We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Walk down history! Even as non-Americans, we loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Independence National Historical Park

Independence National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.00*
and up
Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #7 of 426 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most famous square miles in the United States, the park is home to the Liberty Bell, the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and Independence Hall.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
228 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Walk down history! Even as non-Americans, we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The Independence National Historic Park is what defines Philadelphia. It's a pretty compact area and without crowds, could easily be done in half a day! Please get your tickets to the Independence hall in advance (we were ok getting it at the site because it was winter). The tours are conducted by the NP rangers with true passion and bring the place alive. The rooms are maintained in an impeccable condition and walking through those halls is like walking through time. It's a crash course in history and how! The Liberty Bell is in a separate enclosure - and what's more to tell about the famous bell than what's already been said? It's truly unfortunate that the security guards at the Liberty Bell enclosure are so rude, almost an insult to the spirit of the bell they are guarding. Leaving that aside, the Independence National Historic Park is a must-do on your visit to Philadelphia! Don't miss it!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,237
    506
    122
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Had a Great TIme, Well Worth It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went on an excursion all over Philadelphia and truly enjoyed this site. The history in Philadelphia and the preservation of it make it a destination I must return to in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeoMcNeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
480 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Slice of American History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was visiting Philadelphia and took some time to re-visit the Independence National Historical Park. It is just inspiring every time I make the visit. From the Liberty Bell to Independence Hall, it is just a fantastic time of inspiration. I have been to the largest of the museums and historic sites across the country and this is the one that gives you the goose bumps. It just never gets old!
A Great here Staff as well. Spend some extra time, You will be glad you did!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank P51rayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reserve tickets ahead of time at recreation.gov”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

You can reserve tickets for the tour of Independence Hall itself (the only part of Independence National Historical Park that requires a ticket) ahead of time at www.recreation.gov. There is a $1.50 surcharge, but it is well worth it, since timed tickets are distributed at the Visitor's Center on a first come, first served basis starting when it opens (8:30 a.m., I think) and apparently are often gone well before noon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dudleyfswaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Glad we came back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

It is always a treat to walk in the footsteps of Ben Franklin and other Continental Congress leaders and heroes. The Visitor Center, across the street from Independence Hall, is a great place to begin your journey. The short films, and the helpful Park rangers, add an extra dimention to your visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJH3827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independence National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Independence National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing