We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little trendy area”
Review of Manayunk

Manayunk
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.00*
and up
Philadelphia Iconic Foods Tour
Ranked #93 of 448 things to do in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Riverside neighborhood with many shops and boutiques.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great little trendy area”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I visited this place by chance one day on my way to the movies.it was trendy because of all the folk art and mosaics driving down the street thru this town. I stopped to take lots of pics of the town and also to get my Starbucks latte. It had lots of unique shops too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    54
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Making a comeback”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I lived in Roxborough for a short time. Manayunk was within walking distance and a great place to browse on a Saturday afternoon. It gets crowded at night which is not fun for residents just trying to get around. Parking is beyond crazy on Friday and Saturday night. Overall, a nice place for the younger crowd to live and frequent. I personally would not want to live in that area again.

Helpful?
Thank JamesCindyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conshohocken
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Refurbishing”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Used to work at a media facility located in Manayunk when it was first getting it's face lift. There are a lot of shops and restaurants to stop in and eat with all your purchases. The medial business is no longer there, but the town is booming. Come and take a stroll down its streets or sit by the canal. Close to Philly and 76.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“great little hipster enclave”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The main street in Manayunk is vibrant with high-end consignment shops, bakeries, fine furniture stores, cycling shops, and cafés galore. There is plenty of parking in pay lots just off the main road ($5), and a long pedestrian tow path along the old canal. The architecture is largely 19th century stone, with charming reclaimed industrial mills turned into condos and stores. The town is perfect for cycling (there were so many cyclists I mistakenly thought there was some kind of rally) and walking. But really it is ideal for dining al fresco at any number of appealing restaurants and cafés. The GF and I wound up at the Manayunk Brew Pub, at a table overlooking the river. Fish tacos with mango slaw and a Belgian triple made a perfect lunch. I'm looking forward to going back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ProfessorSDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deptford, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hip neighborhood in Philly”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Lots of bars and resaurants. Street fairs are often held. MOst famous for the so-called "Wall" a painful incline for cyclist in the annual pro bicycle tour, held each June and running through Manayunk

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manayunk also viewed

 

Been to Manayunk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing