We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$281
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$273
US$219
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$263
US$213
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,689)
Filter reviews
2,689 results
Traveller rating
1,870
598
150
45
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,870
598
150
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine hourrittenhouse squaretruffle popcornspa king roomwine receptionspa tubyoga mata pet friendly hotelcomplimentary winecity viewchocolate covered strawberriesmini barcenter cityfront desk staffhigh floorvalet parkingwonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,351 - 1,356 of 2,689 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Palomar is a standard bearer for what the Kimpton organization is about - hip, friendly, forward thinking and anticipatory in their business. Thoughtfully decorated and efficiently operated, this is a place you'd want to stay. The restaurant on site is breakfast / lunch by day and bar / dining at night. 5pm happy hour is complimentary wine in the lobby (by the fireplace). Animals welcome, front staff and doormen on their game and a central location to boot. Quality bedding and a really good "vibe" make this a great place to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - windows on two sides
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truefeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Truefeedback,

Thanks for coming to stay with us here at the Palomar Philadelphia! As someone who seems to really 'get' Kimpton, I'm happy that we were able to meet the standards that you have come to expect at our hotels. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Kind regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hotel Palomar is a beautiful hotel in downtown Philadelphia. From the hotel you can walk to many of the interesting tourist spots such as the Comcast Center and Reading Market. Rooms were lovely and comfortable.
Morning coffee and some afternoon socials in their lobby made you feel at home. The staff was competent and friendly.

Hotel restaurant always seemed busy tho we chose not to eat there due to limited selections on the menu and we had friends in the area who invited us to dinner each evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puppetgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Puppetgal8,
Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad that you enyoyed our Kimpton traditions such as morning coffee and afternoon cocktails! Since you were last here, we have a brand new menu at Square 1682 that we are all really excited about, so be sure to check that out next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We loved staying at the Palomar. The service was wonderful, the staff was first-rate, the restaurant cuisine was excellent, and the hotel itself was comfortable and modern. We really enjoyed the wine reception on such a cold, November night and the room was quiet and comfortable. Plus, it was a great location in Philadelphia! Everything was great at the Palomar and we will recommend it to others and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacksclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear stacksclan,

We appreciate your review and recommendations. We just started serving Hot Toddies at wine hour for the winter months. Come back and see us soon!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Palomar is truly a diamond in the Kimpton chain. Service was outstanding, the minute we pulled up to the curb we were made to feel welcomed and appreciated. We actually stayed three nights at the Palomar while visiting Philly, our rooms was modern comfortable and really spacious for the price. We loved the hot tub shower combination which had a breathtaking view of the city. The front desk made checking in a breeze, the on duty desk clerk was friendly, informative and never seemed to be put out for anything you needed or requested. This is truly a 5 star hotel with all the service and attitude of such. The Restaurant square 1682, Sable Kitchen serves very interesting, flavorful food. I highly recommend the Amish Chicken it was great for a dinner selection. We loved the downtown location, easy to moderate walking to most restaurants, and the Philadelphia theatre district. When in Philly select the Palomar!!!!

Room Tip: Really just about any room is great, but ask for one higher with a view..
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Timothy V,

Thanks for continuing to stay with Kimpton Hotels. We appreciate your feedback on both the Hotel and Restaurant and can't wait to have you back for another visit.

Best,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

As a dog lover, I was so excited to finally stay in a Kimpton hotel. Everyone who loves dogs (and travel) as much as I do raves about this group of luxury hotels.

Unfortunately, I was extremely underwhelmed.

Prior to arrival, I had requested the VIP package for our dog. When we arrived at our room, there was no such promised package. Furthermore, when I requested a couple of dog bowls for food and water, I had to wait 15 minutes before a man came up to my room to say they only had one bowl left. "Sorry," he said.

As a hotel that I trusted to make my dog feel welcome, I was so disappointed. I was hoping to make Kimpton hotels a "must," but with this mind of treatment, I simply can't recommend this hotel, especially for those traveling with dogs.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Margaret B,

Your review is upsetting as we do promise to deliver a much better experience than what you've described. Thanks for the feedback though, we'll certainly examine our current process and make improvements where necessary. Thank you for staying.

Kind Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews