We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel To Visit Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Terrific location, comfortable, warm and inviting staff. Dog friendly. No pool though.

Staff friendly and good restaurant recommendations in the area. Visit the Franklin Institute if you have time. Short cab ride away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Marcia G,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Glad to see you enjoyed your time with us and ate well! Hopefully we'll see you for another family getaway soon.

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,580)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,207 of 2,580 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Spent a weekend with friends to enjoy pre-Christmas festivities in Philly. Greeted in the lobby by Santa and happy dogs getting their pictures taken. Hotel is fantastic and enjoyed everything about it. This was a fun place to hang out this time of year. Only gripe was noise from street. Screaming maniacs outside at 2:00 am when bars let out. We were on high floor but still heard the noise.

Room Tip: Room in back of hotel might be quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zingland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Zingland,

Sounds like you hit us up during Santa Paws! It's an event that happens every year before Christmas when the pets of our guests and neighbors have a photo op with Santa. So sorry about the late night street noise but pleased to see you enjoyed your time overall.

Kind Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here with a few girlfriends fro a bridal party celebration. Everyone loved the boutique feel of the hotel - very clean, warm, and welcoming. I travel on business a few times a year and will definitely look for other Kimpton Hotels to stay at. if they are like this one, it will make business travelling a bit more pleasurable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMDani_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

DMDani_123,

Thanks for celebrating with us! Don't forget to sign up for Kimpton In Touch before your next stay so you can take advantage of the great benefits during your business travel. We appreciate your loyalty!

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the first few days of January for a conference. In every single interaction we had with anyone of the staff, they were incredibly nice and helpful. They also provided very personal service in that they recognized us and remembered things we told them. And when I got stuck for more days than I had planned due to the whole polar vortex flight cancellation mess, they were very accommodating and helpful when I had stay longer than I had originally planned. I want to thank all of the staff at Hotel Palomar for making our stay as enjoyable as possible (we were there for work and free time was not part of our schedule…)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xprncd_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

xprncd_trvlr,

This whole winter feels like a polar vortex! We're happy to read you felt comfortable in our home during what could have been a stressful time. Hopefully we'll see you for some free time fun in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I've been staying at the Palomar in Philadelphia since it first opened a few years ago. I travel to Philly for work often, and this place quickly became my favorite. The rooms are small but very comfortable, and the bathrooms are relatively large. The feeling throughout is funky and modern, and the restaurant/bar is great. But the best part of the hotel is the staff--always friendly, always helpful. They seem to genuinely care. I've stayed there dozens of times and I've never had a bad experience. I've stayed in most of the downtown hotels, including the Ritz-Carlton and Four Seasons, but this is my top choice.

Room Tip: City view rooms are nice. It's worth a few extra bucks.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Erik C,

We try our best to make your night away from home as comfortable as possible. Thank you for continuing to stay with us and for sharing such an awesome review.

See you again soon,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Palomar for one night on the 27th December with a Queen City View room. The room was impeccably clean and the staff at the hotel were so friendly. The free hot chocolate bar in reception the next morning was a lovely touch too! I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Victoria M,

Glad to see you had the opportunity to enjoy both the room and the city. The hot chocolate certainly does the trick during these cold days!

Thanks for the great review,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I love this hotel. It is a small, boutique hotel whose staff treats each customer with individualized and special attention. Every couple of months, my husband and I will get a room here even though we live right outside the city. Eighteen hours in this hotel makes you feel like you have been away from the kids for a week! One of the first times we stayed here, my husband and I were given a complimentary bottle of champagne when the staff found out that it was a special getaway without the kids. I have been smitten with this hotel ever since. I highly recommend this hotel for service, atmosphere, comfort, and affordability. Have fun!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Caroline C,

Thanks for continuing to "staycation" with us! We're happy to hear you feel refreshed after a visit to us. We can't wait to welcome you back for your next special occasion.

Best,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,296 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 87 in Philadelphia
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,275 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £149 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing