We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FATHER DAUGHTER FUN DAY”

The Franklin Institute
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
Ranked #16 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in honor of America’s first scientist, Benjamin Franklin, The Franklin Institute is one of America’s oldest and premier centers of science education. The museum is known for blockbuster exhibits, a bevy of interactive ongoing exhibitions, and one-of-a-kind theatrical experiences. Today, the Institute continues its dedication to public education and creating a passion for science by offering new and exciting access to science and technology in ways that would dazzle and delight its namesake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Atco, New Jersey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“FATHER DAUGHTER FUN DAY”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I just went with my 12 year old daughter. Just us. She was hesitant as she has been with clas before. We had a great day. Learned a lot of new things. Planetarium and Imax were real good. Spending time together was best and we learned also. Would definately recommend for good family fun. We spent all day and took train. Also just us for dinner later. Great day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John NJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,294
    591
    240
    104
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for Kids of All Ages”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My family and I stop here every year or so to visit this wonderful museum. It has some wonderful exhibits for all ages. My youngest and my eldest both loved the Energy Section and its amazing how much the retained from the exhibits.

One downside, some of the exhibits seemed to need to be reset or out of order later in the day. I wished that they would have someone come around to handle this issue. It was disappointing to my youngest one that he could not take part in some of the activities, because they were not working properly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgrotejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Terrific Time”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We spent about 5 hours at the Franklin Institute and even then felt a little rushed at the end so we’ll go back another time – you can truly spend a whole day at this beautiful, well-run facility with friendly staff. We had a Kid’s Book coupon which helped since entry can be a little pricey particularly if you add in the IMAX and 3D movies as we did, though it’s actually a good value considering how much time you can spend there and it’s absolutely perfect for children, can’t stress that enough. My daughter had so much fun with all of the hands on exhibits including the Big Heart, the planes, the space models. It’s also fun for the adults who can try everything out as well. Even during the NJ school vacation week in November, it wasn’t terribly crowded which was a nice way to experience the facility and the main atrium has an airy, comfortable area where you can take a break and have a snack or drink. The Pompeii exhibit started right after we left so we were thinking we need to go back sooner rather than later. All in all, a very positive experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryMcG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
934 reviews
423 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 723 helpful votes
“Unusual and not just for kids.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We didn't find this place to be overly pricey. Nor did we find it so kid-oriented that adults couldn't enjoy it - You just need to loosen up a little and accept that kids have, and should have, priority in an educational environment. Also, I hardly think that the Pompeii exhibit, the IMAX films or the National Geographic 50 Best Photos were really kid-oriented at all. Is this one of the great museums of the world? No. Is it a pretty good hands-on learning experience for young and old? Yes. Some exhibits are clearly for kids, but they are pretty obvious (e.g. "Kid Science"). If you think you're too old for this place, you probably need to grow up!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific for kids and their grown ups!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We attended with a seven-year-old and a two-year-old, and a great time was had by all. We showed up right as they opened, which turned out to be a good idea, since within an hour it was mobbed. The kids' favorites were the walk-through heart, the exhibit on motion/energy, and the exhibit on airplanes. There were plenty of activities to keep both kids occupied for a half day. Be careful in the electricity area if you have a little one (or a sensitive big one) - one of the exhibits is extremely loud and scared our two-year-old. Also, the food options are not great. But we left with both kids wanting to return again, which doesn't happen often with museums.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MuseoffireAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Franklin Institute also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing