We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I stayed last night. I chose this hotel because it was in walking distance to the Eagles game that we attended and the other hotel within walking distance had raised their price to almost $500 for 1night. Our room was clean and everything was in working order. We ended up having a night cap at the hotel bar which was great. I would stay here again. Not having to fight traffic after the game made it much more fun

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Penrose Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is NOT a nice hotel. Other than the staff, who where nice.. It's not safe. The rooms are filthy, sheets dirty, hair in tub, pee in toilet.. the parking is the worst. Good luck finding a spot, and I was told to try on the street but to move the car near a light so it wasn't broken into . I will never go back and unless you are a party animal, this hotel not for you or families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglesei342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great location! Friendly staff. Hotel has seen better days but we love this hotel!! The location can't be beat! And Penrose diner is the best! A must stay for all eagles fans !! A few issues with the shower head and tiller flushing but for under $100 a night it is the best place to stay! And the staff is beyond friendly !

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logyn130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Sure, coming from Atlantic city, this hotel is not in the same range of quality...
Reading comments, I was a bit afraid with what I was going to find but finally it was not so bad. In renovation as it'll be a future Ramada, our bedroom was spacy, with new furniture, new TV ... with lot of cigarettes holes .... so bad to renove all except the floor.
Best range of price fot Philadelphia area, wifi at the lobby only when it works.... breakfast included and free parking.... very important !
Honestly, this hotel don't have to scare you at all !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunoffrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Actually slightly below average but not "Poor." Looking for a place to sleep and be close to the sports arenas for the Flyers, 76'ers or Phillies- then this is for you. Just don't expect a clean, nice hotel..you'll share your bathroom with a bug or two or more as this place is a little run down as mentioned in the previous posts. The staff I talked to were helpful, and it is close to Broad Street, the airport, and the highway that will take you to the city center in 10-15 minutes. They are turning into a Ramada the signs said. good luck.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianArtforAnimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed here for the Philly Marathon and I got a good price bc I booked so far in advance (2.5 months) - I did notice that other people who were staying at the hotel had over priced rates - but that is only because of the demand for hotel rooms that weekend between sports games and the marathon. The room was clean, good water pressure, tub drain was a little slow, beautiful view, OK lighting, OK television, comfortable bed, minimal noise from street could be heard, walls were a bit thin so you can hear your neighbors quite clearly....overall a good stay. The service was all that I needed it to be - we were able to check in within 15 of check-in time and check out was quick and easy. Also, the location was very good - right across from a diner and close to major highways.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a nicer view if it is facing the right direction. Pool looks nice - it was...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marg626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This very worn budget hotel is in need of an extensive renovation, especially in the public areas. But for a three day stay to attend two 76'ers games this hotel scored OK. The bed was clean and comfortable. The full bathroom was very serviceable with hot shower water. The room's heating system worked fine (it was cold in Philly). The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Room 1501 was large with a great view of the Philadelphia Sports Complex which was a safe 20 minute walk to the Wells Fargo Arena. It was odd that the room did not have a closet. No closet would prevent one from staying here for a business trip or a formal event. Several TV channels were frequently unavailable due to "Weak or No Signal" interference. The hotel's continental breakfast food looked stale but one can get a good inexpensive breakfast at the Penrose Restaurant directly across the street. The hotel is a safe 15 minute walk from the Oregon Station subway stop.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#60 of 87 in Philadelphia
776 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#51 of 87 in Philadelphia
551 reviews
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
14.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £54 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing