We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff. Great Location. Great Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Staff. Great Location. Great Hotel.”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We were traveling to Philadelphia for my oldest daughter to have surgery. Rittenhouse square hotels were pretty much full up or insanely expensive. We found a great deal (139/night) on Kimpton's website. Staff was great. The food in the hotel was ok-- it may have been better in the dinning room-- we only did room service. There were a few instances that were strange-- like not cleaning our room and it was 3pm, not bringing towels up when we requested them, and over charging on parking. But all these were remedied as soon as we pointed them out.
FYI for those reserving rooms through Kimpton's website: When we checked out the hotel did not use the promotional rate and I had to point out that I had reserved the room under another rate. They quickly fixed it but keep an eye on the bill.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonwiegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    570
    145
    40
    22
See reviews for
477
1,039
133
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We love Kimpton hotels in general: the fun and funky settings and all the little touches that make them feel extra-special (like W before they got too corporate). The Palmoar's a relatively new property (opened in October 09) in a striking art deco building.

We scored an excellent deal for a three night stay on Kimpton's website: a deluxe room with king-size bed and free continental breakfast. The room wasn't huge but enough space for two large guys without feeling cramped. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we enjoyed the plush "zebra" and "leopard" bathrobes and L'Occitane bathroom products. We also appreciated that we could hook our Macbook up to the room TV and watch slingbox, and of course the free internet (sign up on the Kimpton site before you arrive).

The desk staff could not be more helpful, and offered us many tips on sites, including the best cheesesteaks in town (Jim's in South Philly). We also found the crowd staying there to be warm and friendly; we enjoyed the 5pm wine reception and met several nice people while relaxing in front of the fire.

Perfect setting too; convenient to transportation, shopping on Chestnut and Walnut, scenic Rittenhouse Square, and many excellent restaurants, bars and dessert cafe's (Naked Chocolate, Capogiro Gelato, Continental Midtown, Porcini, and especially Alma de Cuba).

Would not hesitate to stay here again. Philadelphia's a great, easily walkable city for culture, history, great cuisine and nightlife.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch-n-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

This is a beautiful hotel in the old Architects Building. The restaurant floor (2) has some of the original tiles. A very elegant building transformed into a comfortable modern space. Quite chic, and a very popular spot with local Philadelphians as well.
I went down there to go to the Flower Show, to see Picasso and to have lunch with a very dear friend. (Flower Show was too commercial) Conveniently located, the Palomar is within walking distance of just about everything in City Center. Museums, restaurants, (there is a fantastic one in the hotel) Lululemon, coffee bars, clubs etc. Philadelphia is a beautiful city to walk around and sight see!
Kimpton has written the book on how to make travelers feel absolutely at home. This Palomar in Philadelphia is no different. I have stayed in the DC Palomar 3 times, once with my Bichon. The staff loves animals because they are nice people, top hires with great social skills. It is really hard to stay anywhere else. Their loyalty program is also very good. They upgrade you, send you nice welcome notes, sometimes even leave voicemails to make themselves available if you have any requests. I have stayed in many hotels and the Palomar is as good as accommodations get from what I've seen. You know the moment you walk in.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Great way to be in the city, but separate from it at the same time. Friendly helpful staff and the decor was amazing! Loved the bathtub. Stayed in the Kind Deluxe.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I stayed there for two nights on business in March. I found it to be an excellent hotel and reasonably priced.

The room was crisp and well laid-out. It had clean lines and plenty of light, and had a sleek and modern feeling that avoided being cold. The exception to the ample illumination was the work desk, the light for which offered very little illumination and was far from the window. It was a minor inconvenience for me, however.

The lights on either side of the bed were both on dimmers, which allowed me to find a pleasant level of light, and, most interesting, the lights in the bathroom were also on dimmers – a joy at night when you can’t find your way around the bathroom but don’t want to be blinded by an attempt to re-create daylight. The bathroom was roomy and well-appointed.

The clock radio was great – it had an iPod and MP3 connection, but it also brought in a number of Philadelphia radio stations and the alarm was easy to figure out. The TV was a good LG flat screen and, contrary to recent hotels in which I have stayed, it actually carried broadcasting in high-definition rather than analog, although the stations were limited. The room’s two telephones were both cordless.

The closet had an in-room safe, and it offered two terry cloth robes (leopard-skin and zebra-skin patterns…), slipper-socks, as well as a complimentary umbrella for use while walking around Philadelphia.

My favorite aspect, however, was the mesh screen that lowered over the window. It could be raised if you wanted to see the somewhat routine view of the roofs of adjoining buildings and Philadelphia’s skyscrapers around you, and there were regular drapes you could close if you wanted more complete darkness. However, I found that, with the screen down at night, I had sufficient privacy to lay in bed and see the lights of the skyscrapers in an impressionist cityscape that was muted enough for me to sleep and was a pleasant way to end the day.

The bar and restaurant were, like the room, sleek, modern, and a little trendy, but they still had a measure of warmth. I didn’t eat in the restaurant, but it seemed well-populated. The staff was very pleasant.

I wasn’t able to leave the hotel much, but I was able to walk around the area and find a couple of good and inexpensive restaurants.
In short, there was nothing to disappoint me in this hotel. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
Dear Matombo,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Palomar Philadelphia. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We stayed 3 nights on a college visit trip. Took our Miniature Schnauzer too. Everything was excellent. Nice area for restaurants and shopping. Restaurant/Bar, Square 1682 adjacent to the hotel is excellent too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoghill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

What was not to like?

We stayed for 4 nights in 2 different rooms. Our first (an "04") was next to a stairwell and the noise disturbed our dog. Yes, it is pet friendly. They moved us to an "05" across the hall and all was good. Each room had 2 queen beds and a desk with chair. The 2nd room also had a comfortable chair in the corner. It wasn't huge, but also not cramped. The beds were uber comfy and there were large soft pillows in addition to some arty ones (long round ones and oblong ones with artist flourishes. There's a nice comforter and an additional woven throw. There was a large flat screen and lovely modern artwork in both rooms. The bathroom was clean and had Occitaine toiletries.

They served coffee in the lobby in the AM and had a 1 hour wine happy hour from 5-6. They also have big purple umbrellas (big enough for 2) available in the lobby. They also provide one in the room.

There's a restaurant in the hotel which received a good review while we are there. We didn't eat there, but we got room service once. We enjoyed the meal thoroughly. It came quickly, was hot and was accompanied by all the condiments one could ever need.

The staff are GREAT. ALL of them.

The location is good too. It's at the corner of 17th and Sansom and is near some good shopping, great restaurants, and the very pretty (despite the dog poop) Rittenhouse Square.

We got a pretty good rate ($150) on line and it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevinazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,277 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,157 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing