We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Philly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fox Point
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Philly”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great hotel, great value. You can always count on a stylish stay at a Kimpton property. From the animal print robes to the oversized tub, I felt pampered and comfortable. The adjoining restaurant had outstanding service and great food. My only gripe was the street noise at bar time. Of course, it was St. Patrick's Day weekend. : )

Room Tip: My room was on a corner and had great windows overlooking the street.
See more room tips
Green Features: All the eco-options were there! From reusing towels and sheets to glassware. Much appreciated!
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfoxpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Jenfoxpoint,

Hopefully you got to partake in a little of our St. Patrick's Day cheer! It sure is a lively day in town. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,765
    567
    143
    39
    22
See reviews for
472
1,030
132
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Often people in service industries have no idea what service is. The entire staff we encountered at the Kimpton in Philadelphia is excellently trained and have warm, friendly personalities well suited to hospitality.
When we were unexpectedly unable to acess or vehicle from the parking lot due to a fundraising walk we were given updates on how long the delay would be, our accomodations were made available for an extended time and we were offered a free breakfast while we were detained. From the valet to the front desk our situation was handled with utmost professionalism.
The hotel stay was excellent, the restaurant was a treat for breakfast with many healthy and delicious options.
The location is centrally located and the rooms were surprisingly quiet.

Green Features: Kimpton brand is known for exceptional green practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Dolores M,

It's so nice to see we were able to make a tough situation better for you. Thank you for your continued business. We do hope to see you again for your next weekend away.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This room was very comfortable. It was stylish and fun. There were nice views of the Philadelphia skyline. From the gentleman who greeted me at the front door, to the gentleman who checked me in, the hostess and waitress at the restaurant, the server who brought me the dinner I ordered, to the person who completed my check out, everyone was very courteous. The food was quite tasty too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Jessy P,

Great to see that you enjoyed, the room, people and food here with us! Thanks for sharing such awesome comments. We hope to have you back soon.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed at Kimptons properties before and we were looking for a quick getaway. Always check them first. They have good vale and they places and rooms are always unique and the staff has always been too notch. Cheers

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chifftom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Chifftom,

We appreciate you sharing the tip! There are often great last minute deals - keep a look out on our website. Hope to see you again soon!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was met with a warm welcome & given information on local culture, food & hotel perks. My room was a corner view beautiful. The decor beautiful cleanliness marvelous & In Touch Member discounts wonderful. Last but not least I like to thank Lily H Front Desk & Art Hotel Liaison for giving me the Princess feeling. I am a 4 or 5 star hotel stay caution guru & The Four Seasons was my favor Hotel Palomar is neck & neck. Thank you & I plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki5631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Kiki5631,

You are a princess! Great to see that Lily and Art were able to make you feel like one! Thanks again for visiting us and for sharing such an awesome review.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A gorgeous hotel and phenomenal team made a full schedule be a relaxing and enjoyable trip. SUCH a treat to know that you are walking into a place that will take care of you and genuinely cares about the stay you are having. And the accommodations couldn't be more comfortable; the bed & linens so luxurious.
Every encounter was appreciated and awesome - from the reservation & front desk (Ariella), the door (Art), bar (Benjamin), wine hour, coffee time - just exceptional, extraordinary people at every turn.
Plenty of room in a chic king deluxe room. Don't miss the popcorn in the evening at wine hour. Perfectly popped and divinely delicious!

Room Tip: The King Deluxe was perfect and easily enough room for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jacqui B,

I'm beyond thrilled to read that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable trip. Thanks for the shout outs to the team. I'll be sure they get the kudos! Come back and see us soon.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I visit Philadelphia every year. I don't know why I can't find an exceptional hotel here, as the city is so fantastic to visit. The staff was very friendly, and we had no issues regarding service. However, I found the room to be very lacking in luxury and enjoyment. The bed was very uncomfortable, and as soon as I saw flat, old, standard size down pillows on the King size bed I knew this hotel would not meet my expectations; I was right. The bed and bath linens were not acceptable for this class hotel. I am a clean freak and did not find the room to be more than surface scratched, which also is not acceptable for this class hotel. I cannot stand when dirty throw pillows that can't be cleaned and have been on the floor and who knows where else are put on the sheets by housekeeping on a daily basis. The bathroom was incredibly tiny and was not large enough to accommodate more than one person at a time. The room itself was also very small although the view was nice. We experienced noise issues late into the night almost nightly; it sounded like someone was playing basketball with a bowling ball?? I never solved the mystery of where the noise was coming from but suspected it was from the fitness center, as that is the floor where we were located. Once we were settled I didn't want to ask for another room, but I probably should have. The bar didn't have a great beer selection, so we went to the hotel across the street, which does have a great bar and is a fun place to sit and people watch. This is a great location, which is why I am slowly trying every hotel around trying to find a truly great one that I want to spend time in at the end of the day; sadly, the Palomar was not it. I am really puzzled by all the great reviews, as that is the information I relied on when I booked here. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank evasteigerwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Evasteigerwald,

We really hoped you'd love us. I'm so saddened to hear that we fell short. Please know that we do try to consistently deliver a superior guest experience. Should you ever find yourself back in town, please reach out. I'd like to show you that our product and service can live up to your expectations.

Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,047 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing