We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BED BUGS” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Line Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Line Hotel
Ranked #80 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BED BUGS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

We checked in at 2:30am...room 415.....The first room was open,dirty with no air. ..My son and I went back downstairs @ 2:45 am.....and was given room 421 I found a bedbug. crawling on me then we found them crawling everywhere and we have video and then they said no Refund!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dawnmosley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    8
    14
    79
See reviews for
27
20
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is the very first review that I have ever written but I felt compelled to warn the public! This place is a dump! We were on the 4th floor and stayed there because it was inexpensive for our needs. The room stank to high heaven and was dirty and dusty. The elevator had duct tape on it and creaked and thumped when it ran. One of two elevators broke while we were there. I had to call security 3 times during my extremely sleepless night because of noise and shouting and screaming in the hallway outside our room. But by far the worst part was the hourly activity in the room right behind my head! It was extremely graphic and very disturbing and I am extremely thankful that my nine year old son remained asleep. I however did not sleep for one lousy minute. I was able to walk down the Art Museum steps the next morning as a breast cancer survivor so I am grateful for that. Do NOT stay at this place! You would be cleaner and safer if you just bring a pillow and sleep on the curb out front. Oh, and the front desk and security sleep all night!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Wyckoff, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Royal Crowne and Hilton were booked and we thought... how bad could it be for one night? Well it was pretty bad. Thin walls and noise, holes in the walls, stains on the furniture and carpet. NO hairdryer??? AC did not work. Shower head missing (shower was a pipe sticking out of the wall. The good: staff was polite, sheets were clean and toilet and sink looked clean. This was the only reason we "stuck it out". We would not recommend this motor inn. We only stayed because we were visiting our son at St. Joseph's.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toldthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I did read the negative reviews before booking. But I said to myself "$70 a night can't be that bad", and booked for 3 nights. I regretted my decision immediately after checking into this hotel. Believe me, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The lobby, the elevator, the rooms, the floors, everything is really crappy in this place. The staff are rude, and they won't do anything except checking you in. Following are some of my experiences of horror at this place.

1. I checked into this hotel on a hot day with temp 90F. Once I moved into my room, I found that the air-conditioning was not working. I called the help desk, and they told me the AC repairer would come the next day. As I started complaining, they asked me to pay deposit $20 and take a fan. I didn't pay the deposit and didn't get the fan. In fact, there was no AC for the entire two night period I stayed there.

2. Everything in the room was dirty. The bathroom was really dirty. The furniture was crappy. The TV wasn't working. The comforters smelled really bad. I had to put towels on the bed to sleep on it.

3. In the second night, I saw bugs crawling on the walls of my room (I have attached some photos). And that's it. I didn't sleep and checked out early morning without staying for the third night.

This place is absolutely disgusting. I wouldn't stay here for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Odis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Checked in at 1pm that was fine. But when I recieved my key to the room it said "The Ritz" that should have been my first clue to the mess we were getting ourselves into. My husband and I proceed to the elevator which reaked of cleaning solution and body fluids. My husband went to press the button to get to the fourth floor the button was broken off. I had to stick my nail in the button to make it work. And the floor indicators did not work. We had to wait for the door to open to see what floor we were on . Once we made it to the 4th floor the hallway looked ok but once we made it to the door which had been trimmed to fit but was trimmed unevenly. You can then hear in and hear anything coming out of the room as well. We then sat our bags on the dresser that had signs on it that read, the drawers do not open please use the drawers to the TV stand. I'm like ok..... Looked around the room the blinds catch my eye. The blinds were missing blades and a few of them had holes in them. Looked closer and found that the windows don't open. If you pushed hard enough the window would fall out. Went in to the bathroom, having watched Hotel Hell my Husband brought cleaning products for the bathroom just to be safe. But at first glace the bathroom looked halfway ok but went to spray the tub and shower area the wall in the shower turned black. I couldn't even bring myself to continue to clean the bathroom. I cleaned the toilet and sink and that was it. And the beds were about the cleanest looking thing in the room. But they slept horrible my Husband and I both woke up backaches. There was lipstick on the wall actually not even sure if it was lipstick but some pink greasy looking stuff on the wall. And the light switches didn't even work. You had to twist the bulbs in to make the lights come on in the room. the phone in the room could only call the front desk the nightstand was very dusty and dirty. The drawer to the nightstand looked like it had been used to store dirty shoes. Our experience in that room was all bad. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE! Not even my worst enemy. Had planned to stay for 2 nights couldn't even do that if you pay me.

Room Tip: "Worst place to stay ever"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TempestD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Avoid this place at all costs ! Sleeping in the airport is a better option. This place is dirty, run down and the staff could not have been LESS helpful. Their response to every question was "I don't know" or "The Manager is not here". I tried for 2 days to call and meet with the manager, but he/she was never available (for all i know never on site). Terrible living conditions and poor customer service is one thing - but his place had no one in charge ! The inmates are running this asylum !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia City Avenue
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
0.2 mi away
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#47 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
8.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport
3.8 mi away
Conwell Inn
Conwell Inn
#60 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Line Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Line Hotel

Property: City Line Hotel
Address: 4444 City Ave, Bala-Cynwyd, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1508 (Formerly North American Motor Inns)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Line Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your City Line Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North American Motor Inns Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing