We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No love in the elevator”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 26 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Ramada city center in philadelphia was the worst ramada hotel I have ever visited!!! First, we arrived at the front desk, and the two clerks ignored us for up to 5 minutes. When I protested about their nonchalant attitude, the one of the desk clerks told us that she is just trying to handover. She spoke without even looking up at the customer. When we finally got our room keys (Room 920), the room was not cleaned after the previous occupant. It was a shock to find unmade bed and towels all over the floor. We had to go back to the reception, where we were given a second room on the 6th floor. Although this room was tidy, but there were no pillowcases on the pillows. I had to take another trip down to the lobby to get pillowcases and put them on myself. The room was very shabby for a Ramada Hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Babatunde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We apologize for the issues you had with both the service and the product we provided. There is no excuse for the service you received and we will research the issue with our front office supervisor. We will also look into the reason why you were given a room that was not cleaned. Hopefully you contacted our hotelmanagement team while you were here so that your issues could have been addressed and rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Stevieu48
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Kia H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Mercelita A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our toilet was plugging, water would come to the top of the bowl. No access to toilet for the night and the next morning. Front desk offered to switch us rooms but it was very late after a concert at the Lincoln Financial Field Stadium. The next morning I went to the front desk, borrowed a plunger and had to fix the toilet myself!! The staff, however, were extremely nice and apologetic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen G, Manager at Penrose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that you had an issue with your toilet. We were happy to see that the front desk offered to switch your room and wished that would have occurred so that you had a more enjoyable stay. We will look into why you stated you had to work on the toilet yourself as we have maintenance on staff rom 7AM until 11PM. Again, thanks for alerting us to the issues you had in the hotel and we also apprecite the positive comments in regard to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#62 of 88 in Philadelphia
788 reviews
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Northeast
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Suites Philadelphia Airport
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#56 of 88 in Philadelphia
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, 2015 Penrose Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing