We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE, THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS ARE CORRECT!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Line Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Line Hotel
Ranked #80 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE, THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS ARE CORRECT!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

The rooms were absolutely disgusting! The bathroom was dirty and the tub was disgusting. The enamel on the repainted tub was peeling off of the tub, there was mold around the tub, and there was hair left behind after it was "cleaned". The room was supposed to be non-smoking but smelled of smoke. It was so bad, my daughter's asthma was bothering her and she stayed off site of the Motor Inn. As the night went from bad to worse, we were evacuated due to a false fire alarm, but the fire alarm continued to go off during the night to the fault of the Motor Inn (might I add there was no evacuation plan posted in our room in case of a fire). After we were evacuated at 1:30, and then were woken by the fire alarm again at 3:30 & 4:30 (in the morning) we ended up leaving and sleeping in our car, which I might add, was better accommodations then the room I paid for. I tried to get a refund and was not able to through Kayak/Xperdia due to the manager's bad customer service. I tried calling him many times to speak with him personally and he was never available and wouldn't return my call.

For your own sake, DO NOT use this facility!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    8
    14
    79
See reviews for
27
20
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed. If you can imagine a 1960-1970 horror film mixed with the movie Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas this is the hotel that would be created. Room was dirty and was very hot, the drawers in the dresser do not open, the toilet bowl wasn't even cleaned (there was a ring around it) and the carpet was filthy. We stopped by the hotel later that night and the downstairs was filled with transexuals and drag queens. The third time we came back the downstairs was empty but the lobby was filled with blood splattered all over the walls!! Blood on the floor, walls and elevator doors. It seriously looked like someone was murdered. No one bothered to clean up the mess and it must have been there for a while because there was no crowd and the blood appeared to be completley dry. We went to our room grabbed our stuff and left.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel it may cost more but at least you will actually be able to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I ignored the bad reviews and stayed here, I figured I just needed basic and I am not fussy. This was a mistake. The shower may scald and freeze you and the taps to moderate temperature do not work. The hotel is full of kids partying who sleep 5-10 in a room, during our stay they kept us up all night and tried to get into our room numerous times (we ourselves had been out partying in a bar and got in a 2am, but even slightly drunk and exhausted we could not sleep). The receptionist could not care less. They blocked our car in and had no idea who the people who had parked around us were or where they were. We stood for an hour and a half in the lobby waiting for someone to move their car. Eventually a car next to us moved and by going up onto the sidewalk and making a 100-point turn we got out. Only plus was that our room did not have bedbugs I guess. Heed the reviews and DO NOT STAY HERE, it truly is a depressing hell hole.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pumpkinsoup2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here because it was cheap and we were going to a concert at the Mann. This hotel is not in a bad neighborhood, but from what goes on in this place you would think it was in the middle of North Philly. This place had pimps, hookers and I think someone was stabbed there during a fight on October 5th. There was dried blood all over the lobby in the morning, and down a stairwell. The rooms were are 105+ degrees because of broken ac, black guys were harassing girls in the hallways, I seriously would not even think about laying down in one of the beds in this place. Don't be fooled by the location on City Ave this place is not safe.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank theverymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed here because it was the cheapest option in philly. Well, actually, it's pretty far outside philly with terrible traffic in between and only a strip mall in walking distance. The biggest problem I had was the heat: there was no thermostat, just an on off switch. All night was getting up to turn it on, then off, then back on, then off. I was either too hot or freezing cold all the time. When it was on, the heater sounded like a jumbo jet landing next to the bed. The TV didn't work either, but after an employee spending about an hour in my room trying to fix it, I gave up on TV.
Even at check in they had no record of my reservation with hotels.com and no internet access. I had to call hotels.com and sit on hold with them in the lobby so they could talk to reception. Uncomfortable bed, damp everything, mold smell, I'm not a picky traveler (I've stayed in seedy motels all over the world) but this place is terrible. stay away!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tr4velc4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We enjoyed another stay at the North American Motor Inn recently. It is so conveniently located near major roads and many good restaurants and stores nearby. It is also on 2 good bus routes for downtown visits. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The TVs work well and the beds are comfortable. We always enjoy our stays here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if that is important to you. Rooms are not fully accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is the worst MOTEL I have ever stayed in....BED BUGS are still there. I wish we would have research this MOTEL better before travelling from 10 hours for our Family Reunion....We had to change rooms,no air, nasty shower curtains, holes in the ceiling, mold in the rooms. NO SWIMMING POOL...It's not worth the stay..GO TO The HILTON which is less than a mile away.

Room Tip: Trust me, do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeniseCarolina33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#47 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conwell Inn
#60 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Line Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Line Hotel

Property: City Line Hotel
Address: 4444 City Ave, Bala-Cynwyd, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1508 (Formerly North American Motor Inns)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Line Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your City Line Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North American Motor Inns Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing