We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, Professionally Run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convenient, Professionally Run”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Classic city Kimpton property. It's in a skinny old building near Chestnut, Market, Rittenhouse. Lots of very good restaurants nearby and walking distance to business area on Market, so a terrific location. The lobby is very small but tasteful. Rooms are also small and quirky in the typical Kimpton style. Bed takes up most of the room but is comfortable, traditional bath/shower. Everything is tastefully done and the service is gracious. They do a nice little wine hour in the afternoon in the lobby. It is exactly what you would expect from this brand.

Room Tip: It's a busy area in the city so there is noise in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Ira R,

Im pleased to see we lived up to your expectations. We are in a wonderful neighborhood surrounding by the city's best shops and restaurants. Thanks for your great comments.

Cheers,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,745
    557
    141
    37
    22
See reviews for
466
1,015
131
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Love this hotel. Used to stay at brand name hotel in Center City, but this is the place to stay. Has that small boutique feel. The restaurant and bar are great. Room service is awesome. Location is near other restaurants, bars, and shopping. Staff is the best. Especially Jonny, bell staff extraordinary!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trojanman42253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Trohanman42253,

We love you too! Thanks for continuing to stay with us. I'll be sure to give Johnny a big pat on the back!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, PA (native NYer)
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

my husband and i love kimpton. as a brand, they offer consistent and solid accommodations. The Palomar is no exception. When we arrived, we were greeted by the most friendly woman (I believe her name was Leslie?). She even upgraded our room at no charge, which was a nice perk! Our room was on the 17th floor on a corner with a nice view. It was very clean and perfect for the two of us. There's a hot chocolate station set up in the lobby that was really tasty. And the happy hour evenings are festive. While i've yet to find a wine i've enjoyed at one of these happy hours, the truffle popcorn was a nice touch. Breakfast room service was also rather good. The Palomar is located right in the heart of it all, central to shopping and great restaurants. As an InTouch member, you just can't beat the prices or the experience. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Purplejennybean,

We would hate for you to stay anywhere else! I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your recommendation!

See you next time,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband I stayed here on March 1 for our honeymoon weekend. From the moment we walked in, the atmosphere was friendly. The staff members were amazingly helpful and courteous. From the doorman to the front desk, to the baggage attendants and waits staff, they were all welcoming. They were always so willing to help, and were always smiling.
The room we had on the first night was a regular king which was clean and very spacious. However, we upgraded to the spa king the next day, and trust me this room was to die for, the spa didn't disappoint. Whether you want to have fun or relax get the spa king you won't regret it, go for it. What I also like about this hotel is that if you forget the small stuff, don't worry. Wether it's your tooth brush, toothpaste, nail clipper or razors, they have it all, at no extra charge, just a phone call and they'll bring you what u need.
I must also talk briefly about the Square 1682 restaurant; their service and food were great. We ordered in room service and we didn't have a long wait, the food was warm and plentiful. The breakfast was very good we added the breakfast for a dollar to our stay, it's a winner. We got a continental breakfast that included 2 pastries, a fruit bowl and coffee, tea or juice per person .We ordered additional food which I must say was not very pricey. Prices are very decent for the food and service received. By the way if you want a late night snack in your room? Try their garlic herb gourmet popcorn, so yummy.

There is just too much to say about this place. We have been to many hotels but so far this has been a win win for us.
My husband and can't wait to come back here. Well definitely be back soon for that spa king. :-)
Thanks you management for the congratulatory note and our complimentary sparkling wine on our special weekend.
Thanks to all the other members of staff for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Stacedj,

Congrats on your marriage! Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us -- it's one of our favorite things to celebrate. I'm thrilled to see you left us with such great memories. Hope to welcome you back for your first anniversary!

Cheers!
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

After a long day of traveling, being able to be welcomed at my hotel and then have fruit, nuts, and lemon infused water wating for me in my room was exactly what I needed. And having a yoga mat and a running map available to encourage good habits was even better. Like other Kimpton hotels, the desk is set up to be exactly what I need to get work done, and the rest of the room is perfect for relaxing when I'm done. And the food from room service was also outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKimikoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Runhack,

Thanks for your continued loyalty. I'm thrilled to see you found th rooms comfortable and the staff welcoming. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Location is wonderful, right in the middle of everything. The Palomar is a beautiful, lively and hip hotel, with a great vibe. Staff is warm and welcoming, and the rooms are well-appointed, although some are a bit on the small size.

Room Tip: City views are fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Runhack,

Thank you for your continued loyalty. I'm thrilled to see you found the rooms comfortable and the staff welcoming.

See you again soon,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Yet another wonderful stay at the Palomar in Philly. This was our second time here, and once again, we were thrilled with our room and service. We booked a Spa King Room, which was perfect and very quiet. The front desk was very accommodating with a very early check in. Beers, chocolate covered strawberries and cake was a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday once we came back from an all day outing. Ariella and Austin from concierge were very helpful. We will be back in May and can't wait!!! We have stayed in Kimpton hotels in NYC, BLT and PHL, and we are always VERY pleased.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edelweiss40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Edelweiss40,

You're part of the Family! Thank you for loving us as much as we love you! See you in May :)

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing