We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience, 4 stars :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This place seems to be rated 2.5 stars on many sites, but I thought it was very nice.
Plus: My room was nice & clean. They upgraded me for free to river view (cool view-I think I was room 410). Nice staff. Free breakfast. Free shuttle in the morning to my destination (I tipped). Race St Cafe nearby was good place for dinner. Fairly safe area to walk.
Minus: The road noise was fairly loud, &could hear neighboring room a little louder than I'd prefer.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bingersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Bingersgirl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We love that you gave us 4 stars! We really appreciate it.

It's great to hear when our guests have a nice stay. Thank you so much again for providing your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon. Have a great summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We usually prefer to stay in the middle of the city, but this was the only place available. It was a very busy week with the hotel sold out and the front desk staff handled everything quickly, efficiently and courteously. We had a late night problem with the ac unit that Ken fixed for us right away. It's just a few blocks walk to the Independence Hall area where you can pick up a double decker hop-on/off shuttle that takes you to all the sights. The room was clean and we had a nice view. Best of all, I thought our wonderful weekend was ruined when I got home and realized I left $300 in the room safe! I called in a panic and they got back to me the next day with the good news that they retrieved it and would be mailing me a check since I live a little too far to go back and pick it up. Only complaint is that housekeeping didn't do our room one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puffkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear puffkitty,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our great city of Brotherly Love! We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced that your room was not refreshed that day.

We hope that should you return to Philadelphia you would stay with us again! Enjoy your summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was a fine HIE. Nothing bad, nothing great. It just kinda was.

There wasn't a fridge, which was disappointing. The staff ranged from very good to meh. On the very good end, we were aided in a laundry situation caused by our infant. On the meh, housekeeping just didn't show up one day.

Penn's Landing felt like Gretchen Wieners trying to make fetch happen in Mean Girls. Penn's Landing is dotted with large investments, but most of it just isn't happening. You're about a mile away from most historic things and farther from some of the other tourist stuff.

Room Tip: Watch out for the freeway side if you need quiet to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback. Rest assured that we will discuss your comments with our Managent team.

We hope that you would give us another try should you return to Philadelphia. Have a great summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I am currently having an excellent experience at this hotel for the second time. Unfortunately, I come when my grandfather needs to be in the hospital, and they have always given me an EXTREMELY reasonable rate. From the shuttle drivers Ken and Brian, to the manager Nick, and front staff Cynthia, I have been taken care of completely. Thank you very much everyone!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Elissa T,

Thank you so much for staying at our Holiday Inn Express. We are so glad to hear that the staff took care of your needs and you enjoyed your stay. It really makes our day!

Have a great summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great place to stay. Here for a regatta on a very wet weekend and the hotel was extremely accommodating, especially the laundry man Ken who was very helpful when our team's uniforms needed to be dried. We left the hotel the next morning with crisp, dry uniforms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Hannah M,

Thank you so much for staying at our Holiday Inn Express. We are honored that our hotel was involved for lodging for such a great event!

Ken is going to be really excited when he reads that you mentioned him by name. He is a true asset to our company and it makes me proud that he assisted in the way he did.

We hope to see you again next year! Until then, much luck to the team and have a great summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

As HIE go, this is nothing extraordinary. Made a good base for exploring the city. Some great restaurants near (check out The Continental) for dinner. No fridge, which was a surprise. Tip-room 217 is next to the fitness room so unless you'll be in there, you may want to move. Shuttle seemed to operate bizarre hours?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rosamund_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Rosamund_bone,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated your feedback. Our goal is for our guests to feel at home and have a great time while visiting Philadelphia. There's nothing more rewarding then seeing a guest smile.

We are going to review what you have mentioned. Thank you so much again for your valuable feedback!

We hope that should you return to Philadelphia you would stay with us so you can provide another helpful review.

Until then, have a great summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel was okay. I think it was older and they've updated most of it, but you can still see the age. The room was good-sized, but no fridge-kind of surprising- I wasn't happy about that. The nighttime front-desk guys were great and gave great cheesesteak advice.

The awesome thing is the view! Make sure to get a riverview room, you will get an outstanding view of the Ben Franklin Bridge and it is stunning!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $$ for the riverview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Carol H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed the riverside room. Also that you had the chance to enjoy one of Philadelphia's well-known cheesesteaks!

We hope that you would come back and visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £100 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing