We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 February 2010

The Philadelphia Palomar is the first Kimpton hotel in Philly and its a great addition. The hotel is, like other Palmoars, inredibly nice. The rooms tend to be small, but that is to be expected. More importantly, the staff is incredibly helpful, the hotel is in an excellent location in center city - close to lots of sights and tons of great restaurants, and teh ammeinities are terrific. They offer free hot chocolate in the afternoons and free wine in the evenings. An all around great hotel that really makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattR_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2010

Dear MattR_Chicago,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, and we couldn't be more pleased with your kind comments. I'm happy to see that you had such an enjoyable stay, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,458 - 2,464 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights over the Christmas holidays to visit friends and family in Philly.
Since the hotel is so very new, there were a few gliches - which we expected. Our room had no hot water so when repair was not possible, we were moved to a wonderful Suite. The rooms are modern, clean with very comfortable beds, with all necessary amenties from safe to animal print bathrobes - everything is new, therefore sparkling clean.

Personnel is friendly, welcoming, helpful to 98% - Edwin at the door is an angel.

The coffee service in the lounge in the morning is a really nice start to the day. Breakfast at the restaurant was so so but friends really enjoy dinner there - it might have just been because of the holidays ?? We didn't get the chance to try the wine hour in the evening because of all the holiday parties...

We will be staying here again because we think when all newness has played itself out, this will be the gem of Rittenhouse Square. The staff and manager take pains to make your stay perfect. They really know your name from the start and make you feel better than at home..

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Hotel Palomar is a true gem. Although it is hip and trendy hotel, the staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The Palomar staff has the "can do" mentality which most hip and trendy places lack. The service was great and the room was absolutely lovely. The Leopard print and Zebra print robes just added to the cool atmosphere. Great bedding and L'Occitane products.
There is a wonderful restaurant and bar at the hotel, if one doesn't feel like venturing far. There is a complimentary cocktail hour from 5-6pm everyday. Hotel guests actually came for cocktails, mingled with other guests, and stayed way beyond the cocktail hour. The cocktail hour was a great idea. It made all guests feel welcomed and part of a great family. The hotel is located in the Rittenhouse Square area. Lots of wonderful bars, shopping, restaurants. There is lots to do in this area of town. Everything is within walking distance.
I really experience the city of "Brotherly Love" at the Hotel Palomar.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SplendidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Stayed one night and did not want to leave! This hotel was absolutley perfect. Great location, Amazingly friendly and helpful staff, and beautifully decorated. The most stylish hotel- Contemporary, yet comfortable. Loved the bathrooms and robes!!! Pet friendly too- had the opportunity to enjoy other peoples pets. I am really hoping that my daughter goes to college in Philadelphia so I can become a regular.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rskny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I am just now booked another stay at the Palomar , I think this will be my 3rd stay. Always wonderful in every way, the staff especially.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalsintheKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This hotel was beautiful! I live close enough to Philly that day trips and nights out are reasonably easy but we wanted to stay the night in Philly for Valentine's day. After researching on TripAdvisor I decided to check out Palomar. This place made staying the night in Philly a new experience for us. The Hotel Staff was extremely friendly everyone seemed like they enjoyed working there. The decoration was modern and classy. We stayed in a city view room on the 21st floor and WOW what a view! The room had an impressive modern decoration with a very comfortable king sized bed. Supplied in the bathroom was L'Occitane bath products (good stuff!). LOCATION was a factor for me in this trip, we were one block from shopping on Walnut and very close to Rittenhouse square, actually very close to everything, a short walk to Love Park, City Hall, Broad Street, Kimmel, it was all there.
While the parking fee seemed a little steep at first ($37) We checked in at 330 pm and and did not have to move our vehicle until 5 pm the next day so thats good for 25 hours worth of parking in center city. We ate at Square 1682 the on site restaurant, while it was decorated very nice as well, the menu was a little interesting. The Hotel is pet friendly, we did not run into too many people that felt that they had to bring their dogs on vacation, honestly you would have never known that pets may have been in the hotel or are allowed.
Overall... Beautiful hotel and I would recommend this place to anyone that want to get away to the city for a hot minute.
(One tip, become a Kimpton In Touch Member even if you are staying for one night.)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

Dear Don61,
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Hotel Palomar Philadelphia. We're thrilled that you had such a great visit! I'm glad you found the location to be so convenient, too. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We have a little pug that travels with us and it is sometimes hard to find a hotel that either accepts dogs or doesn't charge a huge fine to have this small 20lb dog stay. When we stayed at the palomar, we were not only impressed with their incredibly nice and friendly staff, unique and funky hotel decor, but also how they accepted our dog. We will stay there over and over again. Fabulous!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CjEps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,328 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,395 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £143 - £504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing