there. If you're adventurous, the city isn't too far away - but they have a shuttle going there every few minutes anyways. Breakfast is satisfying and filling. Great deal, all in all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tejas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Tejas l,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you had a nice time and was comfortable staying at our hotel. It makes our day when we read feedback noting that we did a good job. That is our ultimate goal. Thank you so much.

We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

In Philly for a long weekend, George Straight concert, historical touring. Room was clean & neat, had a river view. Subway going across the Ben Franklin Bridge was a little noisy but its within a 10 min. walk to Penn Landing, and within a 20 min walk to Independence Visitor center, or they have the shuttle van that was willing to drop us off and take us to different locations or restaurants to eat. Be sure to tip the driver, Breakfast was typical of a free venue and adequate to get you up and running. I did not like the $25/day parking fee but I guess the shuttle saved me some taxi fares. Staff was very helpful.
They had one elevator working and just happened to be sold out due to the Sommerset ship commissioning. Rather than wait we got some exercise on the stairs to the 4th floor. I'm sure that's fixed by now and after all the places we ate & drank, the exercise was definitely needed. :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a river view eastern side room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nc2gulf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear nc2gulf57,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We hope you had a great time at the concert.

Thank you so much again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed there last night. The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and extremely clean and comfy. It is a bit noisy being right on 95 though. The parking is VERY expensive. $25 a night. We did however use their shuttle service a few times that takes you and drops you off anywhere you want to go with a 2 mile radius, and since the hotel is close to all of the sights, this was very beneficial, so I guess what we saved in cab fees made up for the parking fee. The breakfast was pretty good. Southwestern omelets, sausage, biscuits and gravy, cereal, muffins, a pancake machine, fruit, you get the picture. The hotel is right across from the water and under the Ben Franklin bridge. It's quite a sight to see. Overall, it was a nice stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear kdd75,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again should you return for another visit to Philadelphia.

Have a great day!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn's View Hotel
#12 of 87 in Philadelphia
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £101 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing