We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a nice museum.”

The Franklin Institute
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
Ranked #16 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in honor of America’s first scientist, Benjamin Franklin, The Franklin Institute is one of America’s oldest and premier centers of science education. The museum is known for blockbuster exhibits, a bevy of interactive ongoing exhibitions, and one-of-a-kind theatrical experiences. Today, the Institute continues its dedication to public education and creating a passion for science by offering new and exciting access to science and technology in ways that would dazzle and delight its namesake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Bernville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is a nice museum.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited the Franklin Institute especially to see the Pompeii exhibit. The exhibit was small but nice. We saw a film on volcanoes in the IMAX Theater; there was a 6.00 per person additional fee. They had demonstrations, too, that related to the volcano theme.
They also have a planetarium with different shows. We have been in there on prior visits; I would definitely see one of the shows. They are well presented.
There are various exhibits in the museum, always a little different. This time we saw a photo exhibit on the top 50 photos. We really liked it. We have taken our children there and they found it interesting, too.
There is a parking garage attached to the museum; we found it by using the GPS address found on the Franklin Institute web site specifically for parking. We paid 15.00 to park. The admission price was 27.50 per person. There were a few other things that were additional fees such as a 3D theater and sky bike you could ride.
The museum is in a nice area with other things to do as well. I would definitely recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trishy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,294
    591
    240
    104
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Fl
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“More For Children Than Adults”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I went to The Franklin Institute on a class trip when I was 12 years old, that was over half a century ago. It was terrific then and remains so today. The exhibits are mostly geared to children, but it really gets the brain working. There is a human heart that you can walk threw, movies in a planetarium and lots of other hands on displays. Do not miss this if you have any interest in science.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank baldharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pompeii the last day in Philly , horrible parking”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Awesome day at a well run museum , it was a little tight to view but presented well. Then had fun walking through the heart and a couple other exhibits . Parking was an issue outside staff not do helpful sent us to Patriot parking at 19th and Arch 15.00 deal posted the attendant try to charge us 20. 00 he backed down when challenged . Shame on him and his employer

Helpful?
1 Thank Cookincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Museum for all ages”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were there for 5 hours. That must be a record for us. Pompeii exhibit was neat, but there was something for all ages and it was a really neat place. You can Bring Your Own lunch but a little tough to find a seat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Lindwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pretty Amazing!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

To walk though and see artifacts that are so old and survived such a catastrophe was amazing. The exhibit was very informative about life in that time period and the artifacts were beautiful. The casts of the victims bodies left me speechless. The rest of the museum is such fun. Our daughter always has a blast. We loved the IMAX theater and the Planetarium was great, Simon, the presenter in the planetarium is the best, he takes some dry material and makes it fun and interesting. He had the kids laughing and fully engaged. Go early or risk having to park about 6 blocks away. Keep in mind, this is a city and on-site parking is limited. Look at maps and always have a plan B for parking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ily911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Franklin Institute also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing