We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I am a Philly Girl at heart. My and Husband and I had to travel to Philly on business and needed a pet friendly hotel.... The Palomar was super accomodating at no extra cost! I decided to become a hotel member and will definitely be staying at the Palomar in the very near future. Thank you Palomar!

Room Tip: No pool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

RoseyNewYorkCity,

That's the best review title ever! Thanks! New York is just a hop, skip, and a jump away. Hope to see you more often!

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 2,616 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Palomar on many occasions over the years, and we just got back from what was our best stay yet. The Palomar is a refreshingly modern and trendy boutique hotel, with a spirited and attentive staff that go out of their way to make your stay great. The hotel is very well situated in the heart of Philly, with close access to all the great shops and restaurants. It has excellent amenities with many extras such as free internet, daily free morning newspaper at your door, free morning coffee, tea and fruit in lobby, the free wine reception at 5-6 pm, 'Raid the mini-bar' coupon, room specials, stylish, well appointed rooms, pet friendly, etc., etc. The cheerful, professional staff though, is what separates this hotel from many others, as they are truly concerned with making your stay a great one. Every staff member you encounter is very friendly, and ensure that everything is looked after - all without any attitude you sometimes see. From getting you into your room as quickly as possible, making restaurant recommendations and reservations (and cancelling them when you change your mind!), bringing any needed/forgotten sundry items to your room, remembering your name throughout your stay, they go way above and beyond. It makes for a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Of note for us, was the service we received from Austin at the front desk. He was extremely personable, helpful, and courteous. He welcomed us by name every time we dropped by to ask a question and ensured that everything was to our satisfaction. Even after we checked out, he was of great assistance when we called back to help us retrieve an item left in the room. He did so without hesitation and with the same attention and service as though we were still in the hotel. This was very much appreciated by us.

The Palomar is my clear choice for hotel when staying in the great city of Philadelphia. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thanks for the great stay Palomar - hope to get back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starbuck7777ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Starbuck7777ca,

We hope you're back soon too! Thanks for the great review. I'll be sure to share your comments with Austin, he is fabulous and we're lucky to have him.

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

One of the better hotel experiences we have had, and a surprising Philadelphia treasure. Staff, including at the attached restaurant (Square 1682) were warm, courteous, and effective. Room was comfortable, clean and well designed. Lobby, always busy, was welcoming and even with a crowd was easy to maneuver.
Our room included a continental breakfast – juice, coffee, fruit and bakery – for a buck extra. Pricing, when compared to other nice hotels in the city, were very reasonable.
Note, the hotel is dog friendly, so watch where you are stepping at all times. But, even that was fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJS and Gale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

RJS and Gale,

I'm thrilled to hear you found us comfortable and welcoming. Thanks for picking us as your home in Philly. Hopefully we'll see you again next time you're in town!

Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel is magnificent! From the room decor and comfort to the view and an amazingly genuine, friendly staff, we had a great time! Very centrally located. Highly recommended. Looking forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAntonioSzabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Paulszabo,

What a magnificent review! Thanks for taking the time to leave these comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to next time.

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We come to Philly some time twice a year and always stay at the Ritz Carlton with our dog- Well with late planning. Guess it was all the cold weather, we booked late to attend the Philadelphia Flower show, and the Ritz was full- Searching out we found this fabulous gem of a hotel. The hotel Palomar Philadelphia. Nothing beats the Ritz club lounge but this place is our new next go too for sure. Since we are into Architectural Design, love that the hotel Palomar Philadelphia is superiorly eco-friendly an a striking examples of Art Deco design—The hotel is in a landmark 1929 building that has been restored, and is now a gorgeous boutique hotel.

Situated in the city center and not far from the famous Rittenhouse Square. We love the boutique feel and the rooms are clean and really livable. They have great, amenities, like trendy animal print robes in ea. Room. The beds have pillow top pads and are quite comfortable. If you join Kimpton In Touch (it's entirely free), you get free Internet and preferences such as your choice of newspaper in the morning. Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is dog friendly (Love it!). They welcomed our dog with open arms- he had a blast strutting all over the place. Love, the artworks and trendy Floral Arrangements thru out made this a lavish experience by far. Great Views and everything you need and must see is in walking distance.

A complimentary manager’s reception is offered each day in the lobby, with truffle popcorn a true stand out.
And the dining at Square 1682 with American flair is on the rise - especially the breakfast, best in the city. Try it! Cheerful and accommodating wait staff. They help us start our day off, right ea. Morning. Well, the warm assorted, pastries and fresh squeeze OJ was the true winning factor. Actually I must say the entire staff is spot on and made us feel special and catered too from the valet to housekeeping. Thank you all!!

We are looking forward to staying here again for our next short stays, in Philadelphia. The City of Brotherly Love. As we got love from Hotel Palomar . If Modern and stylist is your thing- then stay here and enjoy.

Room Tip: High Corner are roomy and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Navylicious,

Wow! Such great comments to read. I'm beyond thrilled to see how welcome the staff made you feel. We appreciate you giving us a shot and are looking forward to your next visit. Can't wait to have you back.

Cheers,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful night in Hotel Palomar for Valentine's Day. Clean room, quick service, great staff, and great amentities. Decided not to opt for the room with the huge stone tub but definitely plan on going back for it one day.

The hotel is also right in center city, so close to everything. A walks away from a shop that specializes in more chocolate than you can shake a stick at and the amazing Del Friscos restaurant in what was the first Philadelphia bank.

I had an issue with a reservation made online and being double billed. When I called it was very quickly it was resolved and I was thoroughly impressed with the experience overall.

Great hotel overall. Very satisfied.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Dylan B,

You certainly have to come back for the tub experience. It's wonderful! We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to share this review.

See you soon,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I escaped the kids for a romantic overnight in Philadelphia, and I'm so glad we chose Palomar. It is a beautifully decorated and updated hotel. The service from check in to check out was excellent and all the staff were very nice. Once we were in our room, they called to see if the room was to our liking and whether we needed anything. Our room was very clean and also tastefully decorated. They knew it was my birthday weekend and there was a complimentary cupcake from Brown Betty's in our room, as well as a bottle of champagne. Nice touch! We enjoyed the complimentary wine hour (and white truffle popcorn) in the lobby, and chatted up the ladies pouring the wine as to the hot spots to go for drinks after our dinner. It is a pet friendly hotel, which I thought was interesting. I am NOT a pet person, but everyone was so friendly and pets well-behaved, that I actually enjoyed how it brought strangers into conversation in the lobby, elevator, etc. This hotel was recommended to me by a friend, and I will definitely recommend it to my friends. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Erika M,

Happy belated birthday! Thanks for the recommendation and for such an awesome review. Hope to get the chance to meet you at wine hour next time!

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,347 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,495 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £137 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing