We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Somehow it just gets better each time I stay here. And I think I've finally figured it out--it's the people who work there because they treat it, and you, as though they live there and are welcoming you to their home.

Join the free KimptonKarma rewards program and while I've never had a room I didn't enjoy, city views are pretty darned nice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    570
    145
    40
    22
See reviews for
477
1,039
133
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Palomar Hotel in May for my birthday. It was our first time at this hotel and have to say that we were very impressed with everything. The accommodations,quality and friendless of the people who work there was excellent. They went above and beyond. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will come back in the future.

Thank you for making our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greece527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for my bachelorette night! They have a wine hour which was a super nice extra. Great location for city clubbing, shopping, and eating. Lots of cabs in the area too. Beautiful decor with an organic urban contemporary feel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Everything about our hotel stay was wonderful- it started when I made the reservations. There was a discount being offered online but I wanted to book the hotel over the phone. When I spoke to the person on the phone she didn’t know about the discount but she took the time to go to the website while we were talking and was able to get me that price. She was so cheery and helpful- and was not put out by the extra work.
When we arrived to check in the hotel staff was incredibly friendly, full of smiles and made us feel welcomed immediately. I love the décor of the lobby, which is contemporary and kind of hip but also cozy. I enjoyed sitting there in the morning with coffee and in the evening for the complimentary wine and insanely delicious truffle buttered popcorn! The contemporary yet comfortable décor extends to every part of the hotel. The rooms are large, extremely clean, great linens and fluffy towels. The rooms are bright and airy and the bathrooms are also large with terrific showers.
The restaurant was excellent, good food, super friendly servers and if you like cocktails they mix inventive and well-balanced concoctions.
This was my first time to Philadelphia and starting at the Palomar set the bar high- because everyone was so great at the hotel I went out into the city feeling comfortable and friendly and that is how I found all my interactions in Philadelphia- fantastic hotel and wonderful city~
Oh I have to add I had my 9 year old nephew with me and the hotel brought a real gold fish, in a bowl, up to the room for him to enjoy during our stay- it was wonderful and he was beyond delighted. I love this hotel! I travel a far amount and wish all my hotel experiences were this good- sadly they are not- I will definitely look for other Kimpton hotels and hope that they are as lovely as the Palomar.
Final note: I have never written a review before but I enjoyed this hotel so much I wanted to share my experience~

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinsnip617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton PA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Clean, friendly and modern hotel located within 2 blocks of lovely Rittenhouse Square. Close to great restaurants and shops. Complimentary wine hour each day. So many museums and historic sites nearby. Recommend Luke's Lobster Shack for excellent lobster rolls, Dandelion Pub for authentic English fare and atmosphere, Federal Donuts for hand made donuts, coffee and fried chicken, Parc on Rittenhouse for French bistro vibe, and Franklin Mortgage, a speakeasy that makes excellent hand crafted cocktails - no food (hard to spot dark entry 3 doors down from Dandelion). Village Whiskey also serves specialty cocktail and a limited food menu. All are within 2 - 3 block walk. Spend time people watching sitting on a bench or laying on a blanket in Rittenhouse Square.

Room Tip: Request city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Palomar Philly is really well located within walking distance of all of the tourist sites. The area is very safe and there are plenty of great shops and restaurants nearby. Have a seat in Rittenhouse Square and just enjoy watching the world go by. Our room was on the 11th floor and it was very large, well appointed and very quiet. The hosted wine evening is a great way of meeting other guests and the hotel had a very mixed clientele which made for some interesting conversations. The staff were lovely and very welcoming. We loved our stay so much we are booking again for next year!
Treat yourself to Sunday brunch at Lacroix at the Rittenhouse Hotel on Rittenhouse Square .... expensive but worth every penny for a unique and delicious experience! For a cheaper option wander down to Reading Terminal Market which is open every day (note that the Amish stalls will not be open on a Sunday, though). Make sure to get a Bassett's ice cream.....yummy!

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor right next to the lifts and worried this may be noisy but we didn't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandWendy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My stay at the Palomar was excellent from the time I got out of my car, to the time that I got back in my car to leave. The location of the hotel is perfect and the staff was on top of their game. Very helpful and eager to assist. There was someone waiting in valet to take my car as soon as I arrived. They unloaded all of my luggage and took it directly to my room. Check-in and check- out were efficient and painless. The room was very clean, bed was extremely comfortable and had a nice decor. I have already recommended this hotel to friends outside of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,277 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,157 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing