We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brewadelphia as Philtown”

Context Philadelphia Tours
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Colonial Philadelphia
Ranked #43 of 76 Tours in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Context organizes small-group walking tours of Philadelphia led by university professors and museum curators of the city's history, art, and culture. Walks are organized either privately or as group walks, and run daily. A finalist in National Geographic's Geotourism Challenge, Context focuses on a sustainable approach to visiting and discovering the fascinating corners of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brewadelphia as Philtown”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

There really is nothing like having an intellectual cultural walk framed as a bar crawl. Yes, I had three pints of beer while winding my way through the back alleys of NoLib with a group of twenty very jolly men who were led on a four hour tour of brew lore by an angelic guide. With stops like Kraftwork, Frankford Hall Beergarden and Yards Brewery there were suds and memories aplenty. I think our gang may make this a yearly if not a quarterly tradition. All hale the beer!

"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy."-Benjamin Franklin, Philadelphia

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Franklin Seminar”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wife and I spent a very inspiring three hours walking around the Old City with Tim Hayburn on the Franklin Seminar. He described what Benjamin Franklin had done in various spots as well as describing the socio-political environment in which he was living. We had a terrific time and would highly recommend this tour specifically and Context Tours overall.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank christopherbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Engaging, Enlightening Conversation”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Our guide was exceptional...deeply versed in colonial material culture, enormously empathetic to a variety of historical actors, and an extraordinary conversationalist. In another job she supervises other guides and docents.....and that breadth of experience showed.

We initially asked for a modification in the starting time and then had to change the day itself.....and were always told "no problem"; overall, very good admin support. When we conveyed to the guide sometime before the walk itself our personal intrerests and disinterests, she responded in a wonderfully creative fashion. Overall, a truly memorable highlight of our trip.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank William Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Colonial City alive centuries later!”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

A trip to Philadelphia is not complete unless you visit the old city. It is not just dead white guys with Context Travel. Justine walked us through telling us stories about the Founding Fathers, their way of life, their sacrifices, and their exceptualism. You live and breathe the history. If Context is available, they are the ONLY ones I will tour with. I have used Context Travel both here and abroad because of their knowledge and expertise. Their docents usually have post grad or doctoral degrees so they know their stuff. Most important they can share their knowledge in an entertaining way. I highly recommend Context Travel - you'll never follow an umbrella again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank toetoe222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Context Philadelphia Tours also viewed

 

Been to Context Philadelphia Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing