We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights to attend the New Year's Mummers parade. Everyone was extremely friendly right from the valet, doorman, front desk clerks, to housekeeping and wait staff in the restaurant. The room was small but had all we needed including two animal print robes which were a nice touch. The lamps had dimmers, there was an umbrella in the closet and plenty of plugs waist high for our electronics. The room was super clean and comfortable.
We LOVED the free wine hour between 5 and 6 and took advantage each night. The lobby/living room was beautifully decorated and also had free coffee, water and hot chocolate all day. The hotel also has rooms for dogs and we saw a number of very well behaved dogs in the lobby area.
The most impressive thing about our stay was during the wine hour on New Years Day. I was lamenting the fact that since I was out of town, I wasn't going to be able to have my "Good Luck" New Years lentils which has been a tradition for about 25 years. John Clarke the service manager who was serving the wine that evening overheard me and within 15 minutes I had a bowl of lentils delivered to me at my seat by George, the sous chef. Talk about going the extra mile for your guests. I felt so grateful and I so appreciated these wonderful employees of this hotel going the extra mile. Unbelievable service!!!!!!!
If we are ever coming to Philadelphia again or any city that has a Kimpton hotel, we will be staying again and perhaps even bring our doggie.
Thank you Hotel Palomar for your exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylviafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Sylviafly,

Thanks for sharing such a great story! We appreciate you selecting us as your home over New Years! Thanks for the awesome review.

See you next year,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 2,621 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Is a beautiful room, comfortable bed, nice view. Love the spa tub!! Very attentive staff. Have stayed here more than once. The lobby is just lovely and served hot chocolate on a cold night. Look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Sabrina813,

Thanks for continuing to come back! Sure could use a hot chocolate today! Come back and see us soon.

Until then,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Palomar 12/25/13 - 12/31/13 . This was one of our favorite hotels we have ever stayed in. The location downtown Philly, the staff, the happy hour, the rooms with a view and very comfy beds with feather pillows made this a wonderful vacation. The Liberty bell , museums , churches , Love Park sign and Reading terminal market are just a start to the many things to do in Philly. We highly recommend staying at the Palomar if you go.

Room Tip: Choose a room with city view ours was 2004
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooper204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Cooper204,

Thanks for spending the holidays with us! We're thrilled to read that you enjoyed both the neighborhood and hotel. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We went to Philadelphia for a few days to do a little site seeing. We chose the Palomar as it was centrally located and we like Kimpton Hotels. The Pluses - good restaurant/bar, nicely decorated, decent size rooms, staff very attentive, complimentary wine reception, Hot Chocolate bar all day, great location in middle of town. Negatives - didn't know it was a dog friendly hotel, and have allergies. Tons of dogs. Beds weren't super comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Andrew M,

Thanks for staying! We appreciate your business and this review. Hope to see you again during your next visit. All Kimpton Hotels are pet friendly but you can always request a pet free floor!

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I went to Philadelphia for a few days after Christmas. We are Kimpton In-Touch members and there was a special deal on the rooms in the Palomar so we decided to check it out. We were warmly greeted by the staff and when I asked Danita at the front desk about getting an in-room massage, she very graciously arranged all the details. The location of the hotel can't be beat. It's close to shopping, great restaurants, and not too far from museums and historical sights. Our room was lovely and very clean. On the last day of our stay, we checked out but were able to leave our bags with the bell staff while we continued our exploration of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katchickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Katchickb,

Thanks for the great review. So awesome to see were able to relax after the Holiday. Keep a look out for those great Kimpton ITouch deals!

See you soon,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stylish in the Kimpton Hotels way, and in a great location, this place is truly fun, for a romantic getaway kind of visit. Probably not as good for business or family. I understan the other reviews that say the rooms were average. I think the Kimpton idea is like going to Paris: if you are focused on the room, or spending much time in the room, then you're doing it wrong! I take this as a fun and stylish place to use as a walking base for doing other stuff in Philadelphia. And I love the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pastaman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Pastaman8,

Thanks for hanging with us during your visit to the city of brotherly love. Happy to see you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the city. See you again next time.

Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had booked two hotel rooms for an overnight stay for 12/28/13. We arrived at 2:30 p.m. Check in is at 3:00. We left our bags and came back at 3:15 and the room was still not ready and they could not tell us when it would be ready. The room was not ready until about 4:15. We needed to change clothes, have dinner and be at a show by 7:00 p.m. Our trip felt rushed due to the rooms not being available. After I repeatedly asked what they would do to compensate me, they first offered me a "down-sized" room. The manager came out and offered us breakfast but gave us the excuse that some of their workers called out. When coming back to the hotel to sleep later that night, there is a door in front of two hotel rooms. We could not get into our room because the door was locked. My boyfriend had to go down 21 flights to have someone come up and unlock the door that has no reason to be there or should there be a lock on it. The room itself was nice but only staying one night and not having the room ready is unacceptable. The staff seems to be very unsure of themselves.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CindyS908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear CindyS908,

I'm so sorry that your room was not ready causing the trip to feel rushed. We do try hard to always fulfill our promised arrival time but due to unforeseen circumstances we were unable to. Please feel welcome to contact me directly next time you're in town.

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,358 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,543 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £133 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing