We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, but noisy, impressively poor customer service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice room, but noisy, impressively poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Pro:
Corner room was modern and spacious.
Hotel is within walking distance of Olde Towne, downtown and the river.

Con:
The hotel is beside a freeway. Rooms facing the freeway are very noisy, even with the fan on. Bring earplugs.

Front desk staff were neither friendly nor welcoming (at checkin or checkout) - granted this could have been because of the snowstorm, which would make anyone grumpy. On checkin, I asked the front desk clerk if she would add my IHG Rewards number to the reservation and she assured me she would; this was not done.

I stayed there for 3 nights. On the first day, my room was not vacuumed and the bathroom not cleaned (all housekeeping did was make the bed and exchange towels). On the second day, I received no housekeeping at all. When I went down to the front desk and asked what was going on, I was told that for stays of more than one night, they will make the bed and change towels but it is up to the housekeeper to decide whether to do anything more than that. (For the record, I am the kind of person who "tidies up for the maid" and always leaves a tip, so this was pretty frustrating.) There was no apology at all from the front desk person for this oversight nor, on the day I received no housekeeping, any offer to send up clean towels. (I did receive a sincere apology from the Head of Housekeeping when I talked with her the following day.)

I'm not a hard guy to impress and I don't expect you to bend over backwards, but I do ask for an apology if you screwed up. This is one of the few hotels I've stayed at where I wouldn't want to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doggone31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear dogone31,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in January. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize you were disappointed with your stay. We will take your comments to review with our team as we continually work to improve our guest experience through service and accommodations. We hope you would consider staying with us again in the future so we may better demostrate our committment to your satisfaction.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    278
    103
    44
    25
See reviews for
217
182
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here 2 nights for a function my daughter was attending. Got a great price, easily the least expensive hotel I could find in the Philly area. The staff was great...our room was ready early, though we had to take highway side instead of the river view I wanted, but was glad they could accommodate our early arrival! Also, the first room she gave us smelled like smoke as soon as we walked in, but the front desk was very apologetic and gave us a new one immediately.

The room itself was very clean, no complaints there. BE AWARE there is a good deal of highway noise...it doesn't bother me, but if you need quieter, ask for a river side room. Pretty sure you will still get some road noise, but probably a little less than being right on the highway.

It was VERY busy while we were there, lots of various groups...weddings, tournaments, etc. So the fact that there was only ONE working elevator (in a 10 floor hotel) was frustrating at times. The staff had hung up a sign saying they knew it was an inconvenience and were working hard to get it fixed, but we did not see any evidence of that the weekend we were there.

The breakfast was really good, a nice selection, and the staff really worked hard to keep everything full. Great cinnamon rolls and a pancake maker, which I had never seen before! But super crowded and a very small seating area. People had to wait if they wanted to sit down to eat.

This hotel is within easy walking distance to the historical area, and the riverfront park is right across the street. My daughter needed to be at the convention center, though, and we either needed to drive or take the shuttle provided by the hotel. There is only one shuttle van, so be prepared to wait a few minutes if he is not available. It beats trying to find parking downtown, though! Parking is $25 a day, which is cheaper than a lot of places, and you can come and go as you like, they are very accommodating.

Overall, it was ok for our purposes, but I would probably choose something closer to the downtown area next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancetraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear dancetravler_13,

On behalf of our team, thank you so much for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing. We were happy to hear from you on tripadvisor and hearing that you did like our hotels accommodations. Certainly we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the elevator. It was unfortunate that we had to have a new motor installed so that did take a couple of days. We are up and running now.

Thank you so much again for your review.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week for 2 days. We were so impressed by the clerk Cindy Mccready on how great of a help she was. She went out of her way to help both me and my wife. I would really recomend staying at this location anytime your in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Bruce B,

Thank you so much for your review. We can't wait to show Cindy your comment about here when she comes into work. Cindy is a true asset to our company.

We are so glad that you had a nice stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel conveniently located within walking distance of Old Town and historic sites in Philadelphia. All of the staff were very kind, accommodating, and helpful. The rooms were updated and comfortable with great artwork and very tidy. The riverside rooms have an amazing view of the river and bridge. Generous breakfast! Has a parking lot, check for fees. There is also a free shuttle from the hotel to anywhere within a 2 mile radius which was helpful to go visit the new City Hall as well as the Reading Terminal Market (more must see spots)! The rates were great for being so close to Old Town. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: There can be noise from the highway, the riverside rooms were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear hcole2,

Thank you so much for staying at our Holiday Inn Express! We are so grateful for your warm comments. It makes our day when we receive reviews such as yours. Thank you!

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My fiancé and I went to this hotel last weekend and I have to say it was so beautiful. The fireplace as you walked into the lobby made the place warm and cozy. The room was very clean and top it off my room had a jacuzzi a few steps away from the bed. The room also had a mini fridge and tea and coffee. The view was awesome and dave and busters was right down the street from the hotel. I give this hotel 5 ☆☆☆☆☆ and I will be returning back soon. Everybody at the front desk was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Missme2014,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you had an amazing stay! That makes our day! The staff is going to be really excited when I post your review on their media board.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My experience at this hotel was a good one. The hotel is modern and nicely decorated. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I particularly enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the sunny, cheerful breakfast room. The view of the river and the bridge from our room were truly beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peachgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Peachgirl_10,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Pros: Great location (walking distance to historical sites); buffet breakfast; queen sized beds (vs. double); free shuttle to various locations; very nice staff (Cynthia- front desk; Lee- shuttle driver; Denver- food server)
Cons: only one elevator working for 10 story hotel!; very crowded breakfasts; loud noises from highway (our room faced I-95)

Room Tip: Rooms facing river would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoey0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Zoey0205,

Thank you so much for posting your review. The staff you mentioned are going to be so excited you mentioned them by name! Thank you for your valuable feedback! Just to note we did get the elevator fixed. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced while we had our vendor work on that.

We hope to see you again should you return to Philadelphia. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing