We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I had been here a few years ago when it was The Skyview Plaza. Outside looks the same but our room has improved. New paint, carpet looks newer and furniture is more modern looking. Disappointed that there are double beds instead of King size. Plenty of room for a bigger bed. Air conditioner works good but is quite loud. Good thing is you don't hear any noise from hallway or adjacent rooms! Breakfast bar was kept nice and attendant was friendly, but not much to choose from. If you need a refrigerator or microwave, ask for one at check in. Didn't know that and when we got to room we did not have one. The elevators are still scary to ride in. Always wonder when they are going to break down while we are on it! For the price it's not a bad place to stay. Hopefully Ramada will make some much needed updates with the elevators and outside facade.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharcu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate that some of our efforts are being noticed as our staff has worked diligently in trying to improve all the aspects of the hotel. The elevators have been and continue to plaugue us, but we are addressing them so they are not as scary. Glad to hear that our room updates have been noticed as we remodel and open up more rooms that have been completed. We attempt to serve as many items as possible on our complimentary breakfast bar, but we will discuss your concern with our F&B staff. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to seen you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    89
    136
    156
    318
See reviews for
149
185
68
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroudsburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Don't stay here if you expect a nice place. Ghetto is the best way to describe it and outdated. Only nice part was the one lady at the front desk. But it seemed like she was the only person working the hotel on a Friday night. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneyeng11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for your review. We attempt to make everyones's experience as pleasent as possible. It is difficult to decipher using the word "ghetto" to decribe our property in context, but as with all the other reviews, your comments will be shared with our staff. We will also share your positive comments regarding the night front desk agent with her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Dover
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ran into a lot of issues at this hotel. For just an overnight stay. When we checked in and carried our belongings to our room. The elevator service was down to one elevator to use. So had to wait 5 minutes for the use of that amenity. The was paint buckets and materials in the halls on our floor. Our room at night smelled like paint vapor excessively. I attempted to get it resolved. But according to the hotel there was no other rooms available.? I asked to speak to a manager and he wasn't available til the next morning at 9am. The A/C was on in the room and it was so loud you could barely have a conversation. You do your best to have a good nights sleep. And the next morning the shower kept cutting in and out of really hot water to really cold water the whole time.? Went to check out and their was no manager available at 9. He doesn't come in until 10 ish on weekends? So I was told by the desk clerk that he would call me. And that the smell was from resurfacing tubs. Not paint? Confusing when my spouse seen the painter painting the doors of rooms when we got there. This hotel has a lot of time before it's ever a 3 star hotel. It's a dump, and looks like it from the outside. Let alone it may be what's expected of a hotel in Philly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
No, that is not what you should expect of any hotel in Philadelphia nor Dover for that matter. Hopefully, you were able to speak with the manager on duty during your stay and your issues were resolved to your satisfaction. We had a few instances with rooms only receiving hot water and are looking into the cause of the issue as it is very strange to have only hot water in a room although properly controlled temperatures is the only option to have! Yes, while we are painting the room doors, the paint is a very, very low smell paint so that guests are not disturbed by the smell and it was in fact the resurfacing of the tubs on another floor that created the smell that you experienced. Thjank you for alerting to us of the problems you experienced and we will address them with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Which was definitely a disappointment. We booked a non-smoking room which reeked of smoke. The room was in dire need of an upgrade (minus the beds.) The shower only had one temperature-there was no cold water or even warm, there was just hot water which was very odd. The whole building definitely needs a facelift. My main issue was that it was listed as being in Center City which it is most definitely not and being from out of town I felt sort of cheated. There really was nothing appealing about the area. The view from the room was nice enough though.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB_x21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and apologize that you feel that our name is deceptive. The hotel is located within 5 minutes of downtown Philadelphia and while you cannot walk to downtown Philadelphia, we are located just minutes away. We will look into the issue with the hot water and review it with our maintanenance team to resolve. Yes, the hotel is currently remodeling and we are attempting to perfrom the remodeling with the least interference with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was being renovated and smelled. The outlet in the bathroom did not work or for the coffee maker. If the maid service comes to your door and your still there you have to signa paper to not have your room cleaned and they won't clean it for the rest of the stay. You also have to pay 10 dollars a night for parking.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Apologies for the issues you had at our property. We feel that the daily parking fee of $10.00 is very reasonable for this area. For instance, a hotel with a 1/2 mile of our property charges $20.00+ for parking and the average price of parking in center city is $25.00-$30.00 per night - so we feel that our charge of $10.00 per day is quite reasonable. In regards to our request to sign the housekeeping sheet indicating that you did not want service is a standard practice. The reason for doing so is at times there can be confusion in which a person in the room advises the housekeeping department that they do not want service, but later at night another guest in the room comes back and finds the room uncleaned and questions the staff as to why it was not cleaned. The hotel is just attempting to ensure all the rooms that want service receive service and those that do not are communicated as such if the do not disturb sign was not used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#60 of 86 in Philadelphia
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 86 in Philadelphia
542 reviews
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Property: Penrose Hotel
Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing