We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the heart of the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here during a business trip to Philly. I got a suite. The room was large and very well decorated. Check in was of course provided with the highest levels of service that is the expected at Kimpton properties. Staff always is very personable and strive to make sure your stay is excellent. The room was extremely clean, the amenities were great. Service is really first class. The vibe is energetic yet urban chic. The attached restaurant offered great cocktails that were handmade. Food was pretty good. Location is so close to Rittenhouse Square, you should go out and check out the best of Philly just down the block from the Hotel. I highly recommend this property and will return for sure. I used to stay at the Sofitel across the street and i just can't find any reason to go back there. I am totally hooked on the Kimpton Service

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Marty B,

Our great service is what set Kimpton hotels apart from the rest. There’s so much more where that came from! I am so delighted our staff provided you with world class service and I thank you for a great review and recommendation. Looking forward to have you stay with us again.

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 2,620 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

It was my fist time at this hotel. Great location in downtown Philly. The staff were "over-the-top" friendly and accommodating. They have a free-happy hour & I arrived after a long flight & the staff recommended I have a cocktail which they happily got for me while I was checking in and I took it to my room and sipped it while getting ready for my dinner.
The rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. I only had breakfast at the resturant and it was very good. Service was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on business or vacation. I plan to stay again on my next trip!!!!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to go to their free Happy hour for a nice cocktail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGGSimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear DGGSimms,

So delighted that we made a great 1st impression. Our wine hour is definitely a guest favorite! We change the selection quite often so be sure to swing by the next time you stay with us. Thanks for the feedback and recommendation!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Palomar. We've stayed there numerous times and have never had a bad experience. Love it. And the afternoon wine/ beer and morning coffee/tea in the lobby is an added bonus ;)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippiechick28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Hippiechick28,

So glad you enjoyed our nightly wine hour, morning coffee service, and pet program – all unique programs that truly make Kimpton hotels one of a kind! Thank you so much for the awesome feedback and the recommendation. We welcome you back for another great Kimpton experience!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Three out of the four stays here were business and one was personal. And all were great. Latest stay was May 2014 when I forgot my kindle in the room. The housekeeping staff found it, and they shipped it to me across country the very next day. Over the last 2 years, I haven't had a single bad experience & the hotel + staff had exceeded all expectations.

Will definitely book again every time in Philadelphia.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank SMDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear SMDAVE,

So pleased that we met your business and leisure travel needs and exceeded all your expectations. Our housekeeping team does a phenomenal job handling lost and found items so your feedback is much appreciated. We’d be honored to host you each time you are in Philly. Until next time!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was booked in this hotel for business and had no expectations. What a pleasant surprise. First off, heavy doors, good soundproofing, the rooms are QUIET. I could sleep and not be bothered by other peoples' breathing, TVs, or other activities. The staff were incredibly friendly and literally bent over backwards to help--always with a smile. Comfortable beds, good exercise facilities (not extensive but adequate). Excellent location right next to Davios Philadelphia. Joined the Kimpton rewards program and will preferentially seek out other hotels in this chain in the future. Plus the food from he restaurant was superb.

Room Tip: There are pet floors so if you are allergic like me request a nonpet floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silke805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear silke805,

So pleased to hear that we exceeding your expectations! Sleeping is an imperative part of any hotel stay and I’m glad our accommodations were comfortable and quiet for you! Our new rewards program - Kimpton Karma has many awesome benefits that will enhance your next Kimpton experience. Until next time!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The wedding party suggested this hotel and I am glad we ending up staying here. Great location, beautiful building, and lots to see and do immediately around the hotel. Everyone on the hotel staff was so friendly and very helpful when we had questions. I was very impressed with the level of service.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hengel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Hengel R,

We are glad you decided to stay with us! We are so fortunate to be in a great location and in a building with such rich history. We filled it with the best people and according to your feedback, it looks like we have a recipe for success! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment you drive up to the valet parking it feels special. Darren, the doorman, was an expert at anticipating and accommodating arrival needs. Ask for a room on a high floor; the panoramic view of historic Philadelphia is breathtaking. A great stay worth repeating!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear JDRolle R,

So delightful to hear about your experience at our hotel. One of our goals is to make sure our guest feel special & important and that our staff are engaging our guest throughout their stay. So glad that Darrin accommodated your needs and thanks again for the valuable feedback.

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,357 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,536 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £133 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing