We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Friends and I stayed at the Philly Hotel Palomar because it was near several sites that we wanted to visit. The staff was polite, friendly and made us feel welcome. Hotel parking is a bit expensive $40/night), but I suspect it's cheaper than driving around the city and paying valet parking and garage parking. I love the little touches this hotel offers guest: wine hour, lemonade and soft pretzels upon arrival. My friends loved that the hotel was pet friendly.

The next time I am in the Philly area I will consider the Hotel Palomar.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Ladyt,

Great to see we were able to add some fun touches to your weekend away! Parking in the city is certainly steep but hopefully the valet service made coming and going painless. Come back and see us soon for another fun getaway.

Cheers!
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,718
    550
    140
    36
    21
See reviews for
455
1,003
129
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I would not agree with all of the glorious reviews here; we usually stay at Sofitel across the street which always exceeds my expectations with rooms and service but it was sold out; Palomar however is just an unusual hype and I'm not certain why.
Rooms are tiny, view is non-existent, I don't event want a view but the building across literally blocks all the daylight.
Room was poorly cleaned, I'm not certain if I'm staying at one of the 'pet-friendly' rooms but there is a bit of unwanted hair on the floor, fortunately I'm able to contain my allergies.

Sunday morning called to ask for a late check-out, an extra hour is $50, two hours is $100, while I'm certain the hotel isn't fully sold.

Valet was quick to pinpoint and circle the $42 dollar parking fee; I know, kind sir, but my package includes parking.

During the checking I am told we'll place you on a high floor, excellent, I thought, I get the keys and it's a 12th fl in a 25 stories high building.

I don't care about these little things, true or not, but don't disinform the patrons.
No comment on the sleep comfort - won't be coming back. Thank you, Kimpton.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrazzorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Rrazzorr,

The team works deligently to deliver a superior product and service and it saddens me to hear you didn't experience that. I'm so sorry for the shortcomings mentioned. We will absolutely review them as we work to improve. We aim to retain all our guests and I'd love to welcome you back next time. Please reach out to me directly if I can be of any future assistance.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We've enjoyed past stays at Kimpton properties and did find much to enjoy about the Hotel Palomar. The hotel was ideally located for our family's three-day stay in Philadelphia and the whirlpool tub in our room was a hit with our family. However, we left disappointed with the hotel largely because of several small things that, taken together, diminished our overall hotel experience.

We booked a one-bedroom suite (bedroom and adjacent room with pull-out bed/couch) to accommodate our family (two parents/two kids). After an early evening check-in, we headed out to dinner with a quick stop at the front desk to request bed linens and pillows for the pull-out bed. The very friendly front desk staff told us the pull-out bed would be made up and ready for the kids upon our return. Instead, we found two sheets, a blanket, and one pillow (for two kids) upon our return to the room. We had no problem making the bed but we felt the lack of attention to this small detail to be less than the Kimpton standard.

We spent the following day touring historical Philadelphia (well worth the visit) and returned to our room at 5:30 p.m. to discover that housekeeping had missed our room entirely--the room was as we had left it that morning. We made both beds and found someone that evening to provide us with fresh towels. Again, not what we expected from a Kimpton property.

Two other items worth mentioning: First, over our three day stay, our bathroom sink was very slow to drain. We pointed it out this morning upon check-out. Secondly, during what should have been a relaxing morning work-out at the hotel fitness center, four young children (unsupervised, very loud, and under the age of 10) showed up and began climbing on the fitness equipment. Where were their parents?! To say the least, it was very disruptive to the several adults who were working out. I was not the only adult to leave prior to finishing my morning workout.

Again, the hotel location was ideal and the staff was friendly but we found the lack of execution on several fronts to be very unusual for Kimpton. It's especially ironic because we stayed at the Hotel Palomar based upon previous Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear EdVirginia,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced. They are certainly unusual for us and completely not up to standard. Your feedback has been shared with the housekeeping team as they work to iron out any holes in the system. Please contact me when you return to town. Looking forward to the opportunity to turn this experience around!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I spent a weekend at this amazing hotel with my 13 year-old twins, Christopher and Matthew. We had a great time. The staff, especially Nicki, added to our wonderful experience! I even sent them to the restaurant for dessert. They shared ice-cream and the waitress added in some free cookies. Their recommendations were great. We went to Sabrina's for french toast, Devil's Ally for burgers & fries, went to the Franklin Institute, Rittenhouse Park, Mason building, shopped, had donuts and were SPOILED by the wonderful staff!!!! The boys also enjoyed the jet tub! We're going back! I'd love to go with my husband or for a girls weekend. Or maybe with my 27 & -5 year old sons!!!! So much fun. And we got to pet all kinds of dogs. There is also a wine reception and Nicki provided my twins with soft pretzels and lemonade!!!! There is also hot popcorn. This is a must go to hotel. Promise!

Room Tip: We were in a suite on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Susan F,

Great to see Nikki was able to help create long lasting memories for you and the twins! I'll be sure to share your comments with her. You've got to come back and see us soon - no special occasion needed!

Until then,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent customer service from check-in to Check- out! Celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary & loved every moment here! Concierge send complimentary bottle of champagne! Walking distance to Everything u need, Very clean, classy, modern decor. Arielle & Austin & Kevin were the best. Thank you so much! We'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KevNRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear KevNRa,

Happy Anniversary! Thanks for celebrating with us! Let's make it a tradition!

See you next year,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in Philly for my husband's birthday. We reserved a King Spa Room. As always kimpton does it right, the whirlpool tub was HUGE and the window with a view of Philly in the bathroom was awesome. the staff left us a bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival. We were also given drink tokens to use at the hotel bar. Everybody is always so nice at kimpton hotels, that's why I continually stay with this chain.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Prutoo,

Thanks for your continued loyalty. We love welcoming you back each time. Come back and relax with us again soon.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Easy to find if you're walking from train station. Walking distance to Rittenhouse Square and tons of really cool restaurants along the way. The hotel is near many of the popular sights and attractions.

Staff is courteous and helpful with directions, calling a cab and offering suggestions of what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MISSYRN2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
MISSYRN2B,

Great to see you were able to enjoy the neighborhood. Rittenhouse Square has so much to offer, we're lucky to be in the backyard. Thanks for the feedback and great review. We hope to have you back soon.

Cheers!
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing