We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me and the kids”

The Franklin Institute
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
More Info
US$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
US$56.00*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off and Philly By Night Tour Combo
Ranked #17 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in honor of America’s first scientist, Benjamin Franklin, The Franklin Institute is one of America’s oldest and premier centers of science education. The museum is known for blockbuster exhibits, a bevy of interactive ongoing exhibitions, and one-of-a-kind theatrical experiences. Today, the Institute continues its dedication to public education and creating a passion for science by offering new and exciting access to science and technology in ways that would dazzle and delight its namesake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Me and the kids”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 hours and enjoyed every moment . From the train o the physical fitness floor. Ending it with a Movie at the Museam Theater. It was a great day I even threw in a ride on the double Decker Bus. Hopped on Patco and headed back to Jersey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,341
    611
    246
    106
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great for families”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a top-notch museum that is great for the whole family. Younger kids (10 and under) will especially love it here, but there is something for everyone. The IMAX theater is one of the best around and they do a great job on the special exhibits that come and go. I live in NY, but purchased a family membership that I've been happy with, as we've always found reasons to come here two-three times a year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpgillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Whether with kids, on a date or by yourself, lots to see. Close to restaurants, museums and other sights.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLPagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Discovering Science”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Franklin Institute was always a "go to" place for a school adventure when I was in school in Philadelphia. Many years later, my wife & I have taken our children to this fun and educational museum. There are constantly changing exhibits and many hands on opportunities to learn about the physical sciences.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this.. went here with school kids for class trip.. it has so much stuff to see.. and so many interactive activities...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank qtindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Franklin Institute also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing