We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed at the Palomar for a night on business and found it excellent. I arrived just as the wine hour was finishing (knowing nothing about it) but was given a voucher to get a glass of wine from the bar - just what I needed having trudged through the snow and biting cold to get there.

The room was very well appointed and as it was a corner room I had fantastic views. The desk was ideal to work at and by joining the loyalty program I had free (fast) wifi and a $10 voucher for the minibar.

The staff I met were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicnMix_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Picn_mix13,

Thank you for the excellent feedback! I'm thrilled to read you received such a warm welcome despite the outside temperature. Please come back for another visit soon. We'll be waiting with a glass of red!

Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,747
    558
    141
    37
    22
See reviews for
466
1,016
131
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a short business trip to Philadelphia. Kimpton hotels have a good reputation for customer service and you get nothing less here. Rooms are very clean and decent size for the money. Walking distance to the Museum of Art and close to the train station as mentioned in other reviews. Sign up for the rewards program and you recieve free internet and a $10 mini bar credit :)

Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngmeckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Ngmeckley,

Glad to hear you had the chance to take in some of the sites during your recent business trip. We are in such a great neighborhood, you've got to have at least a little fun! Thank you for selecting our Hotel as your home away from home. Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel which was a first for me for the Kimptom chain. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel was nicely decorated as were the rooms. The location was fantastic- easy access to trains, restaurants, sites, etc.

I travel a lot and always make sure the hotel I stay has workout facilities. The facilities here were OK- the attachments to use the Precor machine were missing so it was unusable. I would recommend that the staff get foam rollers for stretching as us road warriors like to loosen up our muscle! I do plan on returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the alley as dumpsters are located there and garbage trucks made noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadwarriorTM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
RoadwarriorTM21,

We know that as a road warrior you have many Hotels to compare us to. That being said, we appreciate your review and recommendation. Please know that the fitness center upgrades you mentioned are in the works! Can't wait to have you back!

Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great location very near Rittenhouse Square. Walking distance to Philadelphia Museum of Art and the Independence Hall/Liberty Bell/Constitution Museum area. Tons of great restaurants, bars, shopping and sites nearby. Walking distance from SEPTA train (can take from airport).

Very nice hotel with great staff. Hot chocolate in mornings and afternoon. Wine tasting each night at 5pm. Very comfortable beds and rooms. Plenty of room and storage.

Make sure to join Kimpton InTouch to get free wifi.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear KarlSF,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the neighborhood has to offer. We appreciate your recommendation and can't wait to have you back!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here in January for 2 nights over MLK weekend and I didn't want to leave.
What a wonderful hotel and even more fabulous staff. The lobby was beautiful with a roaring fire and complimentary hot chocolate.
Each night they did a wine social in the same lobby at 5 pm and we'd hurry back from our sightseeing not to miss it. There was white and red wine plus a hot chocolate (cider the other evening) made with their infused bourbon. So fun.
Our room was beautiful. We didn't have a view at all (faced another building) but the room was lovely and the bed comfy. Great bathroom and robes, shampoos etc.
What makes this hotel stand out is the staff. EVERYONE was so accommodating and friendly. On the second day hubby went down to get his complimentary coffee from the lobby but on a weekday it had already ended. The staff says no problem well send a coffee machine to your room.
A while later we got a call apologizing that all the coffee makers were out so they sent us a free pot of coffee from the restaurant. So very sweet!!!
Location of this hotel is perfect for getting all around center city, rittenhouse and old town. Restaurants and bars are all close by.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view but it was super peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britgirl_dallas_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Britgirl_dallas_72,

I'm thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your weekend with us. It's certainly been chilly out lately, hopefully the hot coco and the cider kept you warm! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
892 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Kimpton always delivers value for your dollar. They are professional and helpful. I missed wine hour one night and they gave me a card for a free drink in the bar. This room was quite comfortable an even though in an older building was quite quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
tfizzle,

It is always a pleasure to have you! Thanks for your continued loyalty. We look forward to seeing you for many future glasses of wine!

Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Terrific location, comfortable, warm and inviting staff. Dog friendly. No pool though.

Staff friendly and good restaurant recommendations in the area. Visit the Franklin Institute if you have time. Short cab ride away.

Green Features: The usual.... leave fresh towels on racks, used towels on the floor.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Marcia G,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Glad to see you enjoyed your time with us and ate well! Hopefully we'll see you for another family getaway soon.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,201 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing