We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great design. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Philadelphia
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great design. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I was only looking for a good hotel in Philadelphia, good located and at a fair price, for a one night stay. Le Meridien has it all, together with a very professional staff, super comfy rooms and surprising design. I liked it very much. Minor issue: a small delay in collecting our luggage left in their storage at check out.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4Travel4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    410
    158
    48
    45
See reviews for
207
415
74
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The front door staff was great very helpful with my luggage. The check in went incredibly smooth and the concierge was very knowledgeable with the local area restaurants. The bar located in the lobby had really good martinis and the steak frites from the amuse restaurant was to die for. My room was a little small but very clean and neat and very quiet. My over all experience was wonderful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvanGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Ron,

Thank you for the 5 STAR review! I'm delighted you enjoyed our hotel and our concierge recommendations Unlocking Philadelphia's great dining scene. The steak frites are amazing, thanks for sharing that story!

Hope to serve you again,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel. Stayed here a few times and it is always great. Outstanding location and service. This was an old YMCA bldg that has been renovated into a modern bldg but still retains its old charm. Parking is a little expensive but self park at the convention center on Arch and basically walk across the street to the hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DocMetrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
312 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Location: The hotel is on Broad Street a block north of City Hall and its subway stop and two blocks east of Suburban Station which has Regional Rail and the trolley. Two blocks north is the Race/Vine Broad Street stop and a few blocks to the east is Independence Hall and Reading Terminal Market and the Convention Center. Chinatown is also an easy walk from here. Location wise, you cannot do much better than this hotel.

Hotel: A beautiful older building which has been renovated to take advantage of its charms. The lobby is a little confusing at first as when you walk in, you're in the bar and the check in areas are to your back left. I love the design with its wood paneled bar but open flow in the check-in area. There's also a restaurant off the lobby I didn't visit.

Check-In: I was with my brother and we had a nice agent who recognized his Gold status and offered us a drink at the bar or 250 SPG points. We were explained how the Wifi worked and sent on our way, no complaints.

Room: We had a King room on the 8th floor. My brother accidentally booked a King instead of two doubles and sadly they were unable to switch us. Still, it was really nice room with a good TV, plenty of outlets near the bed (a very comfortable bed btw), a large bathroom with excellent standup shower and a closet/mini-bar combo in the corner. My only complaints were the only trash can is in the bathroom and that the desk chair is actually pretty uncomfortable.

Other: Note: sound proofing is bad. The hotel was hosting a wedding and in the room next to us were some of the party. They got back at 6:30 and started having an animated conversation, every word of which could be heard in our room. Not the hotel's fault per se, but very frustrating nonetheless.

Our rate was $189 and I think it was well worth it for the nice room, excellent service from everyone around and the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Paradise767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent a night here with my family from Italy. We wanted to roam around Philadelphia to see everything it had to offer. It was very sleek, clean and friendly. Old with character on the outside with a modern twist on the inside. I really liked how when you would walk in it was the bar directly in front of you and then to the left off to the side was the front desk. I've never stayed at a hotel that was so modern looking. I forgot a shirt in the closet and called them back the next day and to my surprise they were very gentle about it and were able to mail it back to me pretty fast!

It's right across from city hall and love park. What more could you ask for? Great stay, comfortable beds and clean bathroom!!! Oh and there's a mini bar in the fridge : )

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serafinar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for a week for a convention. The convention center is next door so that was convenient. I didn't have much contact with the staff other than the doormen, but they were very pleasant each and every time. Check in was quick and easy.Rooms were clean. Some were larger than others. There's a nice sitting area on the 5th floor, and a decent gym.
Housekeeping did a great job.
And yes, when you walk in, there's the bar. Check in is on the left. I don't know why this makes the negative headlines on the reviews. I guess those who complain that you can't see the check in location from the front doors, have never been to vegas.
There was a slight musty smell like some have said, but after a short amount of time, you don't notice it. And it wasn't so overwhelming that you have to worry about that smell attaching to your clothes.
The location is great. There's a McDonalds on the same block, and around the corner is a 7-11.
There's a pizza joint called jakes around the corner. Good food there.
The hotel sits about a 20 min walk from the liberty bell, and a 20 minute walk the other way to the Rocky Balboa steps.
If I were to ever go back to Philly, I would probably stay here.
If you plan on using the convention center, this hotel is probably the closest. I mean, the convention center is the biggest I've ever seen, but 1 of the many entrances is across from that Jakes pizza, and it's a 20 second walk.
As far as transportation from the airport... If there's 3 or more in your group, take a cab. It's the same money (or cheaper) as taking 1 of those transport vans, and you don't have to stop at everyone elses hotel first. I think it was $32 from the airport for the 4 of us.It's a flat rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Really enjoyed the stay here. The rooms were quiet and well appointed. The decor is very chic. Gym was acceptable, not huge, but had most equipment. The location is right in the middle of almost everything downtown. Easy walks to most things you'd like to see. Bar was modern and busy. Service at the front desk and valet was top notch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#22 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Property: Le Meridien Philadelphia
Address: 1421 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-1507
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing