We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top floors are super quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top floors are super quiet”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed her for 2 nights on a business trip and loved how quiet the room was.

Coffee/Tea: nothing in the room - bummer :(
Fitness Center: not very large but good equipment
On Site Restaurant: slow service with very little staff attention
Bed: super comfortable
Shower: ouch! way too sharp and pounding.
Towels: nice & soft

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Erica G,

Thanks for the concise feedback. Next time, give us a ring and we'll send a coffee maker right up to the room. Glad to see you slept well and enjoyed the room!

Cheers,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,768
    567
    143
    39
    22
See reviews for
473
1,032
132
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The door men had dog treats and were sooo helpful unloading and loading the car. The room was extremely clean and there were very nice Bigelow soaps from Bath & Body! The room was ready ahead of time by request and the concierge, Ariella arranged to have someone check on our pups while we went to the Flyers game- free of charge! I was anticipating a $30/hr charge for the game but was able to avoid it! We registered for the InTouch program and were able to enjoy fresh orange juice, water and a few other natural goodies from the minibar (blueberry acai gummy pandas!). They give you a $10 credit when you sign up for free. : )) We left very satisfied and will return next time we visit Philly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Jennifer C,

Thanks for staying with us during your night on the town. Great to see that Ariella was able to set up your stay nicely. I'll be sure to pass along your kudos to her! See you next time!

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was my first time to Philadelphia and it was COLD! I was able to check in early, which was a relief, and when I went back downstairs to go do some sightseeing, I noticed what appeared to be a coffeepot with several little canisters. I went over to see what they were, and realized it was hot chocolate in the pot, and the canisters had crushed peppermint, marshmallows, crushed Oreos, and there was also a bowl of delicious whipped cream! That was just what I needed to help endure the cold and get me moving out the door!
This hotel's locations is great - it's just SW of City Hall a few blocks, so it's easy to get here from several SEPTA stations, and you can to tons of restaurants & shops.
The front desk is always very helpful, the hotel always smells really good, and I loved my corner room. It was on one of the highest floors and I had a great view to the west. The bed and pillows were wonderful and I couldn't resist taking a little nap.
This hotel has a lot of cool art, from the lobby to the elevators to the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadic-homebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Nomadic-homebody,

So awesome to hear you were able to enjoy your stay despite the cold weather! Can't believe it myself, but we've got one more snow storm heading this way! Hot Chocolate will be out until April 1rst. After that, look out for a special summer afternoon delight! Hope to see you again in the warmer months.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location if you want to walk around and explore a bit. Loved the overall decor and vibe of the hotel. Rooms/bed were very comfortable and loved the bathroom.

The walls could use some sound proofing. Our neighbors were noisy on our first night, and when we expressed concern to the front desk (requesting a room change if they were staying another night!) they offered us breakfast on them. They handled it well.

Good food in the restaurant. We had a drink there that night as well, drink menu was interesting and it was a nice place to lounge.

If we go back to Philly we would, without a doubt, stay at the Palomar again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsZ1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear MrsZ1012,

Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home for your trip to Philly! Glad to see you enjoyed your visit in the city. We appreciate your feedback and can't wait to have you back!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have stayed at a few 5 star hotels in Philadelphia over the years and recently decided to try the Palomar. The wonderful staff, the location near Rittenhouse Square, the ambiance, and the reasonable room prices made this a 5 star experience for us. I was celebrating my birthday and was welcomed and wished Happy Birthday by many of the staff and was pleasantly surprised to find two huge and delicious cupcakes waiting in our room upon arrival. We had drinks on Friday night in Square 1682 and brunch there on Saturday morning. The food was excellent and both of our servers were personable and efficient. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountaineer1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Mountaineer1965,

And we're so much more fun than those guys too! Thank you for the wonderful comparision, it's the best compliment we can get. Please come back and see us next time you are in town.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Palomar for a getaway weekend. Wow! The staff was fantastic! From the staff at the front door, the front desk, and the housekeeping staff were all helpful and happy people. Made us feel great. The wine every afternoon was awesome! We walked in the front door and checked in after a long road trip and were handed a glass of wine! What a great way to unwind! We loved the room. It was clean and had everything we wanted. The hotel asks if you have any special requests and they make it happen! Great stay. I will be going there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Marty B,

Thanks for sleeping with us! We're happy to see you enjoyed your visit and can't wait to have you back!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Last Saturday evening encountered a very rude female staff at the hotel lobby during the happy hour. Dark hair in pony tail, with dark frame glasses.

It's a shame because the hotel is pretty nice and most staff are friendly. The bad experience is like a fly in the champagne glass that ruins the whole stay.

Very surprised such person with no basic customer service training was working at the front, especially at a Kimpton hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Pinkbe,

This is so unlike us. Please accept my sincerest apologies. To be honest, the description of the staff member doesn't ring any bells. Could you please contact me directly? I'd like to get some additional details on your experience so I may best follow up with you and the team.

Thank you,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,057 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,273 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing