We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVED this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We could not have been happier with our stay at Hotel Palomar. We traveled for a two night getaway to catch a show, have a few nice meals and do a little shopping. The location was perfect. Very close to Rittenhouse Square, plenty of shopping and amazing restauraunts nearby. We capped our nights at the hotel bar where staff were friendly and had lots of good advice for local eateries and nightlife. The hotel was impeccable, clean and well designed. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to assist you. Guest Services greeted me with a "Happy Birthday" on arrival and my husband surprised me with a beautiful floral arrangement that the hotel arranged to have in our room when we arrived. Our room was just beautiful with a hot tub that looked out into the city. It was clean, very clean. You could not hear a soul from inside the room. We ordered room service for breakfast and were amazed that it was actually hot with the toast still crispy. We will likely book Kimpton again in the future based on this incredible stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2goC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Love2goC,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review! Its great to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Happy Birthday and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    550
    140
    37
    21
See reviews for
458
1,004
129
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This is a great hotel. So often design hotels are form over function, forgetting to do the basics right, whilst being too busy looking good.
This hotel, however, has no such problem. Beautifully quirky but very functional at the same time. The funkiest bathrobes ever, deep baths ( for US) excellent Internet speed. Restaurant good, front desk very friendly and efficient.
One word of warning though - watch the valet parking (a separate company I add) I had my rental vehicle dented and scratched twice in 24 hours!

Despite this small aberration the hotel itself is almost perfect, and I look forward to returning (perhaps on foot!)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear DMTM,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your recent trip. I am happy to see that you enjoyed many parts of your experience. However, I did want to apologize about the mishap with the valet parking, please know I have personally addressed this with the valet company to ensure they are much more careful in the future. If you do come back on foot you can always borrow one of our bicycles that we have available to all guests incase you're tired of walking!

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Palomar.

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
403 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed for a week at the Palomar Hotel in Philadelphia for a week during a thanksgiving trip. This Kimpton hotel is just about everything you would want in a big city hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable plus the entire staff was friendly and helpful. The location was excellent with most downtown attractions within walking distance including the Franklin Institute, City Hall, Kimmel Center for the arts, and the Rittenhouse shopping district. ( Please note that the historic Independance Hall ,the liberty bell, and US Mint are located far away on the east side of the city). Like all Kimpton hotels, the Palomar features a wine and snack reception in the lobby every afternoon at 5pm. Our snack was truffle flavored popcorn. Did I mention dog friendly? My estimate is that 10% of all the guests were accompanied by lovable and polite dogs: not unusual to see one or two canines in the lobby at all times. Be sure to register on-line for the Kimpton rewards program and you will receive free internet plus a $10 certificate to 'raid the minibar'

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear DoctorM,

What a glowing review! Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor for all future travelers. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay along with the wine hour and our very addictive popcorn prepared by Chef Guillermo Tellez.

Come back and visit again soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1senator
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Awesome hotel value. Terrific location.

Went to Phillie to visit our daughter for Thanksgiving. Palomar is closest to her house, but more importantly, close to all downtown restaurants and businesses.

Posh without pretension or formality. Retro and quirky edge without being weird. Example: Elevators contain art. One picture was of a lady during the "enlightment" period who had a white moustache drawn on her face.

Grant checked us in. Very vivacious and witty. Since we were very late, thus missing the free afternoon happy hour, he provided several free drink vouchers for the bar, along with free continental breakfast. And since we didn't have a pet, he offered to have a goldfish delivered to our room. (We declined)

Grant also upgraded our room that was larger and on an corner. The room wasn't big, but laid out well in a semi-circle so that my wife and I had adequate space to avoid stepping over one another.

Room was decorated in a tasteful, understated retro style with chrome, and black and white trim. Bed was comfortable. And the LG flat screen TV was wall-mounted (nice touch Palomar. My neck gets sore from bending down to watch low TV setup on top of furniture). TV had about 30 channels including HBO. No Comedy or AMC channels which I watch a lot.

Bathroom had modulating lights which you can adjust the intensity. Upscale lotion & shampoo. Big, fluffy towels.

Try the Giwa Korean restaurant around the corner. High rating from Zagats and quite modest in price. On 16th St behind the Palomar, Subway offers a breakfast sandwich for 99 cents.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1senator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear 1senator,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting your daughter for Turkey day! I saw your great comments about Grant and will be sure to give him a double high five for providing such great service with care and being vivacious and witty. I cant believe I didn’t know about the 99 cent breakfast sandwich at Subway till now. I am going there first thing tomorrow morning to give it a shot.

Thanks again for the great review and come back soon!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, ND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My girlfriend and I had a great time at the Palomar Hotel. We spent two nights for Thanksgiving and we were not disappointed. The room was perfectly clean and quite big. It had a nice view (we had a room quite high in the tower) and the leopard bathrobes were a nice and funny touch.
The bathroom was really nice too and spotless.
The hotel staff was extra friendly and really helpful (they got us a list of the restaurants that were open on thanksgiving night - it made our night!)

Two (very small) complaints : the soundproofing is not perfect (we could hear a dog barking on our last morning) and the valet parking is very expensive ($40 a night). There are city parkings all around the hotel so you might want to check that out... However, on Thanksgiving, most are closed!

Overall, a very nice hotel, we will come back!

Room Tip: the higher, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Christophe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Jean-Christophe G,

WOW thank you for such a fantastic review! Happy to see you and your girlfriend had such a great time over the Holiday and found the hotel to be perfectly clean.

Cant wait to welcome you guys back!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I just went to Philly on Black Friday to visit friends from college and help celebrate my girlfriends 29th birthday. We arrived after check in but our room wasn't ready so they extended us with 3 cocktail passes. The staff was all super nice/friendly. The hotel rooms was very clean and fashionable to the eyes. I really loved everything about the hotel. When ever we needed something as far as our car or questions of what was near us the staff was on it. Even after we checked out the hotel still held our luggage while we went out in search for something to eat before we hit the road. All & all i had a very wonderful experince and i hope to stay their again when I go back to Philly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTee2sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyCoulom, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
MsTee2Sweet,

Thanks for the great review! It really doesn't get much better than pure awesomeness. I'm glad to see we were able to host a great birthday weekend for your girlfriends. Hope to see you back for the 30th!

Making Birthdays Special Daily,

Kelly Coulom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I booked this hotel based on the #1 rating here and was not disappointed. I also booked this based on the modern art & decor that my girlfriend mostly appreciates. The service it great to say the least. All personnel including the valet are super friendly & helpful. Upon arrival the front desk immediately upgraded us to a King city view room from a Queen. She then upgraded us to a Spa room (although this room didn't have the best view or largest windows overlooking the Philly skyline). However, the room had a huge whirpool spa tub that we used the next morning which was phenomenal. We didn't have a chance to have dinner at the attached restaurant but did have breakfast upstairs. The food was great. The location is right next to Rittenhouse Square and really in the heart of the city, so everything is within walking distance including shops, bars & restaurants. The rates were reasonable for a Saturday and the upgraded room was an unexpected bonus. We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed on 9th floor (had a Spa room), but the view was looking South I believe. So, the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Mazzahs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a "Top Notch!" review about your stay at the Palomar. The Fuji tubs we have are a big hit and I am glad you and your girlfriend enjoyed it as well.

Hope to see you again soon and we will have to raise the bar and make it a tippidy top notch stay for you!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing