We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week for 2 days. We were so impressed by the clerk Cindy Mccready on how great of a help she was. She went out of her way to help both me and my wife. I would really recomend staying at this location anytime your in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Bruce B,

Thank you so much for your review. We can't wait to show Cindy your comment about here when she comes into work. Cindy is a true asset to our company.

We are so glad that you had a nice stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel conveniently located within walking distance of Old Town and historic sites in Philadelphia. All of the staff were very kind, accommodating, and helpful. The rooms were updated and comfortable with great artwork and very tidy. The riverside rooms have an amazing view of the river and bridge. Generous breakfast! Has a parking lot, check for fees. There is also a free shuttle from the hotel to anywhere within a 2 mile radius which was helpful to go visit the new City Hall as well as the Reading Terminal Market (more must see spots)! The rates were great for being so close to Old Town. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: There can be noise from the highway, the riverside rooms were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear hcole2,

Thank you so much for staying at our Holiday Inn Express! We are so grateful for your warm comments. It makes our day when we receive reviews such as yours. Thank you!

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My fiancé and I went to this hotel last weekend and I have to say it was so beautiful. The fireplace as you walked into the lobby made the place warm and cozy. The room was very clean and top it off my room had a jacuzzi a few steps away from the bed. The room also had a mini fridge and tea and coffee. The view was awesome and dave and busters was right down the street from the hotel. I give this hotel 5 ☆☆☆☆☆ and I will be returning back soon. Everybody at the front desk was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Missme2014,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you had an amazing stay! That makes our day! The staff is going to be really excited when I post your review on their media board.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My experience at this hotel was a good one. The hotel is modern and nicely decorated. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I particularly enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the sunny, cheerful breakfast room. The view of the river and the bridge from our room were truly beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Peachgirl_10,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Pros: Great location (walking distance to historical sites); buffet breakfast; queen sized beds (vs. double); free shuttle to various locations; very nice staff (Cynthia- front desk; Lee- shuttle driver; Denver- food server)
Cons: only one elevator working for 10 story hotel!; very crowded breakfasts; loud noises from highway (our room faced I-95)

Room Tip: Rooms facing river would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoey0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Zoey0205,

Thank you so much for posting your review. The staff you mentioned are going to be so excited you mentioned them by name! Thank you for your valuable feedback! Just to note we did get the elevator fixed. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced while we had our vendor work on that.

We hope to see you again should you return to Philadelphia. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My family (2 adults and 2 teenage girls) has a good experience with this hotel. The location is great. Very close (walking distance) to most everything. There is even a shuttle that will take you places that are a bit further away. Check in was fast, easy and very friendly. The room was clean and large. The room came with a beautiful night time view of the Ben Franklin bridge. It had everything we needed. The only thing missing was a fridge but I guess that was my fault for not checking before hand. The room was cleaned daily. Towels were always on short supply though. We did have an issue with the elevator. There are only two elevators in the hotel and when we got there one was not working. Four days later when we left it was still not working. We were on the sixth floor so not much of a problem for us as we used the stairs a few times. The walls are also very think. If that is an issue for you be careful. We didn't have an issue in the evening as we fell asleep quickly and didn't hear much after that. Breakfast was fine. They had cereal, pancakes made with a clever machine and premade cheese omelets. Overall for what we paid the hotel far exceeded our expectations. We also had an issue on one night and we needed to get to a hospital. When we asked at the front desk about one hospital she quickly directed us to a much better hospital and an even closer one. Thank you so much for that.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a view of the river and the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAAmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear AAAmom3,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We value all our guest comments and appreciate them! We are happy that we were able to assist with the hospital referral. We hope that everything worked out okay with that visit.

We are grateful for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again should you return to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a good experience with this hotel. It had some things missing and some things missing the mark, but it was definitely a great place to stay.

The Pros
- Decent sized rooms. We had a pretty good and clean room. No complaints. We stayed for four nights and I didn't even need to ask for a room facing the river (you don't want to be facing the highway on the other side of the building).
- Free Breakfast. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. It would be constantly re-filled when things would run out and it had plenty of things to choose from. It goes from 6:30 to 9:30, but it's worth getting up to get to this breakfast.
- Shuttle Service. If you need a shuttle to get to downtown, the hotel provides one for you between certain hours. Mind you, we never took advantage of this service. Philly is a walking city and the best way to experience it is by walking. We would walk from the hotel to the core of downtown in 20 minutes.
- Safe place to stay, good neighbourhood and monitored parking and building around the clock.

The Cons
- Parking is $25 a day. Highly expensive for a hotel not located in downtown.
- Our room didn't have a fridge.
- Upon arrival, there are no city maps or tourist destination maps/brochures anywhere on display...I would have to say, this is the first hotel that I've ever seen that didn't have any of these. The lady at the front desk couldn't provide us one, so we had to bump into what seemed to be the manager of the hotel to find one (even he had to scramble to find something).
- The cleaning ladies are loud in the mornings, slamming doors and making a lot of noise that would easily wake up light sleepers.
- One of the elevators didn't work during our stay. It can be a long wait during breakfast hours to get up and down.
- The WiFi wasn't very high-speed, streaming a video from YouTube would cause some delays from time to time.

Overall though, I would recommend this hotel. It's not located in downtown Philadelphia, but it's only a 20-30 minute walk away (depending on your walking level, or if you choose to shuttle/taxi/drive there), and it's hardly an inconvenience at all. The rooms are clean, free breakfast, good price, and the beds were very comfortable to sleep on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bane0584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Branimirm84,

Thank you for shring your recent experience. I will definitely share your comments with the Management Team and the Hotel Staff. With your valued comments we can clearly identify area's where we could do better. So thank you for taking the time to pin-point some areas that we can start working on right away!

We hope that you would stay with us again for your next trip to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2001 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £93 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing